We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and honest people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I always lock my valuables up when I stay in a hotel, but forgot to put my rings back on and left them on the table. They were right where I left them when I came home. Very honest people here, Laura and Alicia! We have enjoyed the room and the train whistle doesn't bother us because it either stops during sleeping time, or we are just heavy sleepers. Breakfast is nice too. Can't beat the price. Ruben was most helpful too! Thank you Best Western!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you are old geezers like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPM5833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Very appreciative of the time you took to leave us a review. With your input it allows us to continue to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and if we fail to miss something helps us to find a resolve and make things better for the future. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 948 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable, and it was a small walk to the beach and pier. Then at 2am we were awakened by a train whistle and rumbling outside our back window. The tracks are RIGHT BEHIND the hotel. Scared us a little, now we laugh at it. Nice hotel for the low price. The breakfast in the lobby was really good - much more than the usual coffee and donuts. The check in lady was a litle grumpy; check out lady was very friendly!!

Room Tip: Room 222 is upstairs with great view of the ocean and coast, but the train is back there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We appreciate your review. My apologies regarding the train waking you. We do try to inform our guests of the train and provide ear plugs for light sleepers. We hope that in the future you will allow us to welcome you again and well put you in a room near the front away from tracks at your request

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was travelling through and booked my stay here via Priceline. The room was clean and it was a great having a pool and hot tub especially after riding a bike all day. The service was fantastic. They were very friendly and extremely accomodating. The staff recommended several places within walking distance to have dinner. The included breakfast was a little better than most in its class.

The only downside is that the train tracks run right behind the hotel. I wasn't pleased about being woken up at 2:27AM by a locamotive's horn and the sunsequent shaking and roar that accompanied it. I'm not saying that I wouldn't stay there, but as a full paying guest, it's something I would like to have brought to my attention before deciding whether or not to book there. Be careful too as most hotels/motels appear to be in close proximity of the tracks as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and extending some feedback on your recent stay. The railroad is part of our life in this area just like many businesses and residences near by. This is why we try our best to inform guests of the train and offer ear plugs if needed. Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter. Everyone is different and the train does not bother some guest's. I am truly sorry that you were not informed about the train and will speak to my staff to remind them bring this to everyone of our guest's attention. We appreciate your time, review and business and hope that we may accommodate you again in the future. Next time you make a reservation with us, request a room away from train track and well put you somewhere as quiet as we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just wanting to get away nearby to spend quality time with my husband. From the receptionist to the room and morning continental breakfast everything was exceptional. The room was comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are delighted that we could contribute to your anniversary. By making your stay a good one! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Helpful staff at reception however cannot understand why this hotel is a Best Western Plus. It's the first time I've stayed in any Best Western that has bars on the bathroom windows and has had to keep the laundry locked, giving the key to guests so that they can use it. The room itself was clean and functional but dated. There was a breakfast but we did not stay to eat it, so cannot make a comment on that. I would not stay at this particular Best Western Plus again, though maybe having previously stayed at the Best Western Plus in Half Moon Bay this had given me much higher expectations of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms. When all is done there will be no bathroom windows like many of the rooms that have already been remodeled. For the safety and security of our guests and their belongings, we do keep our guest laundry room locked and there is a key available at the front desk for guests to check out. On behalf of our whole staff I do apologize if you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We would really appreciate the chance to welcome you again and accommodate you by putting you in a remodeled room, and by hopefully letting you experience our deluxe continental hot breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

En route to San Diego we stopped here in Ventura - we did price the Crowne Plaza next door but that was way expensive so as it was only for 1 night this was a cheap and cheerful alternative.

The rooms are basic but clean with basic amenities - the pool is a good size with jacuzzi - loungers are plentyful.

There is a restaurant next door which looks a bit dodgy - but go inside - its friendly and great value ! This hotel is within walking distance of the beach (5 mins) which has a nice little pier with restaurants and fishing hire !

It was perfect for a 1 night stay with an average breakfast on offer. Although table space is limited.

Overall a nice stop-over with laundry facilities that come in handy for those on a road-trip !

(next stop San Diego)

Room Tip: Look for an online deal if you can - although not too bad on turn-up prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEEFER11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the ammentaties we offer, and found us to be a reasonable price for a good stay! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again if you ever find yourself passing through Ventura. We appreciate your business and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This is an old school motor lodge, but it has been updated, to provide some modern ammenities. Free Wifi and breakfast, nice pool and spa. Very clean. Desk clerk, Diego, was very friendly and helpful. Very minor nit picks are, shower, no tub; Old building lends itself to outside noise and creaky floors; box style AC noisy and hard to regulate.

It is a short walk to the beach and Ventura pier.

Not a bad deal, for a pricey area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Met45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We thank you for your feedback. Your review is greatly appreciated and so is your business. We also have bathrooms that do indeed have bathtubs! Next time you make a reservation with us mention that you would like one of these rooms and we will do our very best to reserve one for you! Again thank you for your time and we hope to accommodate you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ventura
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $103 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing