We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The birds like it”

Andria's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Andria's Seafood Restaurant and Fish Market is located in the beautiful Ventura Harbor Village. Well known for our original Fish and Chips, homemade clam chowder, and casual atmosphere, we provide the freshest seafood available, both in the restaurant and in the seafood market to take home. We offer salmon, halibut, scallops, and fresh lobster, just to name a few. Enjoy the hustle and bustle inside, or the view of the Harbor and mountains from the patios. It's no wonder Andria's has been voted Ventura's "Best Seafood Restaurant" year after year.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The birds like it”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Andreas is an icon at the harbor and there is always a line to get in the door, place your order, pick up your food and seat yourself. It's priced higher than I am accustomed to at other places in town that serve good fish & chips or fish tacos. Probably because of its location at the harbor.

What I don't care for is the patio seating. Nice ambiance if you like eating outside near the harbor to view the boats in the marina, but there are trees on the patio that attract small birds. Not seagulls as you might expect. Small birds that are lured by scraps and cause their "droppings" to land on your table, chair, your food or YOU. Don't sit under a tree. Or near a tree. Or outside. We moved inside -- which has limited seating -- just to avoid being "dropped" on. Maybe a tarp or screen over the patio might help?

Their clam chowder is good. But if you are planning to visit the Ventura Harbor, there are a few other restaurants that serve chowder and seafood, Italian, Mexican or Greek cuisine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHPHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    183
    57
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Valencia ”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We drive from Valencia just to have lunch outside under the trees at the tables with our dogs. The fish and chips is so wonderful it's all we ever get. Top for family; order a basket and ask for two extra pieces of fish and the price will be less than two baskets and still plenty fries for 3 people!

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andria B, Owner at Andria's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Laura!

So happy to hear you make your way from Valencia to Andrias with your dogs!
And, we are happy to hear you love our fish and chips too!

Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Salty, Creamy, Crunchy Oysters”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is always crowded and with good reason The food is fresh, delicious and great value! At peak times, there is a line out the door. Decide what you want while you're waiting. The menu is hanging on the wall. My favorite are the fried oysters and fries. There is outdoor seating front and back, and plenty of indoor seating. You can also get your food to go, but why since this place is great for people watching. You'll have a few minutes wait while your order is being prepared so now's the time to line up your cups of sauces...tartar, cocktail, ketchup, vinegar, and lemon wedges. The portions are big enough to share, but why not trade for a taste of something else (like your partner's scallops) instead and keep most these succulent bites for yourself. I can best describe them as salty and creamy with a crunchy coat. Eating them requires concentration and a little ritual...dip, sprinkle, chew, admire the view, repeat many times. Real in-the-moment eating. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andria B, Owner at Andria's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello motile!

Love love love your review!
"I can best describe them as salty and creamy with a crunchy coat. Eating them requires concentration and a little ritual...dip, sprinkle, chew, admire the view, repeat many times. Real in-the-moment eating."

Doesn't get better than this!
Thank you!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Fish”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is fresh and great taste. The atmosphere inside not so hot, but outside patios are great.
The staff is very friendly and helpful to make suggestions. We go there quite often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamaetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andria B, Owner at Andria's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Pam,
Thank for the nice review. We are almost finished with our new patio! YOU'll have to come and check it out!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sticky Table Tops”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love Andria's Seafood. Who can find fault with fresh caught fish??? It isn't the food that's bad, it's the tabletops. They are always sticky. You cannot put your elbows down. Who wants to eat on sticky oilcloth? Not me. Get your food to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andria B, Owner at Andria's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Marilyn,

I am so sorry to hear you had sticky table cloth. I am passing this info onto the manager Randy! Thank you for sharing this with us! We will do our best to make sure this does not happen again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andria's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andria's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing