We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ARGUABLY THE BEST STEAK HOUSE IN VENTURA”
Review of Cafe Zack

Cafe Zack
Ranked #31 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“ARGUABLY THE BEST STEAK HOUSE IN VENTURA”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hidden away a bit in downtown Ventura is this intimate steakhouse. Excllent filet mignon....worht the $$$. Creme Brulee exceptional. Combine a great meal here with an evening at the Rubicon Theatre Company nearby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    24
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orbe, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

You might miss it... Small house around the corner... but definitely worth a visit.. delicious salad, original and tasty... nice cosy atmosphere, friendly service...warmly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pasukaru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect- but no feeling”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From my phone reservation, to being received to our server, everyone was efficient.

Service was perfect as was the food-- very professional, but unemotional. The only person we encountered who expressed any emotion and warmth was the bus boy.

This is the best food in Ventura, but not the best dining experience.

We will try it again for sure-- it could be so much more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnnywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I only went because it was ranked # 1 on Trip Advisor. This restaurant has been around a long time. It was amazing. I was so impressed with the creativity of the chef's appetizers and specials. There are very few restaurants I have patronized that could even come close to compare. I highly recommend this local gem to my neighbors and cerainly to guests. Spectacular food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I visited Zack's for our anniversary. Food was good (not excellent), service was marginal (20 minute wait to refill undersized water glasses), view was poor (unless you like to look at a Jiffy Lube), eating area extremely tight & tables almost on top of each other. Too pricey for the atmosphere & dining experience. We will not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zack also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Zack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing