We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This hotel is a little weird in the sense that the corridors are all open to the inside, there are no walls... It made me feel like I was is a roadside motel, although the view itself is not bad, you're just looking to a grass field. And in this area they have the pool (ok) and a covered jacuzzi (very nice). But maybe this is just a beach thing, and maybe you won't even notice.

I was disappointed with the location because despite the fact that it's very close on the map to Ventura Harbor, the way there is very long, you have to walk all around the harbor to get there, as there are no bridges.

I was also disappointed with the maintenace of the whole place (including the rooms), it's somewhat run down. If you're paying close to a $200 rate, you'd expect a much better hotel, specially if the location is not premium.

So although the hotel isn't bad, the overall experience wouldn't let me recommend it. I'm sure there must be better options in Ventura.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AstroJunq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here because we want to earn Starwood points and this is the only Starwood property near Santa Barbara where the wedding was held. That being said, I would not stay here again. Why? 1.) Motel-esque. Our room opened to an open-air hallway, not enclosed and not secure in any way. Anyone could go up the staircase from the parking lot and be at our door, you didn't have to enter a room key or at least go through the front door late at night. Convenient yes, safe, no. 2.) Insanely slow, though free, internet - we're talking dial-up slow 3.) Supposed updates: New carpet and a new bedspread, is not an update (bedspread in 2008? Didn't the owners read/know about the invesigative report on hotel bedspreads? Ewww! Should have bought Duvets!). The "new" carpet was a hideous stripe, neutral it wasn't. I understand the hotel is undergoing rennovations, but the choices in rennovations were just wrong. 4.) Supposed updated bath: Bath section was spacious and had a new shower curtain and circular rod, but the rennovations had not yet included putting the closet doors back on (yep, missing) nor a new sink or vanity top (clue to installer: use the reflection in the mirror and see where you tried to put caulk around the sink -- you'll avoid the mess we saw in our bath). 5.) We were concerned about a wedding reception being held at the hotel in that it had an off-duty police officer and a private security guy working security. Who needs security at a wedding reception?

Would have been much happier staying in Santa Barbara at a local hotel and bypassed the Starwood points. Starwood gets a thumbs down too for including a hotel like this in its portfolio - I will never again pay $125 night for a motel-like property that has worse amenities than a Motel 6. At least the Motel 6 does not have the pretentions of being more than what it is and delivers value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJ001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I live in the west San Fernando Valley and this is one of my favorite hotels for an escape from the heat during the summer months. Or a Ocean visit at any time of the year. For the price it really can't be beat. I have been visiting for 15 years now and I feel the hotel is the best it has ever been.

There are few places in So Cal where one can find such a competent, full service, hotel at these rates. For slightly over $100 a night this property offers:

Stunning architecture (The Frank LLoyd Wright Foundation was the design team). The public spaces are better than many hotels at any price.

Big rooms, all with furnished balconies. The double rooms feature two queen sized beds, so they must be big.

Good Four Points amenities like Starbucks Coffee, Arrowhead Water, the comfy Four Points Bed, Room service, good selection of TV (no flatscreens yet) and a generous supply (Mouthwash Included) of Caswell-Massey bath products.

The pool is large and free-form (towels provided) and in a lovely setting with mature plantings. The spa is in an encosed gazebo and they even have tennis courts available!

The fitness room has just been upgraded with the best Life Fitness Cardio equipment I have ever seen (and I am a gym rat). My bike had integrated tv that worked wonderfully. Towels and water were available as were magazines and newspapers. The small louvered windows could be opened to let in the ocean breeze.

As even the folks who do not like the hotel (mostly pre-renovation I think) comment on the good service, which has always been really great. They go all out for SPG members--at least in my experience--and always try to get me into a suite if available, without me asking.

I have only eaten breakfast here so I can't comment of the food, except to say that the room service breakfast was very fairly priced and adequate.

The main dining room is architecturally stunning, but I have noticed the Hotel has the nasty habit of closing it for private parties and pushing diners into the bar area off the lobby. Since there is such good food nearby that is not an issue fo me. But I can see how it would bother some guests.

The hotel is not on the beach, it is adjacent to the marina. But the beach is just a five minute drive to another part of the Marina Complex. Which also has some good resturants. I recommend Le Petit Cafe which is run by a French Chef who is quite good.

As to the views. It is hard to get a good view of the Marina unless one has a second or third floor room in the right location. And there is indeed a poorly placed truck dock under some of the harbor view balconies. Still, most are better than average as the hotel is surronded by harbor, or agricultural land. Don't come expecting a $600 a night water view and you will be ok. SPG members, or anyone, should ask for a third floor harbor view if you can. Just sitting on any balcony enjoying the ocean air is pretty damm good at this price point.

The exterior corridors are nothing like a Motel 6. They are much more protected and one wing of the hotel has enclosed corridoors. This is So Cal so I appreciate the open view out. Also there are several elevators for this 3 story property.

The hotel has been recently renovated and is Standard Sheraton Four Points, comfortable; but not lux. However the rooms really are quite big and most have small louvered windows in the baths, that let a cross breeze in. The baths have sink areas seperated from the bath with a door. Speaking of breezes, this is a working port and agricultural area so there can be some earthy aromas now and then. Mostly it is just cool ocean air.

While I have always enjoyed this property the recent renovation was much needed and is a good improvment.

I think some folks are confused about this hotel's branding. It is a Sheraton FOUR POINTS, that is the base for the Sheraton properties, it is not a Sheraton class Hotel! The furniture and the bedding are different and not as fancy, but still quite acceptable. Its like complaining that the Hilton Garden Inn is not as nice as the Beverly Hilton.

I do have to say that the suites while wonderful and much more in tune with the Frank LLoyd Wright architecture have been renovated with the same standard hotel furniture in a careless way which painfully clashes with the room's bones. The hotel really could have done better here. Also 2 are quirky. One downstars has a windowless bedroom and a maze-like dressing area: Not for everyone. The two upstairs are my favorites and have huge balconies. And they were a generous upgrade for me so I really can't complain.

Bring your bikes if you can, Ventura and the Harbor have some great riding.

Frankly, this place is a steal, particularly for a quick getaway. These inexpensive ocean-adjacent hotels are getting harder to find in So Cal. I am glad to still have this one.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank billyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Our family attended a wedding in Santa Barbara and since we are Starwood Preferred members decided to stay using our points. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly, but room not what we expected of a Sheraton, old, run down. At about 9:00pm the fun began. People in next room became very noisy, slamming door repeatedly, yelling, banging on door when locked out. Trying to get some sleep we phoned the front desk at about 10:00 and again at 11:00 to see if they could do something, Were assured that they would take care of the matter, but the noise continued. At midnigh with our young daughter unable to sleep and at that point frightened by all the noise, phoned the desk again. They apologized for the trouble and offered another room. Room was a suite but in the most remote area of the hotel, next to the exercise room in a seperate annex building. The room was dusty, bathroom doors broken and it smell as if no one had stayed in that room in a long time. Instead of the 2 queen beds, ended up with 1 queen and 1 very uncomfortable sleeper sofa. Worst hotel experience we have ever had.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandiego4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I used to live in Ventura and was going back to visit relatives. I wanted to stay by the beach so i choose the Sheraton. Well, you are close to the beach and harbor, but that is the ONLY good thing about this hotel.

It is literally a gross Motel 6. Old, dingy, dirty, hard beds, towels that made me go out and buy new ones and on and on. There is nothing nice about the room. I wanted to leave the 1 st night but just figured that i would deal with it and only sleep there, but still only lasted 2 nights before leaving. This hotel is deceiving b/c it is on the beach and looks nice from the outside. Do NOT stay here unless you like Motel 6's. Stay next door at Holiday Inn Express (literally 50 feet away) for a much nicer hotel and if you have a little bit of extra money stay two blocks away at Mandalay Bay Hotel in Oxnard.

I will throw a bone and say that the room service was speedy and food was quite good. Hotel front desk was also nice.

STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Venturagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This is my fourth stay here and it's a great little hotel that just got better. As others have noticed, the staff is consistently friendly, the lobby recently updated and now .. to my surprise .. the rooms completely renovated. I can smell the new carpet. it's a clean, friendly, no-fuss place that's got some interesting architectural detail and a nice view of the harbor. Room service breakfast was very good and arrived in 20 minutes, piping hot.

For the cost (generally in the $100-130 range midweek) it's a bargain for the business traveler. Four Points has definitely trying to upgrade its image - and with good reason. This place definitely stands out and I'd recommend it as a nice place to unwind after a long day of work.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Stay is for business for partner and I brought baby and teen son. The room has an empty fridge with is great for our goat milk formula blend and two queen beds. Neighboring Marriot has two double beds in room and that is not what I want as a tall woman with a tall man. Room is just big enough for pack and play crib and swing but not extra room to feel comfortable. Bedding is alright but not the same as other Sheratons.

Here is the kicker. They say that rooms have marina view. The view is over the parking lot! It's okay for the family but if I wanted to be alone with partner, then I would choose another hotel.

Good point, Jacuzzi is in its own dome and the landscape is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brenagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.7 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: $111 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing