We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine

Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 416 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i am indian. so its hard to find food that is as good as grandmas cookin. but this was fabulous. took my friend here to try it for the first time and the food was spectactular! not only that, the service was top notch. Michael the manager was very attentive and showed the true meaning of the customer first. I live 2 hours away from here and i will make the drive to come back again. absolutely amazing experience. and if youre reading this michael, i told you id write the review!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank swiiiiindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    62
    9
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Service in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have eaten at the Taj a few times now and the service cannot be beat. The food is excellent, reasonably priced, and plentiful! For a wonderful dining experience where you are treated like a king and queen, go to the Taj Cafe!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JaMaAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Found this place by accidnet and glad we did. Absolutely delicios food. It was the aromatics wafting through their front door that drew us in and we feasted on Aloo Tikki, Shrimp Masala and the Chicken Tikki Masala combination. Exquisite layers of flavor in the sauces. This is at the top of our list when next we're in Ventura! Thank You for a lovely dining experience Taj Cafe!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank RubyRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite Indian restaurant in the LA area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The best Indian restaurant in Ventura county. We drive a half hour from the east end of the county for this restaurant. Excellent food - don't miss the warm tofu and mushroom salad. The more traditional Indian cuisine items are also mouth wateringly good - try their uttapam (I always get this item) and their Peshawari naan. We also love their korma. Hard not to like every item on the menu. Warm and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Even looking at the online menu with pictures and descriptions before we ordered, we had a hard time choosing from the extensive menu. The Taj Special gave us a taste of several tandoori meats and shrimp... juicy, flavorful and filling! The lamb naan is enough for a meal and well worth the price. The spicy tandoori tiger shrimp were cooked perfectly. We were treated to a dish of Chicken Masala, which was rich and creamy. My only regret is there was no room for one of the traditional desserts. Next time I'll save room for the Gajjar Halwa (carrot pudding with raisins and almonds!). We're going back for the lunch buffet to sample more of their dishes! The prices are reasonable, service is great, but most important: the food is authentic and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank rachel_deCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing