We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok experience but would not stay here again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Ok experience but would not stay here again...”
Reviewed November 19, 2007

This is about what i would expect from a 3 star hotel, but as the title of my review states, i wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

Check in staff were friendly and because we are Starwood Prefered Guests, they did call our room to make sure everything was to our liking. Our view from the 3rd floor, unfortunately, was mostly parking lot with the marina/harbor in the background. The fact that the front door to the rooms is in an outdoor corridor makes it feel more like a motel, than a hotel.

We were on our way to a sporting event and decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant for a quick dinner before we left. The main seating area was closed due to a retirement party, so we had to eat in the bar/lounge area which really didn't have much atmosphere. I travel a lot and realize that most hotel food is overpriced, but it seemed that our bill of $57 for 2 margaritas, a cobb salad and a shrimp curry pasta, was a bit steep. (Food quality was just ok - the cobb salad was mostly iceburg, for example.)

We found the room to be clean and the decor/furnishings were very average and fine for a one night stay, but this is not a place i would want to spend much time in. I was also disappointed that the hot tub and pool are closed for the time being. It would have been nice to know this when we called to make the reservation the day before, as both of us were looking forward to a dip in the hot tub later that night and would have found another place to stay, had we known. (Funny, this same thing happened the last time we stayed at a Sheraton....)

This property really wasn't within walking distance of any of the other shops/restaurants in the area. We also noticed the state of the parking lot when we checked out - literally PILES of cigarette butts, soda and beer cans and empty bags of chips were scattered everywhere. It seemed that no one had checked on this area of the hotel in a loooong time!

Overall, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms but not enough to bring us back again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank nosacrificeatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    107
    42
    29
See reviews for
134
131
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura very recently. Based on the other reviews I was a bit skeptical if I should stay here but I took the chance and I am glad that I did.

I found that the lobby itself looks very classy which I found a nice surprise. The check-in lady was very, very friendly and helpful and the check in was extremely quick. My room was on the third floor and it was gigantic. I have stayed in many hotels but this is probably the biggest room that any hotel has provided for me. I am a Gold Starwood Preferred Guest but I don't believe my room was upgraded to a suite of any type but was just a standard room.

Typical hotel room, nothing extrodinary or anything too major to complain about. Everything seemed very clean except I believe that the carpet needs to be shampooed or changed. It is a brownish carpet so it is hard to tell exactly how dirty it is but I can tell from my bare feet. Also, at around 8-10 in the morning, there was a drilling sound coming from outside. I don't believe that it was the hotel doing it but from across the street but it was quite annoying. Nothing against the hotel though. The smell is awkward at times outside but just make sure to close the doors/windows to not have this problem. I believe there is a mushroom field or something in the vicinity.

I've had the best check-in and check-out experience at this hotel. Very fast and the staff is very helpful and polite. I needed to print out something and they had a computer in the lobby which was for use of the guests. They charge 15 cents per page but did not charge me anything saying that the first 5 pages are free.

Again, this is a wonderful hotel. I would definately stay here again. It will probably need a makeover soon but it is good as is. It is close to Santa Barbara and to the Camarillo Outlets which always has great deals.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

The hotel was designed by the Frank Lloyd Wright foundation and special architectural features are noticeable everywhere in the common areas, especially in the beautiful and spacious restaurant. Unfortunately the large complex was divided up in two hotels about two years ago, one of them now being a Holiday Inn Express. While the Four Points retained the original lobby and restaurant, the Holiday Inn now has some of the most extravagant rooms in terms of view and design. Four Points' website inaccurately still refers to these rooms as their own. What you now get at the Four Points are uniform rooms, spacious but not at all interesting in their design features. They are also close to the point when a renovation will be necessary. If you are looking forward to a nice view of the adjacent marina, insist on a room on the third floor. Even then you can hardly avoid noticing an unpleasant garbage dump below your balcony and lots of empty beer cans that obviously never get removed. If you're out of luck, one of the big trees may obstruct your view. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, beds very comfortable. At the time when we were there a high school reunion took place in the hotel and we were a little bit concerned about noise (this hotel has outside corridors). But we slept deeply without hearing anything of the ongoing event. While the hotel is not any more what it was before the split, we would come back without hesitation. By the way: Other guests pointed out a really bad smell that intrudes into the hotel from time to time. We noticed that odor too. It is hard to tolerate but unavoidable because it comes from fertilizing the adjacent mushroom fields. Keep your windows closed at all time!

  • Liked — Design of common areas
  • Disliked — Obstruction of view
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Room clean and spacious
Comes with a small empty fridge which is great if you are travelling with baby. Crib. Staff excellent. Restaurant on premises served delicious breakfast (they serve food all day we just went for breakfast only.) Dog friendly. Free internet in lobby. Obliged our late checkout.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancenet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

stayed last weekend at the Four Points - OK, but the carpet definitely needs to be cleaned (after walking on it barefoot your feet literally turn brownish-black) - close to harbor stuff to do, relatively quiet as well - paid around 500 bucks for three night stay taxes included - OK, but not great - staff very helpful..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — carpet needs cleaning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank podoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

If you just look for a night of comfortable sleep in a huge, clean and quiet room with nice harbor views and don't require the touristic infrastructure of Santa Barbara this hotel is a good choice as a stopover and excellent value for money. Also the big and relatively empty restaurant isn't bad at all. The few customers guarantee plenty attention.
The only odd thing was that (big) spa and swimming pool are separate so you have to walk a bit and use your door key to get from one to the other. Might be a bonus for those that prefer children not hopping in and out of the spa.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank schuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I often question why Sheraton make a distinction between Sheraton and “Four Points” by Sheraton. This hotel clearly explains why. It’s just not as nice! I was somewhat deceived by the hotel’s description that they were just blocks away from the beach. They ARE on the water, but the beach is a good mile away by car and not easy to get to by walking. The hotel actually overlooks the marina and the view is not unpleasant.

I found the bed and the room itself to be comfortable although rather dated in its overall style. There was a funny smell not only in the room, but also in the outside corridors too. I noticed that this smell was worse at night. It could be stagnant water from the Marina area, but upon noticing that guest rooms bathroom windows open out onto the corridor, it could also be smells of a different kind. Either way, it’s not particularly pleasant.

The hotel really could do with a refit. The carpet that runs along the outdoor corridors is in need of being replaced and this must also contribute the outdoor “odour”. Our bathroom was also in need of being refurbished with cold strobe lighting and some dried blood stains on the wall. Fortunately, I only noticed the latter AFTER my shower, but I would not wish to stay here again.

On weekends, the rate can rise to as much as $310 a night. This is extortionate and there is neither any value for money by paying for this, nor anything to do at all when you get there.

  • Liked — The room had a balcony
  • Disliked — It stunk.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesG_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.7 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Address: 1050 Schooner Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing