We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Always good food and good cutomer service. Used to be a favorite lunch sppot when my girlfriend and I were dating, so it'll always hold a special place.

Helpful?
Thank kieltysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    64
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak I've ever eaten.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Everything we ordered was fantastic. The food was fresh and expertly prepared, the waitstaff were amazing, and the restaurant has an authentic pub atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Pub!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I always feel comfortable in Dargans, Its not very fancy, but its no dive bar and I think that's what I find most appealing about the place. The location is in the Hub of downtown Ventura and the crowd is a melting pot. I have, literally, seen Hells Angels in there at the same time as men in suits and ladies in elegant evening attire, although that's probably just a Ventura thing.
Food is always consistent as is the service. I have always been happy with the food and occasionally thrilled. Prices are Fair.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiswos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent Food a bit noisy”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you're looking for a fun place to hang out and have drinks, chat with friends, this is the place. The food is decent and the drinks are good. Location is a bit unsafe, so be careful on your way to your car.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pestlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a good place to have a drink...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I like to stop in for a drink at the bar before heading out. The food is good and if you like Irish food, you will be a fan as they have traditional Shepherds Pie and Bangers and Mash. They have a shrimp dish served over mashed potatoes that is fabulous. It has a kick so beware, but it has such wonderful flavor.

Prices are pretty reasonable and the drinks are a great deal for premium liquor. They make them strong too and the staff is always friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing