We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My company is having our winter event and we will be using the Crowne Plaza as our host hotel for the second year in a row. The hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful location; footsteps from the beach and very near downtown Ventura. But what really sets the Crowne Plaza apart is the staff. Everyone works to ensure that each guest is provided a world class experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you Sally G for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Our staff goes out of their way to provide an outstanding experience and we always love to hear that we have achieved that goal. We're so glad to hear that the Crowne Plaza provided you with everything you needed for your event. We encourage event planners to customize their meetings here and take full advantage of our 19,000 square feet of event space and attentive staff. Our food and beverage department will be as creative as you need to be to make the impact you want for any occasion. We are glad your event was a success and we look forward to seeing you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice location on the beach with good view of pier and Channel Islands but rooms are quite small compare to modern new hotels and walls very thin so if your neighbor open their rooms,you feel like someone is entering your room. Nice place to stay if you just want to enjoy view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view King bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel on Ventura Beach. Hopefully you had a chance to explore Main Street and some of the other great activities here in Ventura. We appreciate your comments about the rooms and want you to know that we constantly continue to improve the quality of our guest experience with preventative maintenance and refresh of our guest rooms. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Christmas with my boyfriend. Wanted something romantic. This was the right hotel! The room was a little small the the ocean view was amazing! Walked out the door and alohas restaurant was right there! Couldn't ask for anything better. The staff was so nice. Great overnight trip!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We're overjoyed to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us! Thank you so much for your nice comments about our staff. They strive every day to go above and beyond for our guests and we always love to hear positive the feedback. Next time we recommend you try out our very own C-Street Restaurant or our Aqua Beachfront Bar, you will enjoy our award winning food without ever leaving our hotel. Look forward to meeting you next time you visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel has a terrific location, the staff is excellent and bent over backwards to see we were well cared for. The resturant is a real find, good food and swell staff. It is sad that the hotel is showing its age, they are in the process of updating the rooms, but I doubt they will be able to do much about insulating them against the noise. We were two floors from the ballroom but the noise was intolerable, the staff kindly moved us to a lower floor but that one hadn't been updated yet, the bed was hard and the pillows were not as comfortable. If you do go here on a party night make sure you get a lower floor !!! If you are a light sleeper I really would suggest going somewhere else since there is a fair amount of road noise and an occasional train on the adjacent tracks. But then, the view is great and you can stroll to the Ventura Pier or rent a bike to take on the beachside bike path. You can't have it all I guess.

Room Tip: Lower floors are likely your best bet on weekends or holidays, the sound from the ballroom is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thanks for the review. We always love to hear that our staff went the extra mile to provide a great travel experience for you. We are glad that you enjoyed C-Street Restaurant’s delicious food and outstanding service. We are sorry for the noise that you experienced and that we had to move you to a different room. We do value all of our guests and will work harder to make sure we are making all guests aware of what is going on in the hotel. Our Top of the Harbor ballroom is an ideal location for meetings and social events, offering unrivaled views of Ventura Beach and the Channel Islands but we also cater to the traveler looking for a rejuvenating and relaxing stay. We hope to see you next time you come to Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

There aren't many options in Ventura for a full-service hotel. The Crowne Plaza's location right on the beach is within walking distance to the town and many good restaurants. The staff was friendly and check-in was fast and courteous. The room was on the small side but was clean and housekeeping quickly answered a request for additional towels. Agreeing with previous reviews, the room furnishings and linens felt tired and worn. Faucets in the bathroom did not shut off completely and even being used to low flow showers, the water pressure was very low. On the positive side, the views are beautiful and the service and food at the bar were good.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our hotel staff provided excellent service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed the location. Ventura is a lively town, with many opportunities to experience the local flavor. We're glad to see that you discovered our C-Street Restaurant and Aqua Lounge which features a menu prepared by Award Winning Chef Luis Martinez and offers amazing views of the Channel Islands. We're sorry to hear that our room furnishings fell short of expectations. We are currently refreshing our guest room amenities and have several floors already updated with new carpet, mattresses, bedding package, and flat-screen TVs. We appreciate you bringing the plumbing issue to our attention and we will have our maintenance staff fix this. We have many more updates slated for the near future. Hope you will come back an see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor. I was surprised to see the two recent reviews by Julie H and Jacksadullboy because we had the exact oppostite experience. Granted we're not talking a Four Seasons luxury hotel, but you can't beat the customer service from staff, location and price. PLUS ... they are going through renovation on rooms and they should be completely done by end of the year! New beds and all! Can't wait to come back!

The customer servie provided by the front desk (Nicole), bellmen (Lyndon and James), bar/restaurant (Sami and Ranelle). The staff at the Crowne Plaza were terrific and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. This is our third visit and we will come back for more. Location terrific, particularly if you surf - they store the boards for you and you can just grab and hit the waves asap. The views on both sides (ask for North if you want to see breaks for surf) are spectacular. The bar is the best place to eat - you can lounge on the big sofas and visit family and/or friends - we brought games and hung out there a lot during our stay.

And, bonus - they have a pet floor! We were able to bring our dog!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Ask for the north facing side if you are a surfer - can scope waves from room. The other side is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you Marci M for you positive feedback and recommendation! I'm glad to hear that we created a successful travel experience for you with outstanding customer service and the amenities you needed to have a great time surfing and relaxing in our hotel. We love to stay connected with our repeat guests and hope you will keep coming back to meet the rest of our staff here and enjoy Ventura Beach. Our goal is to create an energetic and rejuvenating experience and I'm excited to hear that we delivered for you. Hope to meet you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Unfortunately the party room bookings are more important than the guests trying to sleep. The hotel is unwilling to have party turn down VERY loud music. Their idea of a solution is to make hotel guests move to a lower room (we are on ninth floor of twelve). Room is shaking from the noise. Would recommend choosing the Marriott of you want a beach hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that the music in the ballroom was disruptive. I understand that we must accommodate all of our guest's needs and we will use your feedback to make sure that we handle that situation differently in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
166.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $135 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing