We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Fun”
Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a honeymoon trip.

Pros:
- Very friendly owner. Made us a cake to welcome us.
- Excellent breakfast. Also has a nice wine and cake afternoon spread. You dine with other guests so be prepered for conversation. We liked it.
- Amazing charachter to the place. You can see that a lot of heart went into renovating and the design.
- We had the room with the seperate bathroom in the hall. We found it perfectly convinient and good value.
- Our room had access to a nice roof terrace (communal).

Cons:
- We didn't really have much to complain about. The only slightly less than perfect aspect was the cleanliness of the bathroom. We had used soap in our shower and some cobwebs over the door.

To sum it up, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Rose for two nights in the Victorian Rose room while celebrating my 30th birthday. It was a great experience for us. Nona and Richard are very warm and inviting. Nona made me a special birthday dessert. They provide wine and cheese and dessert nightly allowing the guests to socialize. The old church is amazing. It is such a different experience from anywhere else that you might stay. The breakfast was delicious. I would go back in a heartbeat. We went on the sea cave kayaking tour in the Channel Islands one day. The whole trip was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaofLaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 32 anniversary at this exquisite one of a kind B&B. Nona & Robert
are absolutely delightful hosts. Their story of renovating a 120 year old church and how they turned it into one of the most unique bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in was festinating. Breakfast was scrumptious and late afternoon wine and cheese hit the spot after a day of antique hunting in old downtown Ventura.

Room Tip: Upstairs Emperors room has it's own stain glass window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reemvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved everything: the unique building, the beautiful decoration, the Victorian Rose room with very comfortable bed, the quietness, the wonderful hosts, the excellent breakfast and afternoon snacks. What other reviewers didn't mention so often: we very much enjoyed the afternoon talks with Nona and Richard as well as fascinating other guests. And as the unique place seems to attract unique guests, there is always a good chance for interesting conversations.
Little downsides: not much space for our big suitcases in the room; only window that opened was the patio door; the lock on the patio door didn't work, we couldn't do more than pull it closed though the patio was shared with other rooms and accessable from the street...
Nevertheless we would definitely stay there again, and we very much hope that we really will make it again though it's pretty far from home in Germany...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinrintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Victorian Rose is such a unique and lovely B & B. I can't say enough good things about Nona and Richard. They really go all out to make certain everyone is comfortable and welcome. The decor is so unique and historical.
Both Nona and Richard are so very helpful to guide one to the best places to eat, and visit.

One of our favorite places to stay, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoCairns17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent hospitality, warmth and breakfast, great wine and cheese reception, convenient location to beach and downtown, bed in Wysteria room should be replaced- sinks 4 inches when you sit on it, no mattress topper, uncomfortable. Deck off of room a nice addition, plants on deck need some attention, decor a bit worn- could benefit from a deep cleaning, air circulation in main room absent. Incredible ambiance with sunlight filtering through stained glass windows, clean and unusual bathroom. Peaceful setting. Welcoming.

Room Tip: Choose room on NW corner of building. No streets neighbor this side of the building and it has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Looks like a fantastic place but... I made a reservation on their website that appeared to go through. I called them to verify and was told they were sold out and I didn't have a reservation. So if you are planning to stay there just call them to make your reservation until the web is updated.
I was disappointed but will try again some other time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank mmg714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
7.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#19 of 23 in Ventura
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing