We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Ventura
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Glendale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“just ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

This hotel is fine. It's clean and the rooms are nicely appointed.
Cons:
It smells REALLY bad outside the hotel
Many of the non smoking rooms my family stayed in smelled a lot like smoke
Check in took FOREVER (25 minutes + a record for the longest check in process)
It's not particularly closet, although it is a very easy drive, to the cute downtown Ventura area which has most of the city's cutest shops and restaurants, and the best beach access.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glendale_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    127
    144
    70
    60
See reviews for
155
129
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed here midweek on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles via HW1. The hotel was quite conveniently located and we got a room facing the pool, so the noise from the road wasn't a problem. We didn't visit the pool because we arrived there quite late at night. In the room the plumbing was a bit noisy so we had to sleep with earplugs on and in addition the room had quite a strong chemical odour to it. Otherwise, the room was large and bath and beds were clean. We got this through Hotwire at a reasonable price but not much under what it would have been had we booked it on spot. The complimentary breakfast was all sugar and carbohydrates which is not much to our taste. The hotel is quite conveniently located for shopping at the Camarillo Premium Outlets (only a short drive) if that's on your itinerary. The free WiFi is also a plus at La Quinta.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaeltaja_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

Since 2001, we have stayed at this hotel several times. During the first years we found the hotel to be very good - clean and cheerful with good service, a pool and free breakfast - and we have spent good times there with our teenage boys. However, in recent years we have been disappointed.
I find I can accept many shortcomings in a hotel, except for the upkeep and cleanliness of the rooms. This year, I found some pieces of broken (or maybe chewed upon ?) plastic on the floor of our room and quite a lot of hair in a bunch on one of the walls - obviously there had been a pet in the room and the room had not been vacuumed, let alone been given a close look as to its cleanliness. As we had checked in rather late and the room was not very light, I only found this out in the morning and we were leaving anyway, so I didn't mention it to the front desk. The bathroom was showing signs of wear, and the pool area could have done with some cleaning too.
The hotel exterior has a new coat of paint, but in my view not the exterior of a hotel but its rooms should be given first priority.
We won't be back so soon, unless we learn that the rooms and bathrooms have been given a makeover.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

It was clean, smelled alright, service was less than alright, but as everything in our room was working and we had everything we needed, it didn't really matter. And being a La Quinta of course they allowed our cat, so that was the most important thing. If we are back in Ventura, yeah, we'd probably stay here again. It was good enough for the price.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank schmarla04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

This place is so-so. We stayed Aug. 23 for one night.
We asked for a non-smoking but when we arrived in our room it had a bad smell which could have come from the very old carpet. I called the fron desk to ask for 2 additional pillows and the front desk lady mumbled something and then hung up on me! Never saw the pillows.
The shower drain did not drain and standing in water did
not appeal to me. For the money we were disappointed but
are finding that most of the hotels in this area including
Santa Barbara are old and not up to date. I am surprised that
the major hotel chain's corporate offices let these properties
stay in these conditions!
If we need to stay in Ventura we will choose another location.

  • Liked — None
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNest26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Let me start with the good things - It's close to US-101, a cemetary, and there is a gas station next door.

OK, bad things, First I had to pay ten dollars more for a single king size bed instead of the two double beds.....Which was a mistake on their end...why would a person by themselves book two beds?

The room was decent size...but trying to hook up to the free wireless internet? Sorry MAC users...safari and mozilla are not supported....go Bill Gates.

There were ants in the bathroom...on the third floor.....

The soap that they give you will not make a lather at all....I think it was just a bar of hard gelatin.

The shower hot and cold water valves? They would free spin in BOTH directions...so shutting them completely off was a test for a MENSA member. Make sure you have the shower portion OFF while performing this act because you will be scalded by the hot water trying to turn this thing off.

The shower head height was about 5 feet tall, perfect for the gold medal gymnasts returning from Beijing.

Save your money and stay somewhere else......worst experience - EVER.

  • Liked — Got it on mastercard points
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredmotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

Hotel rooms were great and free breakfast where can you go wrong? Only down side was service. We stayed there 3 nights and on the first night had asked the person at the counter to address two items that needed to be serviced by maintenance in the room. On the final day of check out she asked if it had been addressed and I told her no. Lady did not show concern for the matter what so ever. That's it other plus its close to town and right off the freeway for easy travel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rick_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
4.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ventura

Property: La Quinta Inn Ventura
Address: 5818 Valentine Rd, Ventura, CA 93003-6638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ventura La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing