We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrbile place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Ventura
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrbile place to stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had two rooms and they were both horrible. We had to ask for towels, the vent in the bathroom had all kinds of dust and spiderwebs covering in the bathroom, the light fixtures look like they have never been cleaned, two of the light fixtures didn't work in my room, the carpet was coming apart when you walk in the bathroom and I almost stepped on a pin coming from the carpet, there were stains on the chair in my room and stains on the carpet. The bottom floor ice machine was broken, you have to go the second floor to get ice and cold soda. I bought soda from the machine on the first floor and it was warm. The ice machine on the 3rd floor was broken also. There was a horrible smell coming from where the maids keep their carts. The breakfast was okay but I noticed they were running out of a lot of stuff. They didn't keep the yogurt very cold. There is no where to walk your dog. It would have been nice if they had some kind of grass but mainly you had to walk your dog in the dirt. If you are there on a Monday morning, you will hear all the big rigs and trucks filling up at the gas station next door at 4:00 and 5:00 in the morning. The bed was actually comfortable. The shower/tub spout had water coming out at the same time and the water was backing up into the shower. There was a sewer smell from the tub and the sink in the bathroom. I think if they really gave this hotel a good cleaning and updated everything, it would be a great hotel because it is close to the freeway and about 15 minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    133
    149
    73
    65
See reviews for
164
135
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The only negative about entering the room was the air conditioning was on during a cool night. Cold at 65 deg in the room. Just had to turn the heat on to bring it down. The beds were comfortable. We missed the free breakfast. Last serving at 9am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Carpeting was tacky in places and the room felt like it needed a good cleaning.
Inadequate internet service - another hotel that claims to offer free wi-fi but doesn't, unless you happen to have a room very close to the router. TV service was poor - cable service failures have occurred at this hotel in the past, and there is no program guide (except the name of the network). I couldn't receive NLCS playoff games due to problems with the system.

Staff made an effort to improve the situation, and a second room near the lobby did have internet service, but the cable problem remained. The service rating was for internet and TV, the people were fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jerry2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For more than eight years, my husband and I have been staying at La Quinta across the country. We've always counted on their cleanliness. Not so at the Ventura location. The room reeked of an odor of dog excrement covered by a perfume smell, which I could only think was meant to cover the dog odor. The room itself was in terrible condition: carpet threadbare and dirty, walls, baseboards and corners of the bathroom and sink area filthy. Flies flying around inside the room. Mold on the ceiling above the bathtub. Then there was the bathtub itself: no flow restriction on the shower, drain was plugged, leading to an almost overflowing tub at the end of my five minute shower. Drain itself was rusted out and the tub bottom was discolored. It took about 10 minutes for the tub to drain. Also the toilet was not a low-flow model, and I know for a fact that the City of Ventura has required low flow toilets for more than 20 years.

Because of the terrible odor, I was unable to sleep well. I do not live in such dirty conditions at home and I expect that the hotel in which I stay to be kept up. Also the table and chairs were nicked and dented, which I would consider a lack of care on the part of management.

I hesitate to make any further reservations at your chain of hotels due to our horrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Staying at this hotel for just one night (thank God), I was actually quite shocked at the poor quality of this property. The hotel is dated and clearly has not been renovated in some time. The room I was in had stained carpets, had a very musty dirty smell and the bathroom/tub area was not very clean (tub caulking was worn and dirty). I have stayed at several La Quinta hotels in the past and I have never encountered a worn out dirty property like this one. I am considering contacting La Quinta's corporate folks and asking them why they have chosen not to renovate this property. It clearly is in desperate need of a full renovation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here frequently in the last two years when we visit our son who lives in Ventura, but it is our last time.

We love LQ's beds and sleep well, but this facility has become very dingy. The elevator is dirty and has graffiti. The bathroom floors are getting grungy. The hem was coming out of the curtain and needed to be washed. The overall appearance of the hotel and grounds is very dirty.

Also on this trip, they had not finished cleaning our room leaving cleaning rags on the bathroom floor and not replenishing the towels. We had to have them send someone to unplug the toilet while we left for the evening only to come back and have dirt on the bathroom floor.

The second day everything was cleaned and we had towels, but the third day housekeeping didn't even come to our room. The night clerk was very apologetic, brought clean towels and coffee for the morning and gave us a room credit. The a.m. clerk asked me if we left out our do not disturb sign making it our fault.

Yep, that is the last time we will be staying at that LQ.

Room Tip: If you stay ask for a top floor in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awebCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
645 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
3.8 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ventura

Property: La Quinta Inn Ventura
Address: 5818 Valentine Rd, Ventura, CA 93003-6638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ventura La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing