We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$150
$142
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Lodge Motel(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amanzi Hotel(Ventura)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ventura Beach Marriott(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$246
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveler rating
419
431
250
170
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
431
250
170
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitventura beachlobby barbike rentalsview of the oceanwalking distance to downtownmain streetnombalconysurferspromenadeamtrakihgalohacaliforniaproximitycoast
Filter
Updating list...
903 - 908 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went back to the Crowne Plaza's NYE party for the fourth year in a row. It is seriously the most fun. I had stopped going out on new year's long ago because I didn't want to fight the crowds or risk driving but now that I've found this party, New Year's is one of my favorite nights of the year! The food is outstanding, the room is beautiful and the view is amazing, but the best thing of all is the d.j. The most fun, lively, motivating d.j. ever. Then after a night of dancing and partying, you just take the elevator to your room- safe and sound. We woke up on New Year's Day and had a great breakfast and a nice long walk along the beach. Everyone should do this!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsmom1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you had a blast during our New Year's celebration. Our DJ is a big hit every year and the party's reputation continues to grow thanks to patrons like yourself. We look forward to seeing you back next New Year and hopefully before that as well. We offer a lot of ways to enjoy Ventura County with our package rates and by hosting social and community events throughout the year. You can stay up to date with all of our hotel happenings by checking in on our website and social media channels regularly. Hope to see you back at our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel to enjoy the ocean in Ventura! Sunset from the room was incredible! The beds are awesome and it is walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants! The trains/traffic are a bit on the loud side! At night it was pretty quiet!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettochera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our location. Don't forget we offer many packages with local businesses that can enhance your experience next time. We offer package rates which include tickets to Channel Islands, the Reagan Library, Olivas Links golf course, and even a shopping package with Camarillo Premium Outlets. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing one or two-night stay in Ventura. All rooms have small balconies and face the gorgeous Pacific Ocean. Determine whether you want the glare of the sun bouncing off the ocean when you awake (South-facing rooms) or at dusk (North facing). For the offseason price of $140 for a king, this place couldn't be beat.

They have upgraded many of the rooms and all have flat screen TVs and soft, comfy beds. There is an outdoor pool and sitting, firepit area off the lobby bar.

The quaint "downtown" Ventura area is less than a 10-minute walk which allows you to leave the car at the hotel ($10 per night) and simply walk to drinks and dinner. Eric Erickson's fish restuarnt is just steps away on the long pier. Perfect for a happy hour cocktail overlooking the ocean.

The best food in town is at Lure, a new high(er) end oyster and fish house. Freshly shucked ostyers are $1.50 per between 4-6pm. If you like brew (and don't care about particularly good food), check out the Anacapa Brewing Company.

You may also want to step back in time to the beginnings of California living with a visit to the Mission Santa Bueanaventura at the end of Main Street ($4 per person. Self-guided tours).

There are several motels in town that might be a few bucks less, but if you're looking for a full-service resort with a killer view, spend a couple extra bucks at stay at the Crowne.

Room Tip: South facing rooms get hit with the sunrise early in the morning. North side rooms get the intense glare off the ocean before the sun sets. Also, because the 101 freeway is a stone's throw from the location, you do get more freeway sound the higher up you are.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

You said it better than I could! Thanks for a great review of our location. Besides our hotel there are a lot of hidden gems in the local area. I'm happy you were able to experience downtown Ventura, the beach, and our hotel on your visit and we look forward to your return. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel. The rooms were okay, they were clean but the bathrooms were small. It had everything you needed. You have to pay $10 a day for parking, but you never have to move it. The hotel is right on the beach and a couple minutes walk from the Main street. The best thing about this hotel, other than location, is the staff. They were VERY friendly, and not in a suck up annoying way, they just seemed to be very nice people. We went to happy hour at the bar and everyone there was helpful and nice. When we were there the bartenders name was Erin and she was very welcoming. Unlike other comments, the train didn't bother us. We only heard it a handful of times in our two day stay. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eem_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to mention what a great job our staff did during your stay. We will make sure Erin knows you appreciated and recognized her. We believe our customer service is what makes our hotel a great destination, although our location also can't be beat. We hope we can provide you with another great travel experience next time you are in Ventura. Look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is as much a lament as praise.

We had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach this Martin Luther King Weekend. We took Amtrak from our home in L.A., and had excellent summer-like weather in January. We may consider more short getaways like this in the future. Hotel room was fine for us: 2 adults and kids aged 10 and 12. The room was large enough. We could get two of us seated at the desk with laptop computers. We were on the 5th floor, toward the beach end. The seashore noise (waves breaking, seagulls squawking) drowned out the Amtrak and freeway noise. I think the best views are located from the 4th floor up, to see over the ground floor lobby building. Every room has a beach view because the hotel building is oriented perpendicular to the shore. Our room faced west (or shoreline north) with a good view of the surfing activity, which was plenty.

We rented a bicycle surrey that held the 4 of us and we pedaled up and down the boardwalk. Then we strolled over to Ventura's Main Street for dinner and dessert and I was impressed by the array of restaurants and shops there.

The lament is that this hotel has a monopoly on beachfront hospitality. If we couldn't get a room here, the other hotel choices are on the other side of the freeway and railroad tracks from the beach. Main Street could be an even livelier place with more hotels like this: on the beach but walking distance to Downtown. It was a good mid-range valued hotel. We wouldn't consider staying overnight elsewhere in Ventura, because we could have done a day trip from our home in L.A.

Room Tip: Building has 10 floors, 27 rooms per floor with a single north-south hallway. Beach is on the south end, railroad and freeway is on the north end. View to the west has the surfers and Channel Islands, view to the south has the pier and Santa Monica Mountains. Other reviewers might refer to my "west" as their "north", depending on how they perceive the California coast.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WawaWojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We're glad you experienced all of the opportunities that our hotel provides, especially for a leisurely getaway with your family. It sounds like you took full advantage of our amenities, including our bike/surrey rentals. We hope to see you and your family next time you need a quick escape to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews