We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not real BBQ”
Review of Chicago's Ribs and More - CLOSED

Chicago's Ribs and More
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Chicago Ribs and More is located on Main Street in Ventura, CA. We’re the home of the best BBQ in the area with the biggest portions, hands down! Our scrumptious food, friendly staff and great service will make you return again and again! Visit us and try our famous baby back ribs, delicious homemade corn bread, and unique and tasty sides. Not a big meat lover? We’ve got you covered. Try our popular turkey or veggie burger or one of our many scrumptious salads or sandwiches! We also offer fantastic seafood dishes, like our tasty shrimp,salmon and halibut! There is something for everyone! Come try "THE BEST BONES IN TOWN!" at CHICAGOS RIBS and more!
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“not real BBQ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just average all around. service slow. Food seems very production line.They were not busy just slow and not friendly at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria, California, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ribs galore”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We eat there often before we go to the theater and the food is always excellent and the service is first class.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sudsman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicago's Ribs - The Best Food at the Best Value!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can get a really delicious, really filling meal at an excellent price, the porch has great atmosphere, even in chilly weather, as it has table heating lamps, it's right in downtown Ventura, two doors from the FABULOUS Rubicon Theatre Company, with a friendly staff, great service, and a great bar service. GO to this place when you're in Ventura, you won't be sorry! 692 E Main St Ventura, CA 93001, (805) 641-0812

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CVActor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Angels
Level Contributor
213 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We Love the Food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We love the St. Louis ribs, but we always take them back to where we stay and sit out on our balcony.

We met Erin Murphy, tending bar.... what a lovely, friendly, & helpful young woman. ♥ The manager was friendly, but he seemed tired and worn out... In fact both managers always have that tired run down (I Need a Vacation Now) look about them.

As always the food was delicious and the service was great.

Comments: they didn't give me a fork for my salad (I ate it w/ my fingers) nor did they give us napkins...... I also was unable to use my 10% off "Welcome" coupon because it was more than 30 days and it was not valid for a weekend (I live in L.A. so can't just drive up any time and use it).

Other than that..... we are happy & will come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auntie-Nanuuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Only went here for the Bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a cool little joint, about 10 years old, set in a Deco-era/style little building on Main Street. It appears to be a popular Rib/pizza/hotdog place. We went for the bar on a Sunday night. The bartender was friendly and service-oriented, but because they don't freeze their gin, the gin and tonics were a little weak and watered down. The bartender also made my date a pina colada, but used sweet and sour mix (??!!??) (he said he did, that's how we know). Anyway, what the quality of the drinks lacked, was made up for by ambiance and a cool place to sit and drink.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SledMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing