We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HANDS DOWN BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor. I was surprised to see the two recent reviews by Julie H and Jacksadullboy because we had the exact oppostite experience. Granted we're not talking a Four Seasons luxury hotel, but you can't beat the customer service from staff, location and price. PLUS ... they are going through renovation on rooms and they should be completely done by end of the year! New beds and all! Can't wait to come back!

The customer servie provided by the front desk (Nicole), bellmen (Lyndon and James), bar/restaurant (Sami and Ranelle). The staff at the Crowne Plaza were terrific and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. This is our third visit and we will come back for more. Location terrific, particularly if you surf - they store the boards for you and you can just grab and hit the waves asap. The views on both sides (ask for North if you want to see breaks for surf) are spectacular. The bar is the best place to eat - you can lounge on the big sofas and visit family and/or friends - we brought games and hung out there a lot during our stay.

And, bonus - they have a pet floor! We were able to bring our dog!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Ask for the north facing side if you are a surfer - can scope waves from room. The other side is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you Marci M for you positive feedback and recommendation! I'm glad to hear that we created a successful travel experience for you with outstanding customer service and the amenities you needed to have a great time surfing and relaxing in our hotel. We love to stay connected with our repeat guests and hope you will keep coming back to meet the rest of our staff here and enjoy Ventura Beach. Our goal is to create an energetic and rejuvenating experience and I'm excited to hear that we delivered for you. Hope to meet you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Unfortunately the party room bookings are more important than the guests trying to sleep. The hotel is unwilling to have party turn down VERY loud music. Their idea of a solution is to make hotel guests move to a lower room (we are on ninth floor of twelve). Room is shaking from the noise. Would recommend choosing the Marriott of you want a beach hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that the music in the ballroom was disruptive. I understand that we must accommodate all of our guest's needs and we will use your feedback to make sure that we handle that situation differently in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Completely unimpressive beyond the beautiful location and the views/ambience of the beach level patio and top floor ballroom facility. Travelled recently on business to a vendor sponsored conference hosted at this facility. Check in was shoddy and poorly managed - I won't get into the details other than to stay that the staff were very pleasant but didn't seem to know what they were doing. Almost everything in the room looked shabby and worn. Bed was a classic old school ultra-firm hotel king, tough as nails and just about as comfortable. Flapper valve on the toilet wouldn't seal, and the toilet ran loudly enough to wake me up every couple of hours - and that's saying something (just ask my wife). One of the elevators did a pretty good impression of a 2.0 quake during operation - a bit nerve wracking when staying in California. Water temperature indicator on the shower was reversed - hot was cold and vice versa. The classic modern day sign that investment is lacking was in evidence - no flat screen TV, but a large armoire containing an old school CRT. (Hint to management - sell the armoire to someone as a wardrobe for $350 and buy a cheap 42" LCD) My advice? Give this place a miss..... unless you have a surfboard and intend to sneak out and sleep on the beach. OK, OK - the food was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacksadullboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our beautiful location, and had a good experience in the lounge/patio and Top of the Harbor ballroom. We appreciate the items you brought to our attention that were not up to standard. We are actually in the process of replacing our older TV sets with new flat screen TVs, refrigerators, and microwaves. We have also replaced many of our double beds with brand new queen sized mattresses. There are many more improvements underway and scheduled for the upcoming year so we hope you will come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall, this place is decent. I guess I expected it to be a little nicer. Just looked a little worn around the edges. Freshen up the carpets and wallpaper/paint in the hallways and rooms, and this place would be dialed. The lobby and bar in the entrance area was great, good prices, and fast service.

My friends had a wedding there, and the upstairs room was a great place for a wedding, no complaints at all there.

Overall, yes, I'd be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed the Aqua Lounge, Top of the Harbor Ballroom, and had great service from our food and beverage staff. We're excited that our hotel is in the middle of a "refresh" phase so many of the items you mentioned will soon be addressed. Many of our rooms have already been given upgraded amenities and new carpet is being installed by years end. Even more renovation slated for the upcoming year! Hope to see you back soon so we can show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff does not take interest in making experience great. Go around in the morning throwing newspapers against the door waking everyone up. Location is great. Needs more elevators for size of place and needs elevator inspection certificates updated.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed our excellent location here on Ventura Beach. We will definitely address the situation with the newspaper vendor. We know a rejuvenating nights sleep is critical to your stay and apologize that this caused a disruption. We always make the safety and security of our guests a number one priority and remain in full compliance with all state and federal safety standards including the elevators (there is a delay in processing/shipping the elevator certificates at this time but we are in compliance.) Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or if you would like to book a room here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Much needed quick getaway drive from L.A.
Loved the fact I could walk out of the hotel right on to the sand and just as quick head up to the town for fun shopping and great restaurants and never need the car.
It is a perfect and convenient getaway hotel filling all my vacation needs and wants.

Room Tip: 10th floor had great view of pier, water and mountains but construction going on. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlkaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We're so glad that you enjoyed our location! It is always exciting to hear from our guests about the great activities downtown Ventura and the beach have to offer. There are many improvements going on in the area and I'm sorry the the construction on the promenade was a bit noisy. Our hotel is also going through a "refresh" that we are very excited about and look forward to sharing with you on your next stay. Thanks so much for you feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Any words on this page could never hope to begin to adequately convey how very deeply thankful and beyond appreciative my wife and I both are to all of the incredible staff who work here. From my initial call to Evan who took my reservation and all of my questions and concerns about our room before we ever arrived, to Ruben the front desk person who greeted us upon our arrival and who answered every question or concern with grace and a smile during our entire stay, to Taylor, the precious young hostess who seated us for dinner and Elaine who waited on us with a such a wonderful smile and refreshing ability, to Ashley, the sweet hostess who seated us for brunch and Ruben our waiter, who was so helpful in directing us to what we eventually chose to eat, to the very gentle, kind and beyond helpful assistance we received from Nicole the front desk manager, and Lyndon, a young hotel staff person who was such a nice young man with a genuine smile always and to Jose Luis the hotel engineer who repaired our bathroom faucet with a quiet and respectful elegance. I also want to say a great big thank you to Jan Cohen the Restaurant Supervisor and to Doug Wood the General Manager for their obvious abilities to lead by example and for all they most certainly must do to inspire all of the incredibly helpful and courteous young men and woman I have just mentioned above. Honestly, I cannot thank the entire staff enough for making our stay so incredibly welcoming and comforting. What a GIFT it was for us to have shared a moment of our life with you ALL!
THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!! God Bless and... "Be Peaceful" Love, Love, Kenny and Kelly Mitchell

PS My wife has a Traditional French Pastry and Culinary Arts degree, currently working as an Executive Pastry Chef and has also worked as a Culinary Chef for many of her past 25 years. We have owned and operated our own restaurant and both of us sincerely believe the food here is as good as it gets in any top rated restaurant anywhere!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennymitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much Kenny for your kind and encouraging words. Our staff is very grateful that you appreciated their efforts to make your stay exceptional. We have shared your comments with all of them. Our goal is to make emotional and personal connections with our guests and we definitely appreciate the same in return. We hope you will come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $147 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing