We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy,charming and romantic....”
Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at this charming bed and breakfast while visiting Ventura for my 40 year high school reunion. It was a unique and wonderful experience! The location to the pier and downtown Ventura was perfect; and our room -- Fleur de leis -- was adorable and had everything we needed. Nona and Richard were the perfect innkeepers. They took care of us without being imposing. When they learned about my husband's passion for rocks they referred us to Art City which was a great experience all in itself so we were grateful for their input. Everything was clean and the decor interesting and inviting. We felt like we had stepped back into a different era. Our room was perfect because we had access to the back door and could come and go easily. The breakfasts that Nona cooked were amazingly delicious and different than what I would cook at home. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Not all of the bedrooms have a bath in the room so you will want to be aware of that when making you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a difficult review for me to write. I have even considered not writing it, but I depend on others to give me honest evaluations and I can do no less. First, the whole place could be cleaner. Our room had hair on the bathroom floor and the toilet was not clean. The deck, which could be charming, was scattered with mostly dead plants and we had to clean the table and chairs before we could use them. At breakfast, several of the coffee cups were not clean and there were very dead flowers on the sideboard. With lots of nic-nacs it's hard to keep up with the dust. Also there is a lack of maintenance and finish in some of the details. The finials on our bed were held on with duct tape. Second, the food was only so-so. The evening snacks that were homemade were very good but the rest, like the microwaved breaded cheese sticks, were not. There was only red wine; no water, juice or any other beverage was offered. The first breakfast the table was nicely set. We had fruit, eggs w/cheese, bacon and oily hash-browns. OK, but I can do that at home. The next day was fruit with "Swedish" pancakes which were crepes w/strawberry jam; very sweet and not a complete meal. That day the table had extra dishes stacked on it in a pile so that neither we nor the other couple knew where to sit. At both meals only coffee and OJ were offered; we had to ask for hot water for tea and no fresh water was served. Nona was very friendly and charming and the space is fabulous. There are some beautiful antiques, and Richard's collection of bibles is wonderful. But it seems they have lost their passion for the place and, sadly, it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Wisteria Gardens room as our base of operations for exploring the nearby Channel Islands. Nona and Richard were welcoming and attentive from the moment we arrived. Our room, as well as the rest of the B&B, was wonderfully appointed with period Victorian pieces, the bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. Our room was the smallest and our bathroom was across the hall, but private. We did not mind this at all. In fact, we really enjoyed our bathroom's shower, which has 2 shower heads and is tiled in all natural rock! Truly a treat!

Nona's cooking is top of the line. Every evening at 5, there is a wine & snacks hour. Nona goes out of her way to create delicious appetizers and desserts for this hour - do not miss it! The earliest Nona serves a sit-down breakfast is 8:30, and for 2 of our mornings, we had to be at the Ventura Harbor earlier than that for check in to the Channel Islands ferry. She was wonderfully accommodating to our schedule and made frittatas and quiche for us the night before and stored them in a mini-fridge, which all guests have access to. We were able to warm them up in the microwave on top of the mini-fridge the next morning and leave when we needed to. Our last morning, we enjoyed a sit-down breakfast of Swedish pancakes with warm berry sauce. All of our breakfasts were delicious! And while we didn't have any dietary concerns, other guests did (vegetarian, vegan, etc), and Nona accommodated them all.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Ventura. It was only a 10 minute drive to the Ventura harbor and within walking distance to the many restaurants in the downtown area. It is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, the food is great, and Richard and Nona are superb hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first bed & breakfast ever. It was a wonderful experience but I didn't realize how wonderful until we stayed in another "highly rated" B & B.
The Victorian Rose is located in a former church located right on Main St in Ventura. The owners have done a fabulous job with the conversion and have filled the place with a truly eclectic collection of wonderful antiques and religious collectable items.
The main Hall is what they serve breakfast and have snacks at about 5:00 on each evening. It is the common area between the guest rooms.
The rooms also have very interesting furnishings showing the owners almost OCD collecting skills. Several have doors leading to a communal roof deck with tables and chairs where is great to sit out with coffee and enjoy the sea breezes.
Service is very personal and attentive. They even asked if we were vegetarian when we made the reservation.
The food is another area of this place's excellence. Nona lives to cook and it is reflected in the breakage offerings. One morning was chicken enchiritos & fruit. Another was some fabulous Swedish pancakes and another was a Brioche French Toast with homemade camel sauce. Fresh squeezed OJ and fruit was on the table each morning.
We will be coming back for another visit for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_Rose818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Richard and Nona were perfect hosts for our three night stay at the Victorian Rose B & B. We wanted a place that was close to the Channel Islands and this one fit the bill. Our room was clean the bed was comfortable and breakfast was great. Nona gave us great advice for dining and getting around Ventura. By the way, Ventura is a lovely town. A real jewel to be only an hour from LA.Thanks Nona for making us feel like family and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disney1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although Ventura may not be the first on most people's list of places to visit, the Victorian Rose should be. The unique decor and wonderful hospitality make it a place we will return to over and over. Our hosts were very flexible in taking special requests for breakfast and more than willing to share their adventure of renovating the old church during the afternoon get together in the parlor. Everything was made from scratch and they even made special cake for us as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Located at the top of Main Street, the quaint shops and restaurants of Ventura are just a short walk. We would suggest you rent a bicycle for your stay and cruise the beach promenade or take the bike trail into Ojai if you want a bigger challenge. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3dkmTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Victorian Rose added to our anniversary by having a special cake prepared for us upon arrival. Check in between 4:00 - 6:00 and you will have Wine & Cheese. We stayed in the Wisteria Room with a very comfortable Queen bed. Nona asks your likes and desires for breakfast and it was wonderful. Stay here and enjoy what Ventura has to offer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#19 of 23 in Ventura
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#10 of 23 in Ventura
394 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cliff House Inn on the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing