We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing Architecture”
Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Intriguing Architecture”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here while attending a marriage refresher! We've stayed a various B&B's in CA and in New England. This is one of the west coast B&Bs that offers a full on custom breakfast.
Richard and Nona are gracious hosts, and Nona is quiet the baker!
They poured a lot of energy into renovating and redesigning this amazing structure. It is showing some wear; must be very costly to keep up with all the historical features of the building. One of my favorite spots is in the lobby, looking up into the steeple. The sanctuary is pretty amazing as well, especially at dawn and dusk.
We like to eat dinner around 5-6PM, so the evening reception is a bit late for us. But it was nice to hear the story about the renovation and to meet another couple on a weekend getaway.
We stayed in the Timeless Treasure room, downstairs, near the lobby and the radio. The room is spacious and has a window full of stained glass. The jetted tub was a nice touch as well. The decor is too "victorian" for our tastes, but in the context it makes sense.
I was not feeling too great our second night, so we called it a day early, getting into our room around 6-7 PM. The music from the radio was still playing rather loudly, and then a bar down on Main Street starting some loud band music till about 10 PM. Unfortunately the loud music made it hard to relax.
The mattress was very springy and squeaky....very, very squeaky. Had the feeling of what an old mattress must have been like!
If you like B&Bs and want to experience of staying in an old church building, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
47
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment I booked my stay at this unique B&B to the moment we left, Nona went above and beyond to accommodate us. If you are looking for a personal touch, you must stay here!

Our time at Victorian Rose was incredibly short. We arrived very late on a Tuesday night (10pm); the owners live next door to the B&B, so Nona came over to let us in. We had missed the evening reception, but there were some desserts left over, which Nona packed for us to take on our kayaking excursion the next day. (The apple cake was delicious!) We were departing the next morning at 8am, which meant we were going to miss the fabulous breakfast. Well, Nona would not let us leave without ensuring we were fed! She prepared two frittatas that evening, and put them in the fridge so we could warm them up in the morning. (Try getting that kind of service at a chain hotel.) I can't thank her enough for all the wonderful food.

The Inn is incredibly unique. We stayed in Timeless Treasures, which is one of the largest rooms and very private, being on the opposite side of the inn from most of the other rooms. The bed was large and comfortable, and there was a couch, fireplace and washroom with a shower/tub combo. We slept very well, and the shower pressure was excellent! The decor is very eclectic, with a definite "church" theme. Myself, I am a minimalist so I found it a little bit overwhelming, but they have certainly done a great job in creating an interesting space.

Overall, if you are looking for a unique place to stay with incredible hospitality, I can't say enough good things about Victorian Rose. You will leave with a smile on your face!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a honeymoon trip.

Pros:
- Very friendly owner. Made us a cake to welcome us.
- Excellent breakfast. Also has a nice wine and cake afternoon spread. You dine with other guests so be prepered for conversation. We liked it.
- Amazing charachter to the place. You can see that a lot of heart went into renovating and the design.
- We had the room with the seperate bathroom in the hall. We found it perfectly convinient and good value.
- Our room had access to a nice roof terrace (communal).

Cons:
- We didn't really have much to complain about. The only slightly less than perfect aspect was the cleanliness of the bathroom. We had used soap in our shower and some cobwebs over the door.

To sum it up, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Rose for two nights in the Victorian Rose room while celebrating my 30th birthday. It was a great experience for us. Nona and Richard are very warm and inviting. Nona made me a special birthday dessert. They provide wine and cheese and dessert nightly allowing the guests to socialize. The old church is amazing. It is such a different experience from anywhere else that you might stay. The breakfast was delicious. I would go back in a heartbeat. We went on the sea cave kayaking tour in the Channel Islands one day. The whole trip was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaofLaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 32 anniversary at this exquisite one of a kind B&B. Nona & Robert
are absolutely delightful hosts. Their story of renovating a 120 year old church and how they turned it into one of the most unique bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in was festinating. Breakfast was scrumptious and late afternoon wine and cheese hit the spot after a day of antique hunting in old downtown Ventura.

Room Tip: Upstairs Emperors room has it's own stain glass window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reemvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved everything: the unique building, the beautiful decoration, the Victorian Rose room with very comfortable bed, the quietness, the wonderful hosts, the excellent breakfast and afternoon snacks. What other reviewers didn't mention so often: we very much enjoyed the afternoon talks with Nona and Richard as well as fascinating other guests. And as the unique place seems to attract unique guests, there is always a good chance for interesting conversations.
Little downsides: not much space for our big suitcases in the room; only window that opened was the patio door; the lock on the patio door didn't work, we couldn't do more than pull it closed though the patio was shared with other rooms and accessable from the street...
Nevertheless we would definitely stay there again, and we very much hope that we really will make it again though it's pretty far from home in Germany...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinrintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Victorian Rose is such a unique and lovely B & B. I can't say enough good things about Nona and Richard. They really go all out to make certain everyone is comfortable and welcome. The decor is so unique and historical.
Both Nona and Richard are so very helpful to guide one to the best places to eat, and visit.

One of our favorite places to stay, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Landa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
634 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Property: Victorian Rose
Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing