We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to beautiful beaches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Ventura
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
A TripAdvisor Member
“Close to beautiful beaches.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Good: The bed was comfortable with nice linens, and, even though it is right next to the freeway, the room was quiet. Great value for a location so close to the beautiful beaches. Most other places I checked were about three times as much as this room was. The breakfast area was small and busy, but there was always helpful staff around restocking whatever ran out.
The Bad:
This property needs a serious upgrade to the plumbing! The first room that we were given had more than a leak in the shower. So much hot water was coming from the shower that the bathroom felt like a sauna and it couldn't be turned off. In the next room the lever between the tub and shower was so stripped most of the water continued to come out of the tub and not the shower head creating the ultimate low flow shower head, really, I couldn't rinse out the shampoo from my hair. The staff was very understanding and polite, but I just knew they had heard all about it many times before.
The room, even though the carpet appeared newer, had a doggie order, so much that I was thankful there was a window I could open. I have dogs and one was with me on this trip, and I could still smell it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    130
    148
    72
    62
See reviews for
159
134
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night during the Dallas Cowboys training camp to see my husband on his off day and our stay was really comfortable and satisfying.
The lady at the front desk was extremely helping as well as really sweet! The room was spacious enough go out one night stay and the king size bed was a great size. One con was that the room did have a little hint of a cigarette odor to where my husband had to ask for air freshener. Not that big of a deal, nothing that didn't get resolved. Overall the stay was nice and for just $100 a night, I couldn't have asked for anything more!
Thank you La Quinta Inn for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsDiamondduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
401 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A cheap motel with a nice pool. Room was clean, but small. The smallest queen size beds we have ever slept on. Breakfast was better than expected. You can bake your own waffles. Best surprise was free high speed wi-fi internet in the room.
The pool is nice and we enjoyed the hot tub.
Luckily, we only had to stay one night.

If your looking for a cheap motel, nothing fancy, this motel is OK. Otherwise, I would try to find something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just came back from a one night stay at this dump .filthy room halls and property . Room smelled, my pillow smelled like cigarettes workers looked like tweekers just stay away is all I can say and the breakfast forget about it unless you want to be poisoned .noisy too . Looks like they have a lot of full time live ins also lots of homeless wondering around in parking lot .toilet kept clogging shower wouldnot drain and it had spooge from the last person that used it .fridge was broken only thing that was good was the blackout curtians .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieatgood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Reception: very nice, responsive, and helpful. Breakfast: Cornflakes, fruitloops, raisin bran; 2 different muffin flavors; waffle batter and 2 waffle irons; plain bagels (trick toaster, push in as you push down); bread; yogurts; hard-boiled eggs. Also: bananas, apples, oranges. Spreads: PB, cream cheese, butter, and jellies.
Breakfast beverages: apple juice, milk, tea, Continental Blend- Rainforest Alliance Certified Coffee
-Coffee and tea are available 24hrs
-Proximity to businesses
It isn't a smokefree property. Butts are on the ground and smoke is around. Watch where your pets step.
The two double beds room we stayed in was a ground floor corner. I believe the facility is made of concrete lined with sheetrock so we didn't hear any outside noise. One screenless window shares the door wall. Bathroom was at the opposite end - no fan. Shower/tub fixed-mat was peeling. A paint-shaving from shower rod was on the floor(floor needs cleaning). The en suite floor, sink, and faucet need cleaning. Areas on doors and walls need cleaning. Full length mirror needs cleaning. Surfaces of the headboard, dresser, end tables, table, sink, and TV need cleaning. AC was located under the window, it worked fine - could use some cleaning. Sheers need cleaning. Carpet needs cleaning (I would not walk barefoot on it). The bed by the window needs a new mattress(I'm not obese but sunk in it as if I was and woke with achey back). It may have been a reclaimed mattress. Sink clogged, they fixed.
Didn't see fitness room nor restaurant. The location/outside smelled like sewage not the sea. It's impossible to rate the value/valuate.
Recommendation: if this is a pet room, replace carpet with alternative flooring that can be mopped daily. If it isn't then do so anyway. Utilize housekeeping checklist. Place has potential.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay in Ventura. The customer service was excellent but I must say the room and pool area are in need of some maintenance. Our carpet had sticky spots and the fan in the shower area didn't work. I had to travel with my little blind dog so I appreciate that they accept dogs. I would stay again but hope to see some improvements.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are on the bottom floor. For non-smokers, If you are assigned a 2nd floor room check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our Ventura La Quinta room view the freeway but we experienced no noise and slept soundly. Breakfast was better than the average hotel. I was impressed with La Quinta and will use them again in other cities we visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ventura

Property: La Quinta Inn Ventura
Address: 5818 Valentine Rd, Ventura, CA 93003-6638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ventura La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing