We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best finds of my trip!”
Review of Cafe Nouveau

Cafe Nouveau
Ranked #4 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
North Hollywood
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best finds of my trip!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the grilled romaine salad, the polenta napoleon, pasta, and dessert. All of it was tasty, and so different from the boring fare that so many places in Ventura serve.

It's a little out of the way if you're staying downtown, but if you're vegetarian, it's definitely worth a trip.

The service was great, and the atmosphere was wonderful. I'm definitely going back next time I'm in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_H436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    82
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burger hell”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went for lunch for a quick bite in March, my collegue ordered a Barcelona Burger "medium" and I ordered a Frisco Burger "medium" both came "well done", we ate them and left, I'm not going back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 669JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Glad this special spot is open again!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant was closed for renovations after a fire, and we are so glad it is open again.We love this restaurant for the delicious, fresh breakfasts and yummy lunch salads, as well as the beautiful patio surrounded by greenery. The service is great, the setting lovely, and the food delicious. The menu is very large, and I can't speak for everything, but we are never disappointed in the breakfasts and salads. Parking can be a problem, but they now have a lot across the street that is available during busiest times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We tried the beef bruschetta and the beef was almost raw, not cooked enough, also we tried the seafood melt and it tasted like old, and refrigerator fish. Overall not good. Service was ok

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 819MarkS819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the first time we visited this eatery per a friend recommendation. We came here for Breakfast on a Sunday morning and noticed that there where lots of people waiting. After asking how long the wait would be and adding ourselves to the waiting list, we helped ourselves to the complimentary coffee in the front porch waiting area which allowed the time to pass rather quickly. The food and service was Very Good. The staff was vey attentive and frequented our table for any needs.
NOTE: you will need to be patient on the weekend to get a table but we found the wait to be worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing