We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The frozen, fake "omelet" they provided was just terrible. I doubt there was any real egg or cheese in it - texture and taste was awful. I expect more out of Holiday Inn. They've tacked on a $10/night parking fee since the last time I stayed here. I will look for a different hotel next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Joel W,
We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review of our property. We try to provide the most comfortable and convenient stay for our guests. I will discuss your comments with our staff.
We have had a parking fee for over a year now so that we can provide guests a secure parking area. Being so close to the beach areas, it became a necessity.
Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were surprised and pleased to have been given a suite complete with kitchenette. As we were in a downstairs room the patio was tiny and faced a blank wall but the room was big enough so the patio wasn't needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walk to the swimming pool next door wasn't a problem. Breakfast was the usual HIE, much better than in many other US chains. Would stay there again. $10 for parking seems a bit excessive.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear PSkids,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and that you appreciated Rae Ann and Carmen. We try to make sure our guests are welcome and comfortable. You are special to us. I will pass on your compliments. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at the Ventura Harbor is a great place to stay.
I come to Ventura for business and have stay at many hotels. The rooms are clean and have all the up grades. It is better then the Crown Plaza ( It is old and does not even have flat screen TV's)
When you check in, they greet you with smiles and are very helpful! Carmen and Ree-Ann make sure that your room is nice and accommodating to my needs. Kudo"s to them and the Hotel!

Room Tip: Nice to have a Harbor view
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank pskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to our property. I am glad you enjoyed the area and dining. It is a great harbor area and has so much to offer for adventure and relaxation. The sunset views can be amazing. We do have a parking fee. Beach parking is at a premium with so many areas of activity near by, we have to insure it is open and available to our guests only. Come and visit us again. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very comfortable room for our one night in Ventura. I chose this centre as it was further north of LA & on our way up the coast. Loved the view of the harbour, especially watching the sunset from the deck. Large bathroom was a plus also. We had a car & I must say I was surprised to have to pay for the parking - didn't even have to do that in downtown San Francisco. Pleasant place to stay. Had dinner at the Harbour restaurant which was an easy choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for telling us sbout your stay in Ventura at our property. We have a great beach town and we love our Harbor, So many people are surprised we have so many attractions and things to do, but as you said, it is a great stopping off point as well. I Hope you will visit us again. Our beach parking is at a premium and we do have to make sure our parking lot is for guests only. I am sorry you did not know we charged for parking. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pros: rooms are large, come with microwave and fridge, hot breakfast included daily, great views with balcony,shuttle pick up to LAX at this location, connects to Four Points but is a small walk, easy walk to harbor for shops and restaurants

Cons:No restaurant on site (have to walk next door or to harbor),rooms a little more humid than Four Points due to being directly on the harbor, no down pillows (even though they claim as down), beds average, old hallways and elevator, intermittent wifi access, staff not as friendly as Four Points Sheraton next door, weak a/c which smelled like mold, TV doesn't swivel and is too small for size of room, breakfast not great but edible if you're not too picky.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Cindy O O,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry it was not as pleasant as it should have been. We are in the process of plans to expand, upgrade and provide the services you suggest should be there. We are fortunate to be able to use the the pool, restaurant, tennis courts, Spa, and jacuzzi at Four Points until we have completed our full plans. Please come and stay with us and see the possibilities for fun when we have it all done. Happy traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

first you need to pay for parking, the place look like motel not like holiday inn. the smell of mold!!!miserly breakfest!!! breads tool is empty, no chocolate, no cheese!!! nothing to eat! even the view look like slopehouse. dont go there!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank noa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dera Noa1,
I am so sorry that your stay with us was unpleasant and that you were unhappy with the harborview Thank you for letting us know what you were disappointed in. We will review your comments with staff. I will pass on your suggestions on our breakfast area. We always hope our guests will be comfortable and enjoy their stay. I hope you have happy traveling and if you visit us again, please let me know.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night, had a harbor view 2nd floor room. Room was very spacious with a wrap-around patio. We walked over to the sister hotel, Sheraton Four Points, to use the pool. There is a 2nd floor walkway between the hotels, very convenient. Our room was very clean, very quiet, and all around great. I am a very light sleeper and always worry about noise from other rooms . . . none here.

Nice continental breakfast in the morning.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Aunteen,
Thank you for letting us know that you had a great stay with us. We love to share our great location and the possibilities around our property. I am happy you took advantage of the pool and had a quiet night. Happy Traveling. Come see us again.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura Harbor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
166.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
168.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
166.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.9 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
659 reviews
166.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
167.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: $147 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing