We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We visit family in Ventura and always stay at the Best Western It is clean, comfortable, and convenient to the Mission, beach, boardwalk, and downtown. The TV screen was very dim during our last visit, so it was hard to look at. The cable service is very limited and the guide did not match the channels =for example, we wanted to watch TCM and when we went to that channel it was a Spanish channel. So it took a lot of looking to find out which channel was which. The wi-fi worked well. The room had just been updated with new fixtures and granite counter tops in the bathroom. We really like the layout of the bathroom/closet area and my wife really likes the dressing table. It is nice to have a refrigerator and microwave and they were both working well. We find the breakfast very adequate with a variety of cereals, yogurt, juice, eggs, sausage, rolls and coffee, tea, and milk. It is really convenient to have this breakfast available right there. The food is quality, and the layout makies it easy to serve yourself. There is always an attendant in the breakfast room restocking, cleaning, and servicing the area. All in all, it is a very pleasant home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank stantonl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

stantonl2014-
Hello, and thank you for your review. It was surly enjoyed and appreciated. We look forward to your return next time your in Ventura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 920 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Over the Easter weekend, we needed to find a place to stay while attending our granddaughter's 7th birthday nearby. We had accumulated enough rewards points to stay here free, so we made a reservation for Saturday night only. Since the rest of Saturday was going to be taken up with the birthday party, I suggested to my wife that we call ahead and see if we could check in early, rather than the normal 4 PM time, since we were going right by the BW on our way to the birthday party a couple of exits north of Ventura at Faria Beach. The manager said sure and simply asked whether we wanted an ocean view or the "quiet" section at right angle to the ocean front. We opted for the "quiet room", since the ocean view rooms overlook the railroad tracks, with attendant noise from the Surfliner passenger trains and an occasional freight train. We were able to quickly check-in and stow our baggage in the room and were at the birthday party location within 30 minutes. When we returned from the party at 8 PM, we learned first hand the value of the "quiet rooms", as the trains came by beginning at approximately 6 AM in the morning. I'm a light sleeper and heard the train whistle as it approached the Ventura station, but I would have jumped out of bed had we been in one of the "ocean rooms". The location is great and in close proximity to Highway 101, both north and south bound directions. The food was the usual fare for complimentary breakfasts and certainly adequate to get your day started. The room wasn't large, but well-laid out with refrigerator and microwave, a desk for laptops, a unique for BWs marbled makeup counter adjacent to the bathroom and a large closet with sliding mirrored doors. All-in-all a very nice location to stay while in the vicinity of Ventura and the beaches nearby. It's also just one exit away from Highway 33 which goes to the artsy-fartsy community of Ojai, which is also a damn sight warmer during the "marine layer" days of summer, as I can attest from past experience. Lastly, there is no elevator as far as I could learn, so if you have limited mobility or have to schlep a lot of baggage, request a ground floor room.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, unless you're a very sound sleeper or just have to have an ocean view, the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Greetings Stan W!
Well I have gotta tell you sir, it was a pleasure to read your gracious review. Besides the fact that we love to hear about all of our guests stays it was great to hear that you had a good time in Ventura. I love Faria! We go camping there all the time. So m glad you were able to enjoy it for your granddaughters birthday. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the beach and pier via a Hiway 101 pedestrian overpass and 10 - 15 minute walk to downtown Ventura with restaurants and shopping and the beautiful and historic Ventura Mission. The two story hotel is tidy tho somewhat nondescript, and built in an elongated u with the sides of the u perpendicular to the street and bottom of the u parallel to the street at the back of the property AND SITTING LITERALLY RIGHT ON THE SIDE OF THE TRAIN TRACKS. In all fairness the train only went by once at night but you will not sleep through it! Outside our room (which was at the back) there was a narrow flower bed with newly planted flowers that were attractive. The property has an attractive heated pool with plenty of chairs and there is a small triangular spa adjacent which we enjoyed. There is current remodeling going on but we arrived late afternoon so did not hear any noise from that as workers were leaving. Lobby was open and attractive with big windows and pleasant, modern furnishings. Checkin person was pleasant. Our room was small. We asked for and were told it was a queen bed but it was definitely smaller than our queen at home so we kept waking each other up which coupled with the train did not make for the best nights sleep. When I went to the front desk in the morning to ask about the bed size the lady basically said there was nothing she could do about it and handed me the managers card and told me I could call him during the week. Her attitude was not particularly exemplary. The mattress was ok but not great but that may have just been me. If you wish to eat out for breakfast two doors to the right as you walk out of the property is a restaurant that we found very acceptable. Friendly service and many choices. So in summary, I gave this hotel a rating of average which in my mind equals "good". The nice pool and lobby and walking distance to beach and town would tip it towards a higher rating but the small room and small bed were not my favorite. Overall though not at all a bad choice, especially if you really like trains (we do!)!

Room Tip: Read above about trains!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl93463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello travelgirl93463!
We sure do appreciate your review. We really do value hearing about our guests stay experience. It truly is a service to us, and, well future guests. I assure you that our rooms with queen beds are standard queens. I'm so glad to hear that you found the location to be pleasing and we really hope to see you again the next time you are in Ventura. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times for business trips and I've never had a single issue with anything. It's close to the highway and near a multitude of restaurants and shops. It IS close to the train tracks, so occasionally you hear (and feel) trains passing through, but it's hardly an inconvenience. The staff is always friendly and remember repeat customers (which makes you feel good about coming back). It's not the fanciest hotel around, but it's clean, convenient, and the staff is nice, so the prices are great for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

E. R-
Why thank you! Such a kind and gracious review and we are thrilled you took the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy coming back to us and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Check in staff very friendly and smiley. When we checked in to our room we found there to be an unpleasant smell. After a few hours and the spraying of deodorant not working, my husband went to let the reception staff know. The Manager came back to our room to check it out and brought up an antibacterial spray to mask the smell. There were no other rooms as the hotel was full. We sprayed this around the room each time we left and it was ok for the remaining 2 nights. The hotel was being refurbished and so there was lots of building work around. There was a small hot tub, which was nice and the pool was a little on the cool side but the kids still had a little swim. The pool was right next to the car park and close to the entrance to the hotel from the road. Location wise, this was close to a park and the seafront with a wooden pier. A short drive away was Oxnard and Mandalay Beach was lovely. The second night that we were there, the kids were watching TV in bed at about 8.30pm, when we got a call from reception to say there had been complaints about noise coming from our room. We were quite shocked as we were just laying in bed watching TV. The breakfast had a good variety of food, with limited seating but if no tables were available then we just took the food back to our room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Lise631-
Why thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. I'm sorry to hear about the noise complaint call. Sometimes when a guest calls regarding a disturbance they know the general location but not exact. Perhaps our front desk staff should have made a point to say there was a noise complaint in your area of the hotel and we were calling a few rooms just to remind them to please keep the noise level to a respectful level. I will remind the staff as well and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. =) All in all it sounds like you had great stay and we would like to say we appreciate you and your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel, rooms are very nice and clean. It is located at a walking this distance from the beach and downtown. The staff is very nice and professional. They have a good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carmen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Carmen O-
Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure accommodating you and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for one night at The Best Western in Ventura. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful explaining where the best restaurants were. When we arrived we heard the noise from the train which was very near to the hotel. I really thought that it would disturbed our nights sleep but we actually didn't hear it. There is a small pool which guests can use which was good although it was on the other side of the car park and you had to walk across it.
They are in the process of renovating some of the rooms which didn't affect us but it did look untidy. The breakfast was very good and lots to choose from. It set us up for the day as we were travelling to LA.I would recommend this hotel for people choosing one night as a base.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

SueD86-
Sure was nice of you to leave us a review and we thank you for it! We are remodeling the bathrooms and putting in some new carpets in half of one of our buildings. We are almost done which means the whole hotel is complete!! were pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that if your ever this way, you will find your self with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
653 reviews
166.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $103 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing