We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape”
Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although Ventura may not be the first on most people's list of places to visit, the Victorian Rose should be. The unique decor and wonderful hospitality make it a place we will return to over and over. Our hosts were very flexible in taking special requests for breakfast and more than willing to share their adventure of renovating the old church during the afternoon get together in the parlor. Everything was made from scratch and they even made special cake for us as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Located at the top of Main Street, the quaint shops and restaurants of Ventura are just a short walk. We would suggest you rent a bicycle for your stay and cruise the beach promenade or take the bike trail into Ojai if you want a bigger challenge. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3dkmTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Victorian Rose added to our anniversary by having a special cake prepared for us upon arrival. Check in between 4:00 - 6:00 and you will have Wine & Cheese. We stayed in the Wisteria Room with a very comfortable Queen bed. Nona asks your likes and desires for breakfast and it was wonderful. Stay here and enjoy what Ventura has to offer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nona and Richard have worked tirelessly to convert this 1880's church into a notable Bed and Breakfast. From my viewpoint, they have been successful. There are five rooms, each with it's own theme. The original church stained glass windows are either within the bedrooms, or the bathrooms. or the main areas. We stayed a King bed room, that was once part of the church social hall; A Queen bed room was on the other side. The original Pastor's study has been converted into a small bedroom, and the front upper and lower larger rooms originate from the choir loft and what could have been the narthex of the church. A main seating area is within the sanctuary, and the eating area is behind the original altar rail. Nona and Richard are avid collectors and their wares are on display throughout the structure. The food for the evening wine hour and for breakfast is exquisitely prepared with love by Nona. The couple are attentive to their guests and are eager to assist in making the entire experience in Ventura and the surrounding environs a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bath within the room, with the exception of the smallest room; the bath is a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelinspeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and the Victorian Rose certainly stands out. For starters, it is the only B&B I've ever stayed in that used to be a church. The owners have done a wonderful job of renovating certain rooms into guest rooms, while keeping the main sanctuary areas nice and open. That space is filled with an eclectic collection of antiques (think statues, votive light stands, the church's original pulpit), and old Bibles in many different languages. There is also a Torah scroll and vestments. The original stained-glass windows are in excellent shape, and you could find yourself easily spending a great deal of time walking around just to take it all in.

Our room (Victorian Rose) was beautifully decorated, too, and the bathroom had an original stained glass window. I appreciated the gas fire place, as it was chilly in January.

But I think will also forever stand out from this experience is the warmth of the owners, particularly Nona, the hostess. Nona is a very talented cook who serves decadent, homemade desserts with tea and wine every afternoon at 5 p.m. Nona also sits down and visits with her guests, making them feel very welcome and the visit quite anticipated. She's happy to talk about the property, make recommendations for dinner and places to see. Nona's also quite knowledgeable about Ventura history, and she has some great stories to tell.

So, don't miss the 5 p.m. tea — be sure to plan your arrival accordingly.

For breakfast, we were further spoiled with Nona's cooking. One morning we had scrambled eggs with twice-baked potatoes and broccoli in cheese sauce. The second, we had Swedish pancakes — which were amazing.

When we left, Nona also had a hug for each of us.

Room Tip: This is a historic structure, and there are some stairs involved. Not a lot, unless you choose "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWestcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a nice little B & B in Ventura. The only draw back is it's location, there are some pretty shady characters in the neighborhood. The B & B still feels safe. Breakfast was great and the hosts take food allergies into consideration!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13_Tink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

You can't help but feeling at home at Nona's & Richard's beautiful B&B, they are so caring and their B&B it's beautiful with so much history and architectural details and those breakfasts are amazing; they also have a wine, cheese and homemade desserts in the evenings that if you are not careful they will spoil your appetite; we stayed in the Victorian Rose room and it was just perfect with access to the patio and a private remodeled bathroom (tub & shower) with plently of storage space for all your toiletries. We were welcomed with a big hug and left with another big hug and much love and caring words. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend!
Don't forget the location (walking distance to downtown and amazing shops and restaurants); we took the Ventura Foods Tour and it was just the perfect location for this attraction.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here while attending a marriage refresher! We've stayed a various B&B's in CA and in New England. This is one of the west coast B&Bs that offers a full on custom breakfast.
Richard and Nona are gracious hosts, and Nona is quiet the baker!
They poured a lot of energy into renovating and redesigning this amazing structure. It is showing some wear; must be very costly to keep up with all the historical features of the building. One of my favorite spots is in the lobby, looking up into the steeple. The sanctuary is pretty amazing as well, especially at dawn and dusk.
We like to eat dinner around 5-6PM, so the evening reception is a bit late for us. But it was nice to hear the story about the renovation and to meet another couple on a weekend getaway.
We stayed in the Timeless Treasure room, downstairs, near the lobby and the radio. The room is spacious and has a window full of stained glass. The jetted tub was a nice touch as well. The decor is too "victorian" for our tastes, but in the context it makes sense.
I was not feeling too great our second night, so we called it a day early, getting into our room around 6-7 PM. The music from the radio was still playing rather loudly, and then a bar down on Main Street starting some loud band music till about 10 PM. Unfortunately the loud music made it hard to relax.
The mattress was very springy and squeaky....very, very squeaky. Had the feeling of what an old mattress must have been like!
If you like B&Bs and want to experience of staying in an old church building, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
10.2 mi away
Cliff House Inn on the Ocean
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing