We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed August 28, 2012

stayed 2 night in august. we had travelled down from san francisco and needed a bed for a night or 2 when we summbled across this hotel. it looks more like a motel from the outside but was suprised how modern and clean the rooms where. staff was helpfull and polite and you get free breakfast. 5 mins walk from the beach and 2 mins walk from the main street with all the restaurants on. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shasha91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are delighted you found us and we thank you for your time and review. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 930 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is centrally located to the downtown Ventura strip, the mission and within walking distance of the beach and pier. Additionally, it is not far from Oxnard and/or Santa Barbara. The staff is very hospitable, friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and sausage along with bagels, muffins, danishes, hot cocoa, oatmeal, coffee, tea and four quality breakfast cereals with 2% milk and whole milk choice; plus apple, cranberry and orange juice. Very clean facility and upgraded rooms. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends and I would love to stay here again. One of the front desk associates, Alice DeLucia, recommended an absolutely wonderful Mexican restuarant called Taqueria Tepatitlan about 5 minutes from the Inn and it was fabulous. If you want good, homestyle mexican food, this is the place to eat. Keep up the excellent job!

Room Tip: I believe any room in the facility would be nice. I did not hear any complaints. The people I spok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and for leaving us a review. Our guests input and feed back is important and essential to us. It always pleases us to know that our guests find our rooms clean and comfortable our location convenient and enjoy our deluxe hot breakfast. It assures us that we are succeeding at our efforts to providing our guests with a satisfying, comfortable stay. From the whole staff at Best Western Inn of Ventura, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this BW for 5 nights and used the car one time to drive to the supermaket. The beach, the pier, the promenade, the town, and the Ventura County Fair are all in walking distance. We even could see the nightly County Fair fireworks right from the upper floor of the motel.
The room was very clean and because we had an upper floor also very quiet. We had a large king-size room with good sized fridge and fast internet. Maybe the breakfast room is too small, but we always managed to find a table after a few minute wait. We were happy to stay there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We always love to hear feedback and are so pleased you had a great stay. Our breakfast has grown since the beginning of the year. So we know how fast the breakfast room can fill up the morning after a busy night. We are hoping to make some changes in the near future to create more room. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband, son and me stayed at Ventura in our way to Magic Mountain. We were greatly surprised by the modern remodeled features of the rooms, very very clean, very nice quality of sheets and mattresses THANKS!!! Good simple breakfast with choices for all tastes, and on the top warmly welcomed by the receptionist and a handsome manager. We were kindly informed about the Great Festival and fireworks going on at Ventura´s beaches and everything we asked for as Magic Mountain, shopping and dinning places.
We stayed for one more day to enjoy the nice environment and the closeness to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms street level on the east side are nice and quiet. The bilingual (English and Spanish) manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Your review is greatly appreciated and I look forward to sharing your compliments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms with our housekeeping staff! Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the beach, the mission, and the downtown Ventura strip. It is also just blocks from the pier and a 5-10 minute drive to the Marina.

It has a good breakfast spread with scrambled eggs, beans, and bacon, along with other continental items.

The rooms were clean and had plenty of space and included a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker.

The pool was semi-heated and the hot tub was nice and hot! Lots of lounge chairs but you're basically sitting in the parking lot.

This site is one large parking lot with no patio area secluded from the street like many other Best Westerns have.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

I’m so pleased to hear you found our location conveniently located. We keep our pool at a comfortable temperature of 80* year round! I thank you for your review and hope to see you again on your next trip to Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I agree with he last reviewer (SAML1), I had second thoughts as we pulled in. It did look old, and it didn't seem to be in the best neighborhood. But the room was clean, bedding looked fairly new and the price was reasonable. We got there around 9pm, the lady at registration was nice, even told us about the fireworks from the fairgrounds that you could see from the hotel. My only complaints, #1 there was a very long black hair on the bathroom floor (makes you think the room is less than clean) probably from the housekeeper, and #2 we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the windows open as we normally like to do. So we ran the air conditioner all night. The windows in the front of the room are along the walkway to the other rooms and the one in the back of the room fronted the freeway. All in all, I would stay there again when passing through Ventura. Definitely not a destination hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not parallel to the freeway, less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmcdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We thank you for your review and will definitely follow up on some of the things that you have mentioned. We hope in the future we will get another chance to accommodate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Old style motel layout, gave me some second thoughts at check in. However, we were very pleased with the room. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Check in was reasonably quick considering that the one desk clerk was answering the phone with one hand. looking up my reservation with the other and giving directions to a guest all at the same time. GOOD JOB!!!! Walked to the beach. Not a long walk but on this day not a very nice walk either. Some kind of construction to walk around, to a beach that seemed very dirty to me. This is not the fault of the hotel and it really does have a good location. One suggestion, the shrubs between the parking and room makes unloading and loading luggage hard. All things considered, I will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAML1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We are truly grateful for your loyalty and thank you for considerating us for your accommodation needs again in the future. We will take a look at the landscaping and see if there isn’t something that we can’t do to improve the functionality of it. Thank you for your suggestion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
658 reviews
166.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $103 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing