We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The noisiest hotel we've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The staff was polite and efficient, the room was clean and the rate was reasonable. However, the noise level was quite a surprise! We were yards from the railroad tracks (trains ran during the day and night) and a few more yards from busy Hwy 101. If you are a very heavy sleeper or bring ear plugs you might be fine, but we never would have stayed here had we known how loud the traffic was going to be.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 960 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel has been upgraded to a Best Western Plus this year, which has allowed them to update and upgrade the complete room experience. There is new furniture, comfortable ammenities including new upgraded pillow and mattresses. You will also find the employees to be very helpful and attentive to your requests or needs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler19530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I saw nothing about the train tracks mentioned just above the bathroon window on any material Best Western provided, nor in any reviews, It doesn't run until 6:32 am and thoughout the day, I checked out at 7:45 am! The newly remodel consisted of white paint on the aluminum shower frame and caucking. No bathtub in the one we were in. Also it backs up to Hwy 101, ran the AC to kill the noise all night. You can find better!

Room Tip: Call on phone and ask questions before you reserve
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Norma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Worst part was the red stuff smeared on the wall near the toilet paper, see picture, gross. Second worst were the ultra-cheap mattresses. My back and shoulders are so sore. Pickings are slim in Ventura though. If low price is your highest priority this place is probably good, for Ventura. It's clearly a very old motel somewhat remodeled. Whenever someone would walk by (our second floor room) the floor and bed would shake. Both drink vending machines were broken. The motel is right on the 101, and we could clearly hear the auto races going on at the fairgrounds. The toilet made a flushing sound whenever some other room flushed. Best part was the very nice people at the front desk. . Other positives: free wi-fi, refrigerator, microwave, lots of TV channels, breakfast was ok- bagels, cereal, and the room had new-ish carpet and furniture.
Bottom line, if you don't plan on being in your room much and just need cheap this is probably good for Ventura.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoesTo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed in a good size queen room with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flatscreen tv and free wifi. It seemed quite clean, although the carpet needs some thorough cleaning. We used the guest laundry room which is quite useful when travelling for a longer period of time. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown and the beach. The staff is very friendly and we appreciated the good continental breakfast. All in all, a very good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This Best Western was very nice and clean. The girl at the desk (Tory, I think) was friendly, and didn't mind when I requested a room change due to noisy children next door. The breakfast in the morning had enough variety for everyone. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We appreciated this hotel for its proximity to the beach and Pier, about a 10 minute walk. Close to main Street where you will find nice antique and book stores. It gave us the opportunity to walk around, and we gathered that Ventura seems to be a quiet and safe town. We had a nice room and we also used the hot tub. Sort of nice in a not so warm weather. There is a nice little restaurant nextdoor where you can have a delicious fish & chips. The train did not bother us, probably because we were located closer to the front. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
671 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing