We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$123
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$129
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ventura Beach Marriott(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Lodge Motel(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
85
138
50
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
138
50
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsventura harborgreat view of the harborcinnamon rollsbreakfast roomchannel islandsbalcony facingfloor roomyogurtisland packersfour points by sheratonquiet locationgreat roomlarge roomrestaurants and shopsminute drivehot breakfastcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 323 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This is a sweet little gem located right on the ventura harbor. Its very near to the shops and restaurants of the harbor but we drove the mile to it rather than walk. The room faced the harbor and I really enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the sailboat poles and water and the birds. For a water view (harbor not ocean) you definitely cannot beat the price. Also the free breakfast was a pleasant surprise and was much more than I expected. The room had a flat screen TV and was somewhat small but it was sweet and the balcony seemed very large. This is not a resort or luxury place and the front desk seems like an afterthought, its a place where you can relax on your deck and get some sea air and sun for cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelguru66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Holiday Inn is linked by a covered walkway to the Sheraton and both hotels share facilities such as pool and restaurant. We opted for a harbour view room which was very rewarding as we watched herons on the harbour in the evening from our balcony. The room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff were courious at check in and helpful and friendly throughout our stay. It is good base for whale watching and visiting the wineries. Convenient for walking out in the evening to the harbour restaurants. A very pleasant place to stay. Ventura town is worth a visit.
(Some previous reviews mentioned a strange smell, but we did not experience this.)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPoloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We were booked for two nights at the Holiday Inn Express, Ventura, based on other Trip Advisor member's recommendations. Trip Advisor really let us down on this one. The beds were firm (hard), and neither of us were able to sleep on our first night. I was also not able to take a shower as our shower was in a Jacuzzi tub with very high sides. I am short, and have bad knees, so it was impossible for me to climb into the tub. This would not be a good place for the disabled, or elderly. Our room was on the parking lot side, and we had a very high wall close to our sliding glass windows. Because of that high wall, there was very little natural light in the room. If there had been a fire, we would never have been able to scale that wall to escape. We did not stay a second night. We moved to the much more comfortable Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here last weekend on a whim to get away for a night. This hotel did not disappoint. We have stayed in 4 star hotels that weren't as clean as this and the staff working that evening when we checked in were delightful and so helpful. The location overlooking the harbor is so peaceful, I highly recommend coffee on your balcony in the morning. Restaurants and shops are just right there within walking distance if your energetic, or a 2min drive if not. For the value, this is a great little hotel, feels worlds away for a nights getaway, but would also be very comfortable for a longer stay as well. This hotel is not fancy, but it is clean, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judescash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Stayed here for one night to catch a concert in Ventura. The hotel is next to the harbor and seems to be a quiet area. It strangely has a large wall around the front and has a raised walk way connecting it to the next hotel. They share facilities. The hotel seemed a bit old. The lobby was small. The front desk offered plenty of info, including the free breakfast that we didn't make it to. The elevator didn't seem to work the first day, but did the second day. Of course, our room was on the second floor. It was surprising to walk upstairs, then end up outside to get to the room. The room probably had a great view of the harbor, but the sliding glass door lock was broken so we couldn't go out on the balcony. The room was quite large and had all the facilities - microwave, small frig, hair dryer. It's always nice when the shower has good hot water and it sure did. Unfortunately, the heater just made a lot of noise and no heat.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews