We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmarish experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nightmarish experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

If your idea of a hotel stay is to have trains rumbling by just a few yards from your window with deafening whistle blowing and your bed vibrating as the trains go by, then this is the place to stay. Approximately 1/3 of this motel's rooms are situated right next to the railroad tracks, and if you are given one of those rooms your goose is cooked.

Room Tip: If yoy can't avoid this property make sure you get a room very close to the lobby and as far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatrickGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    350
    132
    52
    34
See reviews for
230
336
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

what a nice surprise. From the cookies at check-in, the great room layout, and nice looking furniture to the great breakfast. This place is a steal. It is also close to the main street where there is a very large restaurant choice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for such a pleasant review. We're glad you enjoyed the cookies, we bake them here at the hotel in the morning. We hope you will come back soon to Ventura and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I chose this Best Western because of if's location and it's great price. For the most part it was average as far as Best Westerns go, good location, great price, nice stafff, good basic rooms. It had one thing that knocked it down- dirty carpet, but there is a reasonable explanation - the room window is right next to the train tracks. The black dust from the train settles into the carpet. Just wear sock. The rest of the room was clean. Came with microwave, refridgerator and we had a peakaboo ocean view. Don't let the train scare you - with the window closed, it didn't disturb us at all and we really loved running to the window to watch it go buy - at night you can see the inside of the train lit up, it was like a show 4 times a day. The other thing that bumps this hotel up a notch - you are greeted with fresh baked cookies - we got yummy oatmeal raisin. It is a short walk from old town Buena Ventura. I found two great places (although I am sure there are more) I was looking for a cookie in the afternoon ( I ate my greeting cookie the day before!). First I went into My Florist Bakery on E Oak at Santa Clara. I thought I had made a mistake - it looked like a slick bar, but when I asked about the bakery, I was led to a small glass counter with some heavenly looking pastries and baquettes. Since it was almost 5 pm, they were low on baked goods, but they do half off pastries after 4 pm, so I picked up a wonderful cherry cheescake danish. Then I went to the Savory Cafe & Bakery, 419 Main St. They had cookies. Giant, delicious peanut butter, chocolate chip and chocolate cookies. They also had wonderful looking cupcakes and lots of bagels with big bowls of flavored cream cheese. I tried both the Jalepeno and green onion. Wonderful. I saw some reviews of this place on yelp that complained about the service - but I was waited on quickly by a lovely young woman. No complaints.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the front if you don't like trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SacBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family and I put together a last-minute mini-roadtrip for the Labor Day weekend. We visited various points between L.A. and Ventura, and since we were familiar with this hotel we decided to stay here again for our only over-night.

We booked on-line through the Best Western website, and got a better price than almost any other hotel in the area (only one was cheaper). Check-in was fast and uncomplicated.

There were 7 of us total, in 3 different rooms: 2 queens, 1 queen, and 1 king. The queen rooms were basic, while the king room had a little extra luxury: a fluffy chair and ottoman, and a more decorated restroom and vanity area. All 3 rooms, however, included the same amenities, and were oustandingly clean and comfortable. To those in our party that liked fluffy beds, it was hard to get up in the morning as the beds were exceptionally cozy. Those that prefered firmer beds found theirs tolerable.

On our last visit I had noted that the exterior needed a little work, which it has since had. The property is near a freeway and train tracks, but only one person in our party complained about the noise from the train. The rest of us found our rooms quiet, and the sound of the train unintrusive.

The continental breakfast was the same, small but adequate. Seating was limited, but if available is sunny and cheerful.

We visited the pool in the afternoon. The pool is unheated, but there is a tiny jacuzzi in one corner if a warm-up is needed. The area is small but clean, and was a nice place to relax and chat while the kids splashed around.

For dinner, we had our choice was 2 walking-distance locations: the Vagabond Inn restaurant next door, or a seafood shack called Spencer Makenzie's Fish Company about a block away. We chose the later. Although slightly pricier than expected, the food was excellent.

This Best Western was definitely worth our repeat business. The facility was excellent and the location was perfect: 2 blocks from the beach and central to our excursions in Ventura, Ojai, Santa Paula, and Fillmore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nene_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

During our recent 3-week tour of CA we stayed at Best Western motels most of the time. All BW motels are independently owned and run so there is not the sameness as with chain motels. We chose this one because of its location off Route 1. It was one of the best we stayed in and was good value too. Staff are friendly and cheerful. Rooms are comfortable and adequate. Buffet breakfast had the usual American breakfast fare which could be eaten on a small patio area. There is a small pool.
The motel is located close to main street so restaurants and shops were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'm normally quite satisfied with the Best Western motels, but this time I was a bit disappointed. Its location was good, just a few blocks from Ventura's quaint downtown and many restaurants. However, the exterior of the motel looks very worn and out of the 50's. Not only that, but my son's room key didn't work and it took them over an hour to find a solution to the problem. Because they were booked for the weekend, they couldn't put him in a different room. The interiors of the rooms, however, appeared to be remodeled and were quite comfortable. The beds were comfortable, but the linens just OK. The "do it yourself" breakfast bar offered all the usual items, including the waffles that you cook yourself. Overall, the area was a bit "seedy" for my taste, so next time we go, we'll check out other hotels/motels near the harbor.

Room Tip: We asked for a first floor room and got it. However, we did hear lots of footsteps during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed here overnight after driving from Sacramento to Santa Barbara to pick up my daughter while on our way to Legoland. This was not our final destination.

I like Best Westerns because they are pretty consistent. However, the Best Westerns in SB were too pricey and this one was $100/night cheaper. So we opted to try this hotel.

The building was obviously built sometime ago. However it is apparent that the owners are putting a lot of effort into maintaining the property. There is fresh, well kept landscape. Grounds are clean. The lobby is pretty cool: kind of Mad Men period and spotlessly clean.

The room was a total surprise. The furniture looked brand new and NOT standard hotel looking pieces. The bathroom had granite counter tops. Plus there was another LARGE vanity area by the bathroom with a granite counter top that had a coffee maker and mirror and electrical outlets. One person can easily be showering while someone else could be doing their hair and makeup at the vanity. Nice.

Brand new microwave and good sized refrigerator. Nice TV. Comfortable beds, linens and pillows. Appropriate number of towels for the number of guests. CLEAN.

We had a roll away brought up and there was plenty of room for it despite the 2 queen beds.

Helpful, thorough and courteous staff.

Continental breakfast was good. Fresh food, well stocked, clean.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you have problems hauling suitcases upstairs ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLynch7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing