We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two weeks in residence at Ventura Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“two weeks in residence at Ventura Crowne Plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

the hotel was like a busy beehive! All sorts of different groups coming and going! great food, beautiful service. and always responding to the guest questions and needs with a gracious, friendly attitude. As a two week resident, I found services to be always performed with the highest quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    374
    229
    163
    116
See reviews for
280
418
53
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crown Plaza Ventura for one night after attending a wedding nearby. The options in the area are quite limited and even though the reviews for this hotel seemed quite poor, we found a great rate and figured we'd roll the dice for one night. I have to say the service was outstanding, the bellman, the front desk staff, and even the lobby bartender all offered 5 star service. Our room was located on the North side of the hotel on an upper floor. I had a clear view of the breaking waves while laying in the bed. Couldn't believe the view we had for such a low rate ($119, booked directly on their website) the hotel is getting older, but the rooms seem to have been redone and have a "Westin" feel to them. The hotel is on the beach, it has a nice pool area and is walking distance to the downtown shopping and restaurant district. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Other reviews say "great location right on the beach". What they don't say is the other side of the hotel is a main road, next to the railway which is next to the freeway! It was like trying to sleep on the hard shoulder of the M25 in rush hour. Service at breakfast and the one evening meal we had was VERY slow. On the positive side the rooms were large and bright and clean although bathrooms were small

Room Tip: Choose a room high up to get away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for putting together your review. We apologize about the noise in your room. We tend to get a bit of noise being in a downtown setting which is not great for a night of sleep but we are working on refreshing our rooms and looking at feedback so this helps. However if you book directly with us at cpventura.com or calling we can better situate you in a room where this is less of a problem. Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked 2 adjoining rooms for us and friends for 2 nights. Both rooms were dirty and aged. Could not find one usable outlet to charge phone or computer. Bathrooms very small and lacking any amenities. Had to call for towels as the 3 they provided where not enough. The balcony had looked as if they had not been cleaned in sometime and the wonderful Train that runs by more than one would like takes away from the ocean view. This Hotel has all the makings of a great place but the lack of staff involvement and their don't bother us attitude has us not planning a return

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are on the train tracks but the south side is more buffered and provides a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for composing a reviews about our hotel. We are currently in the middle of a refresh of our hotel. It sounds like you might have been staying in one that we have not refreshed yet. We are sorry about that but we would like you to know if you were to come back if you book with us directly we can make sure that you are going to be in a room that is refreshed.

As you have noted we are next to the beach and in the middle of Downtown. So because of the close proximity to everything and being in a downtown atmosphere we tend to have a lot of noise coming from the trains and extra foot traffic. It tends to softer in the rooms closer to the ocean, again we can help you get into those rooms easily if you booked directly with us at cpventura.com

Anymore suggestions please either respond or email us we would be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a wonderful "total experience" stay I had while at the Crowne Plaza Ventura. The staff was uniformly friendly and went out of their way to make my 2 week stay as enjoyable as possible. In small ways I was made to feel special...from everyone- Security who always had a friendly "Hello" at 6:30 AM when we gathered for a morning walk on the boardwalk, Maintenance who helped find and bring the 7 shipped parcels, the Front Desk who cheerfully solved every little problem, to the Housekeeping staff who kept the main floor women's bathroom tidy and always refreshed. (love the fresh apple scented hand soap by the way...it's a keeper) All of which is to say that at the recent Katherine Chang Liu's Conference/Workshop held at the Crowne Plaza...it was fabulous. I loved the new renovated room's décor. Location, location, location...you can't beat it. I look forward to coming back next year. Garrie J

Room Tip: Sun rise on the left side, Sun set on the right side...both with spectacular views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Crowne Plaza has done a lot of remodeling which has enhanced the stay. Meals were well prepared and flavorful. The two week stay went by so very quickly. I look forward to next year for another two weeks of pampering.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaizen60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The recently remodeled rooms are very attractive, good beds and lighting, too. Microwave and refrigerator built in to a granite topped cabinet that has drawers and is topped by a flat screen TV.
The staff was consistently outstanding. Restaurant is good, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Right on the beach for pleasant walks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing