We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Rodeway Inn(Ventura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
315
407
149
60
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
407
149
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest westernstrain tracksmain streetyogurtwalking distancethe breakfast areanice pooldefinitely stay here againconvenient locationbed was very comfortablerestaurants and shopstwo blockscontinental breakfastshort walk to the beachcoffee makersanta barbaraclose to downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 970 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Checked in, used the bathroom and found a small pile of dog feces on the floor under the bathroom counter. Front desk moved us to a new "fecal free" room and took a whopping 25 dollars off my bill. Really think a free night is in order for a future stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Mark J-
We sincerely apologize. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wow! You know, at first, I was a little hesitant because "Best Western" isn't one of the standard cookie cutter "brands" of motels we are so used to in our mobile culture. However, having been a member via the Harley Owners Group, and having trouble finding a room in one of the aforementioned other venues, I went ahead a booked a room here for a Saturday stay to attend a friend's event in Ventura. The "Wow" is for a very nice, clean property and a room (210) that turned out to be every bit as clean, and clean smelling, as any you'd find at one of the major name brand properties. The Ventura County Fair was in town (Fairgrounds in walking distance, over on the beach), this motel was booked solid on Saturday night. However, even with some kids in the pool and lots of traffic, we found this to be a nice, and quiet property as well. Sure, sure, Amtrak's Surfliner and Coast Starlight run the tracks right behind the motel, and the property is adjacent to Hwy-101, however, this IS Coastal California.

Important to note: the motel is located VERY close to the awesome little downtown Ventura's Main Street, full of funky shops, cafe's, bars, clubs, etc. Starbucks is close by, as are antique shops, other coffee shops lots of Thai places, BBQ & Rib Joints, and on and on. Of course, the beach and Ventura pier are nearby as well. All within parking distance. This is a MUST if you are looking for a funky little not-quite-beach-town (but it is, but the beach doesn't seem to be the focus, as with some other towns). If you choose to eat breakfast at the hotel, the dining area actually opens out to a little walled-off street-side area, with tables and chairs, you can sit outside and enjoy your meal or coffee with the sea breeze and the sound of gulls in the park across the street.

Kudos to Meaghan who was at the front desk Saturday and Sunday morning. She has great customer service skills and set the tone for a great stay.

I highly recommend this place, and I want to come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor may help with noise from people bumping luggage and furniture while checking in and out of their rooms. Room 210 was awesome. If you stay towards the ocean, you will hear the train!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SledMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

SledMan-
Wow is right! Thank you so much for such a gracious and amazing review. I will be sharing with the entire staff. We truly value our guests and it’s awesome to receive your feedback. By being so kind in doing so it really helps us to know what we can improve on and what we can continue to strive at. We are pretty proud of our location being a hope skip and a jump from downtown and the beach. All though the Amtrak does run along the back of the hotel, that is life here for us, neighboring businesses and residences. After all the rail road was here before us ;) and doesn't bother most. We do our best to meet requests for room away from the back of the hotel and those rooms are actually our most popular because of the ocean view!

I want to thank you again for your time, business and review. We certainly look forward to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Travelled to Ventura, California for 5-day tour of Ventura, Santa Barbara, the Channel Islands, and (last day) Hollywood/Beverly Hills before departing in late-afternoon from LAX for return flight to Dulles Airport (D.C.) Found the Best Western Ventura a perfect location for all intended activities -- walking, hiking, touring in the above-listed locations. Facility met and exceeded every expectation for my leisure trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Edward W-
Greetings! Thank you for your time and business. We appreciate you, and we truly love hearing from our guests and hearing about their stays. It’s wonderful to hear you had an excellent trip and we hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My mother and I have stayed at this location on 3 separate monthly occasions, 3's a charm as they say. While the staff was all wonderful, Monique, Alice, Cyndi, Charles&all the very hard working housekeeping staff, their manager was a tyrant! He not only went on tyraids on his staff in front of other emloyees&clients, he also verbally attacked clients&elders staying there. This man needs a class in hospitality&management as he knows nothing about either.We stayed 28 nights in June, the Jacuzzi worked once, when I finally addressed the problem with Carlos I was verbally attacked once again. Unfortunatly upon departure I left two sets of earrings&two matching necklaces, I called&asked that they be mailed to me useing my c.c. for any cost it may incur. They were all wrapped in a piece of paper&shoved in envelope, all was smashed&broken.Never again Carlos!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 552journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear 552journey,
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the jacuzzi occurred during your stay. We did have to order a replacement part for the jacuzzi, but get it fixed within the week. We thank you for bringing it to our attention and hope that your future travels go smoothly.

Carlos Cruz-Ampudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First visit to Ventura. The place is located very close from the shore and freeway 101. Very good deal for price and good complimentary breakfast. Satisfied! Check-in and out staffs were friendly and helpful. Good place for downtown tour and tours to SB and neighboring locations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Valued Guest-
It was really great reading your review and we thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will see you again if ever you are in Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews