We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faulty advertising” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“faulty advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Info and pictures led us to believe we would have a view of the harbor. Not So. We had a view of a parking lot. Also a patio surrounded with a 4 ft high concrete wall, if you were to sit out there, you saw a concrete wall. We refused to stay there, and went to the "Crown Plaza Hotel". Four Points and AAA refused to refund our money. I would never stay at "Four Points".

Room Tip: Don't stay here if a view matters to you.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    153
    96
    38
    27
See reviews for
115
119
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

i recently stayed at the four points and let me tell you what this is the place to stay in Ventura!! the service was awesome and the rooms were so clean and well taken care of! i had the chance to meet our Room Atendant her name was auroa she was fantastic!! she was so welcoming and said goodmorning to us and made us feel like we were royalty!! thank you for the wonderful stay. also Anita at the bar makes a killer drink too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamkai31911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad we are able to take good care of you, the positive reinforcement goes a long way with staff and they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you again in future and again thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As loyal Starwood Preferred Guest members, we were rather disappointed at the standards this hotel is run by. It's not what we've come to expect from the brand over the years. If I were Sheraton/SPG, I'd audit this property.

Here's a quick recap of our stay:

Pros:

1. Good location: Proximity to the harbor is the single biggest reason one would want to stay here.

2. Clean: Effective housekeeping.

Cons:

1. "Harbor View Room" is actually more of a "Parking Lot View": Reception 'upgraded' us to a better room with a harbor view upon check-in. Don't let that impact your selection of a room, unless you'll settle for the view in the picture included with this review. There's a huge parking lot between the hotel and the harbor, so while 'harbor view' is not technically inaccurate, it does offer false perception.

2. Little Attention to Detail: When Reception 'upgraded' us to a better room (in their view, pun intended), we were given a room with two queen beds instead of what our original reservation was for (one king bed). Of course, we weren't notified of this and didn't know until we got to the room. We had to go back down and change our room.

3. Customer Service Staff: They were rather apathetic. We were a bit taken aback by the attitude. We'd politely ask a question (e.g. room service, late checkout time, nearby attractions, etc.) but get a rather disgruntled answer. And this was from multiple people in multiple places, too. (Reception, Room Service, etc.) We didn't feel welcome at all, and where we would have normally considered extending our stay given the purpose was to have a relaxing weekend, we didn't even entertain the thought in this case.

4. Awkward Room Furniture Placement: The only air conditioning unit in our room was blocked out by a couch! Please see pictures for evidence. In all our years of traveling, we have never seen anything like this. Just very poor planning, and of course, it's magnified during the summer.

5. Always Open Window in the Bathroom is Sadly Ideal for Eavesdropping: The window in the bathroom is rather old-school, like the hotel. That's not a bad thing by itself, except that in this case, you can VERY clearly hear someone talking in the walkway outside, and vice versa. See pictures for inner and outer views of the windows. Even shutting them all the way didn't resolve the issue.

Miscellaneous:

Dated Hotel Property: So they've upgraded furnishings and amenities in the room and such, but it's still quite a dated property. Not the biggest issue, but it's worth noting nonetheless.

Parking Lot Unsecured: There's a nightly charge for parking, which is not an issue. But despite the charge, anyone can get in and out of the parking lot as needed, at least until 1 a.m. Again, not the biggest issue, but worth noting.

Room Tip: Don't expect much of a view from a "Harbor View Room" (See pictures with this review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate you letting us know how your stay went as we constantly strive to better ourselves. Needless to say I was disappointed that your stay did not go better. I am very sorry you found our staff to be indifferent, this is as unacceptable to me as it is to you and I will definitely be looking in to who was on shift during your stay as we normally pride ourselves on our great customer service. The rooms as well are in the very beginning stages of being remodeled and we hope to have completed all of them before November of this year. If you consider staying with us again please let me know personally and I will make sure we get you in a great room.

-Rosemary Avila
CFDM ext. 1298
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently during our California vacation because we had accumulated enough Starwood Preferred Guest points to receive 2 free nights; unfortunately, we were very underwhelmed with our stay.

On the plus side, the hotel has free Wi-Fi, and has a great location not too far off the freeway and right on Ventura Harbor. Our room was also fairly spacious.

Because Four Points hotels are the Starwood "discount" hotels, we didn't expect much in terms of room decor. However, we also didn't expect that paint would be peeling off the walls in the bathroom and the lower part of the door rotted away from water damage. We didn't care that our room was on the first floor near the lobby, but the walls/door were incredibly thin - we could hear so much noise coming from the lobby, guests walking through the hallway, and employees punching into an electronic keypad that we tried cramming towels under the door to block the sound (unfortunately this didn't work, and we had difficulty falling asleep at night and were woken up early each morning).

Additionally, the hotel doesn't have a modern heating and cooling system - instead each room (or our room at least) has a windowbox air conditioner/heater. Again, this wouldn't have been a big deal except that the thing sounded like a Mack Truck was going up a 45 degree incline right outside our window (this also made it difficult to sleep). Finally, if the air conditioner/heater sounded like a Mack Truck, the fan in the bathroom sounded like a 747 preparing for takeoff. Because of this, I inadvertently woke my wife up each morning while trying to use the facilities.

Also, be aware that the hotel charges $10 per day to park; this is pretty ridiculous considering that parking is not at a premium in Ventura - it's not like the hotel is located in a major metropolitan area.

It wasn't all bad though - the hotel did give us 1 free 16 oz bottle of water for the 2 days we stayed there, and also left us a small bottle of Heinz ketchup in the couch (we didn't take advantage of the last "gift").

Ultimately, if we ever make it back to Ventura we will not stay here again, even if we had enough Star Points to get free nights. In fact, we probably won't bother staying exclusively at Starwood hotels while we're on vacation anymore - if this is what we get for all of our points, we'd rather just skip the brand loyalty and go with whatever hotels offer the best deals.

Room Tip: Choose the Holiday Inn next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7808a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you letting us know how your stay went as we constantly try to better ourselves. Needless to say I was disappointed with how your stay went and apologize that it did not go better. We are in the process of starting a complete remodel of all of our rooms as we too have noticed that our facilities are in great need of a little TLC and I apologize you found our rooms to be in disrepair. The air conditioning units, bathroom fans, fridges and all are going to be upgraded as part of this refurbishment. The first floor is very convenient for in and our access but it can be noisy, I am very sorry you found your room be this way and I hope if you stay with us again that you will notify the desk to put you on a quiet room on our third floor away any noises so you may have a more pleasant stay. Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
862 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the better Four Points we have stayed at:
- great location right on the harbor in Ventura
- large rooms, all facing the harbor
- excellent management; they care about their visitors
- spotlessly clean rooms
- dining room on site, but you can also walk over to the wharf area
- convenient on/off Highway 101
We'll be back! An excellent property.

Room Tip: All face the water, but ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly and personable staff! Rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a Catergory 2 hotel so it doesn't have all the finer amenities as the 4 or 5 hotels, i.e. plastic cups in bathroom to drink from (I prefer glass, what can I say!), built in soap, shampoo & conditioners in the shower/tub... Just there 2 nights and again, it was clean, close to the Harbor Village which was great fun strolling around looking with some great choices to dine at too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANEOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Four Points Ventura Harbor Resort is exceptional beyond words! The location on the Ventura Harbor is ideal: relaxing, idyllic and nearby to many local attractions. The ocean breezes and sunsets are magnificent! But the "location" is only in the top 2 or 3 of the best qualities of this hotel. #1 is the resort staff! They are friendly, welcoming, professional and always helpful. The front staff goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and answered all of my questions and requests in a sincerely helpful way. The rooms are extremely comfortable and most (all?) have a view of the harbor and/or ocean. My last stay was thoroughly memorable from check in to check out. I highly recommend this resort as it is a delightful respite and fabulous Starwood property in one of the prettiest parts of California!

Room Tip: higher floor (3rd) are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiKeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.5 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#6 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Address: 1050 Schooner Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing