We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Whales and Wineries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Holiday Inn is linked by a covered walkway to the Sheraton and both hotels share facilities such as pool and restaurant. We opted for a harbour view room which was very rewarding as we watched herons on the harbour in the evening from our balcony. The room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff were courious at check in and helpful and friendly throughout our stay. It is good base for whale watching and visiting the wineries. Convenient for walking out in the evening to the harbour restaurants. A very pleasant place to stay. Ventura town is worth a visit.
(Some previous reviews mentioned a strange smell, but we did not experience this.)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPoloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

We were booked for two nights at the Holiday Inn Express, Ventura, based on other Trip Advisor member's recommendations. Trip Advisor really let us down on this one. The beds were firm (hard), and neither of us were able to sleep on our first night. I was also not able to take a shower as our shower was in a Jacuzzi tub with very high sides. I am short, and have bad knees, so it was impossible for me to climb into the tub. This would not be a good place for the disabled, or elderly. Our room was on the parking lot side, and we had a very high wall close to our sliding glass windows. Because of that high wall, there was very little natural light in the room. If there had been a fire, we would never have been able to scale that wall to escape. We did not stay a second night. We moved to the much more comfortable Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here last weekend on a whim to get away for a night. This hotel did not disappoint. We have stayed in 4 star hotels that weren't as clean as this and the staff working that evening when we checked in were delightful and so helpful. The location overlooking the harbor is so peaceful, I highly recommend coffee on your balcony in the morning. Restaurants and shops are just right there within walking distance if your energetic, or a 2min drive if not. For the value, this is a great little hotel, feels worlds away for a nights getaway, but would also be very comfortable for a longer stay as well. This hotel is not fancy, but it is clean, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judescash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Stayed here for one night to catch a concert in Ventura. The hotel is next to the harbor and seems to be a quiet area. It strangely has a large wall around the front and has a raised walk way connecting it to the next hotel. They share facilities. The hotel seemed a bit old. The lobby was small. The front desk offered plenty of info, including the free breakfast that we didn't make it to. The elevator didn't seem to work the first day, but did the second day. Of course, our room was on the second floor. It was surprising to walk upstairs, then end up outside to get to the room. The room probably had a great view of the harbor, but the sliding glass door lock was broken so we couldn't go out on the balcony. The room was quite large and had all the facilities - microwave, small frig, hair dryer. It's always nice when the shower has good hot water and it sure did. Unfortunately, the heater just made a lot of noise and no heat.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stopped just one night - a repeat visit for us. Excellent room, good quality and large. Good facilities at the harbour area. Ideal spot. Good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LPKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We drove from the Grand Canyon back to LA and then on up the coast and needed somewhere outside LA which was reasonable, comfortable and easy to find after an eight hour car journey.

Ventura is a nice spot on the coast with a buzzy marina, shops and restaurants. The HIE has been refurbished recently but unfortunately it suffers like all US motel/hotels built in the 70/80s with outside corridors and pebbles dashed concrete.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the bed large and comfy with good quality white linens. The rooms quiet, we got one with a balcony overlooking the marina (which I think they all have). Nice flat screen TV.

The funny smell was there (as per other reviews) but I think it comes from the sea, so would imagine most hotels suffer the fate. It was only noticable on the corridor outside the room and not in the room and we had the patio door open all night.

The only downside was the breakfast - we hadn't stayed in a HIE before but I would imagine breakfasts are similar. It was all processed rubbish - rubbery eggs with spray cheese, weird sausage patties, processed cinnamon rolls etc. But it was free so can't complain.

All in all a good choice for an overnight stop. Not sure I'd want to base myself here for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Booked a king suite and upon a 20:00 arrival we were advised that my room was the last king suite available and it has a broken toilet so i must stay in a different room. I had to ask to have my room rate changed to the lower rate, something that should have been automatic. Were given the corner room on the top floor, which was pretty good, but a bit worn. Bed was good. All of a sudden we could smell an absolutely horrible smell, we thought there was a broken sewer pipe or something. As a result we coul;d not use the large wrap around balcony as our stomachs could not take it, (also the balcony was a bit wonky).The next morning we discovered that at the back of the hotel across the road there are huge farms that use a very strong fertilser. The stench was the worst I have come across, apparently this is common at that time of year, so beware if travelling in January.

Breakfast was good, loved those cinnamon rolls, watch for the dining room nazi, she monitors every bit of food the guests take. Had this hotel been in a different location I would have rated it much better.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigLloydP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
166.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
168.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
166.9 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
166.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
167.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: $147 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing