We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good price, great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant

Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 414 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good price, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here on St Patrick's Day, so the crowd was insane! Still, we had a very pleasant experience. The staff handled the crowd amazingly well. We had about an hour wait to get seated, but that's to be expected on St Patrick's Day. When we did get seated the server was attentive and the food was excellent! We had fish and chips (served with malt vinegar) and shepherd's pie (the mashed potatoes on top were full of butter, I'm sure). Both were great. We cleaned the plates!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alene_C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food, but getting stingy and cheap...not cool-won't be back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This wasn't my first time at Dargan's, and reason we why we went back, is because the food has always been really good here. HOWEVER, I was REALLY looking forward to ordering the Irish Breakfast for lunch (drove all the way up from LA) which was on their online menu as a lunch special for $8 (see screen shot pics) only to be told it was it was $13! That's more than 50% more than what was advertised. The waitress said, "Oh, the online menu must be wrong" and that was it. So instead of making a fuss as I was with a group, I just ordered the "Bangers and Mash" instead. Well, what a disappointment when I was served ONE skinny banger! That is indeed false advertising, but again, I didn't want to ruin our lunch by making a fuss, but I was definitely disappointed. But really, one little sausage a bit of mashed potato and beans for $8? I think they could afford to put 2 bangers on this plate! They've turned me off and I won't be back. (I'd give them 4 stars for the taste of food and 2 for their customer service, so that's why they scored 3 stars by me.) P.S. Just noticed the online menu shows "Banger and Mash"-I think someone needs to make sure the in-restaurant menu and online menus are the same.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccincalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wee bit of Eire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful Irish atmosphere and specialty food, along with traditional American fare. Close to downtown shopping and cinema. Good choice of beers. Reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoGinnyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our go to place for a casual, fun restaurant with good Irish pub food and beer. Service is very good. I especially enjoy a glass of Stella (I know, it's not Irish), spicy curry, corned beef and cabbage and Guinness French onion soup.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilove2travel805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best meal in town for a reasonable price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Absolutely great service with tasty specials. The dinner salad is delicious, as well as the steaks with either the wine reduction or the whiskey pepper sauce are winners! A flexible menu for appetizers with a full bar!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing