We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Upgrade, Location..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Upgrade, Location..”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Don't judge this hotel by its exterior. From the outside it looks rather homely and old, but the rooms have been nicely redone: mine attractively appointed, roomy and spotlessly clean. It is walking distance (2 blocks) to Main Street where most of the restaurants and shops are (inc. Starbucks) and a block from the freeway entrance. Breakfast includes waffles, eggs and sausage and a cold cereals etc. All in all, an excellent choice for Ventura.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a ground floor in advance if that's what you prefer - it is a two-story hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
schaferpho-
Thank you for stopping by and dropping us a review. We loved to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a good stay. We are looking forward to an exterior remodel within the coming year. We hope to welcome you again so you can see all the new exciting improvement's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    355
    133
    52
    35
See reviews for
236
340
53
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are a British couple who stayed for 3 nights from 27th May after attending a family wedding the previous weekend in Dana Point. We were very impressed by the friendly receptionists, the comfort and cleanliness of our room and the selection available for the buffet breakfast.

The Inn was really well placed for walking to the beach and the town and we found plenty to interest us on Main Street and at the Mission. There was a good variety of restaurants for dinner but we also ate in the Vagabond diner and were made really welcome there. The food was tasty and plentiful.

We were also able to use the train to visit Santa Barbara and the bus for our return trip and thought the fares were very reasonable compared to similar trips distances in the UK.

All in all we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to everyone as it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
helenamm-
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting California. We are ecstatic you enjoyed our location, just being a walk to both beach and downtown. We appreciate your great feedback and hope that we can welcome you again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this hotel thinking it was Santa Barbara but it is not that far away. The location is very near the coast and the town of Ventura is quite interesting especially when the Amtrak goes through the centre of the town. The hotel is clean and the rooms are bright and airy. The complimentary breakfast is excellent and we would be prepared to stay longer than the one day we had booked

Room Tip: Ground floor with car parking right outside the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
David L-
Well lucky us you stumble across us by accident. =) We are pleased to have welcomed you and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again maybe for a more extended stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

You could be forgiven for being a little put off when you first drive in, as this looks like a rather old-fashioned dowdy motel. However, the rooms have obviously been refurbished and are clean, bright and welcoming, and have everything you need. The bed was very comfortable. A good quality hot breakfast is provided in the bright reception area, there is also some outside seating.

Light sleepers staying in rooms in the back wing of the motel might want earplugs as there's a highway and a railway line running behind the building.

The staff were very helpful and professional. All-in-all, a good choice.

The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the beach and Ventura's interesting Main Street, which has many and varied eating & drinking options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Paul D-
Thank you for leaving us a review. We loved hearing about your stay and that you enjoyed Main Street and all that it has to offer. All though most are not bothered by the train, with an exception to light sleepers, we do our best to let them know of the Amtrak line that passes behind the hotel. We hope that we may be your choice again next time you’re in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overview:
Most of the time Best Western has been about 3rd on my list of hotels I book at; simply because they've tended to be good but not great. I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at the one in Ventura. On the outside it looks like a regular motel but the rooms are updated and have an excellent hotel feel to them.

Location:
While this hotel isn't on the beach like the Crown Plaza, it is right next to it. The pedestrian walkway to the pier is right next out the back of the hotel and you are also very close to downtown Ventura.

My Stay:
Only thing I can complain about was that it was pretty easy to hear my neighbors but I'm a heavy sleeper so this was not a problem for me. Otherwise the bed was comfortable, room was spacious & well equipped, bathroom wasn't cramped, internet was fast and easy to connect to (login process wasn't painful), and the staff were friendly and helpful. (Didn't use the pool but it looked clean). Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Gary L-
Thank you! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our location. We certainly hope that we will be your first choice next time you are in the Ventura area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every one is friendly there, great breakfast, rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable. If you need the Internet forget it unless you can use one of theirs in the breakfast area. Said something to the owner about it, and he brought back his cell phone to show me the wifi worked! Asked other guests, and they ALL said the same thing. Funny, my laptop worked at all the other hotels we stayed at while on vacation here. It appears that they do read the posts here, and as long as they fix the wifi or it doesn't matter to you, I'd certainly stay here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Chris M-
We apologize for the inconvenience and that we could not figure out the reason why it would not work on your specific devices but picked up just fine on both an iphone and my personal laptop. We hope you return soon to enjoy the rest of the amenities we have to offer. Hopefully by talking to a few of our service provider's technicians, we can figure out ways to troubleshoot the problems you encountered with the internet by your next visit.
Thank you, Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This motel is a better than average Best Western, within walking distance (3 blocks) of downtown Ventura; and tke same distance from a very clean, well kept beach. Staff idisplays good professional demeanor, is friendly and helpful. Accommodations are clean and organized. Received immediate and professional on all minor requests for assistance.

Have stayed here approximately 6 times in 2013.

Room Tip: One lower room has a hot tub inside. All rooms are quiet for sleeping except #119 which has noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Miles H-
I cant tell you enough how much we appreciate your loyalty. It means so much to us that you choose us when you are in Ventura. We really enjoyed reading your review and we definitely appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Property: Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing