We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steer clear of this accommodation!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Ventura
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Steer clear of this accommodation!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The first room they gave us was already occupied by another guest! We literally walked in in somebody's room! When we went back to the reception desk, they gave us the key to another room... which was not cleaned yet (and that was around 6 pm when we were checking in! They finally managed to find us a room, but it was disgusting. There was hair in the sink, on the toilet and on the bed sheets. The carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for a year!!! There were ants in the bathroom (and who knows where else, the room is quite dark, maybe thank god to that because otherwise if there had been more disgusting things I would have rather slept in the car). Thank god we needed only a 1 night stay. We left as early as possible. This hotel is in a really bad shape and unclean. Not worth even a half of what they are asking!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    127
    145
    71
    60
See reviews for
155
130
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I wrote a one-star review of this hotel on Yelp in Sept 2013. I visit Ventura often and I need a hotel that accepts dogs (with no deposit) and with grassy areas. Microwave and fridge are also must haves. I decided to give this hotel another shot before looking for another place to stay. On my reservation, I specified that I needed a first-floor room as I have a 3-legged dog and they accommodated that with no problem. Parking was awesome this visit but that is something I know they can't control (first come first served type of thing). My room was no where near as filthy as the last visit, which was a huge relief! Though I was right by the ice and sodas machines and the pool area, my stay was very quiet! I'm glad I gave them a second chance and I will come back. Front desk staff, Alexis, Tyler and Marisa were very friendly and cheery.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank MissBowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for almost a week. Good location at Victoria Ave and Hwy 101. This is an older hotel and ranks average overall but within the La Quinta world it is probably closer to poor. Mattress was comfortable like all the La Quinta mattresses but the washroom let the facility down. For example: heavy scale build up behind sink taps, loose toilet seat, no stopper in tub but tub was old, could not redirect shower head spray using two hands, mirror was beyond its "best before date". The rest of the room was fine. Staff were wonderful: check-in friendly and accurate, never ran out of an item at breakfast, room cleaning was great - given what the person had to work with. I ran into another La Quinta like this in Santa Fe, NM. Two in over 50 nights staying at La Quinta is not that bad but I think La Quinta can do better.
Pet area was good and a person cleaned up what guests could not be bothered to pick up. Yes, there are those type of pet owners still alive.

Room Tip: Quite rooms looking onto the swimming pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachlandCalculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

All around great paved to stay. Quiet, clean, attentive staff, and complimentary breakfast is always been available around 5:15am-ish and later. Great for people who want to be on the road early or there on business ect ect I always enjoy staying when I come to work and stay here for weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

After the hectic Christmas rush, my wife and I needed to escape and regroup. The location in the Ventura/Oxnard area was perfect and the hotel staff were nothing but friendly and helpful. The desk staffwere very pleasant and helpful suggesting a great restaurant at the marina. Even though the hotel seemed fully booked it was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The thing that really helped with our decision was that fact that we could bring our dog. There were quite a few fellow travelers with dogs and the areas available for our dogs were stocked with potty bags and very well maintained.
My wife an I love to get away on short trips when we have time off together and we will be back for more "escapes".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank jrny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I'm writing this from our room. Stayed here December 30th 2013- January 1st 2014. Bed was comfortable, except both beds in the room had a huge dip in the middle (assuming from people sitting on the bed). The walls had some stains on them but wasn't anything too bad. There were a few ants in the shower and the shower fixtures definitely need an update. The sink was very slow draining. I usually stay at motel 6 on Johnson and this was much better. Was very quiet the whole night. Was very surprised that at midnight on new years eve I heard silence. The only problem we had was I had unplugged the lights by the bed to plug in my cell phone charger. This morning when I went to plug the lights back in the outlet popped and a few sparks hit the floor and my hand was covered in black/silver residue that was very hard to wash off. We will report this when we check out. Next time I decide to visit ventura I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

its RARE for me to find a comfy bed.This had one. There was a bum sleeping in a chaise lounge by the pool, a little disconcerting, but the room was decent. One biggie was stepping out of the shower to the floor, the floor is much further DOWN than one would think. Makes for an interesting landing. Would hurt someone with bad knees.
Have to go in elevator to outdoor walkway to room. Place is old, but it was clean and had the ONLY comfy bed for the whole 8 day trip.
No motel/hotel has a decent breakfast anymore it seems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
4.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ventura

Property: La Quinta Inn Ventura
Address: 5818 Valentine Rd, Ventura, CA 93003-6638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ventura La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing