We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heat Stroke”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
1 review
“Heat Stroke”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel was very nice with one exception, the air conditioner wasnt working properly and we where miserable all nite long, didnt get a good nite sleep because of the heat in our room. Told the desk and they just told us the would see that it was fixed for the next guests, what about us, we paid full price for something we didnt enjoy or get a good nite sleep, WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH YOUR FIRM?????

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwd6h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you very much for your words on your experience at our hotel. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a quiet, restful atmosphere. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we created with our maintenance. It is our goal to provide great, timely service to all our guests, and we are disappointed that we did not perform our job as we should have. It is our commitment to ensure that every guest is satisfied and that every situation is rectified. We would like to invite you to give us a try again on your next trip to Ventura so we can have a chance to make it up to you by providing you with the high standards of service which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    420
    136
    39
    19
See reviews for
366
371
78
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Having read other reviews of this Comfort Inn, it looked like an okay place to spend the night. The price was right and the location suited our needs. It surprised me to find the experience better than expected. I asked for a quiet room and though we were right next to the freeway, we slept soundly. Secondly, we were easily able to take a satisfyingly long walk on the beach because the hotel is less than half mile away from wonderful beach frontage. Also, the city of Ventura has good restaurants and a nice wine bar less than a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It isn't luxurious but doesn't need to be. It is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests. Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Ventura Beach your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andreas
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We enjoyed our room, but most of all, the people at the front desk. They gave us good directions to local restaurants, were friendly to our small children, and always had a smile and a kind word.
They truly made the Comfort Inn experience a great pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishon-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that our staff treated you with warm hospitality. We take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Ventura Beach vacation a pleasant experience. Please come visit us again soon. We will be delighted to be your gracious hosts again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The Comfort Inn is relatively new with nice rooms and a moderate price. The breakfast at Denny's is close and better than most chain's in-house buffet. Be prepared for bearable traffic noise from the street or highway. A connecting door to the adjacent room proved to be problematic as four loud girls could be heard clearly until after midnight. If there is a room without a window on a street and without a door, request it. This is a great location for visiting the Channel Islands.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share about your stay. I'd also like to thank you for posting a couple of pictures of how our rooms look. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities, and that they were a great value for you. Being in a beach area, we cater to a lot of families on a daily basis and that does create a level of noise at certain times of the day. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a quiet, restful atmosphere. Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Ventura Beach your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I chose this hotel based on the recommendations on Tripadvisor, and thought it (mostly) lived up to expectations. The room was clean and comfortable, a good size for us - and our shopping!! - and the staff were extremely helpful. The loan of a corkscrew was much appreciated! :-)

The only downside was ongoing problems with the wireless internet; it seemed to be down pretty much most of the 3 days/2 nights we were there. This gave us a problem trying to check in for an international flight, but the receptionist gave us access to her PC so that we could check in.

The manager fixed our room phone within seconds and due to the problems with the internet (and user error with the aircon) did not charge us for our late checkout.

Overall I would say this was a good hotel with an excellent manager and very obliging staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you for your kind response. It's great to hear that we met your expectations and helped to make your stay enjoyable. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. I'd like to apologize for problems with the internet during your stay. It sounds as though everything was able to come together and I hope your trip was not affected in a negative manner. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Ventura a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I picked this location for its proximity to Island Packers, which provides transport to the Channel Islands. The hotel was a 5-10 minute drive away. My room faced East Harbor Road and I could hear the traffic from my room. The alternative side of the hotel was probably not much better since it backs up to Highway 101. The hotel room itself was clean and spacious. The coupons provided for breakfast at the Denny's across the street provided a nice hot breakfast each morning. The staff was very courteous. The hotel is a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erichL7530PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for taking time from your schedule to let us know how your trip went. Our staff and management take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Ventura Beach vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. I'm glad our arrangment with Island Packers worked out well for you. It's a very convenient packet that we have put together for trips to the Channel Islands. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Had a great two night stay in the 2 bedroom suite. It was a fantastic room for the price. Would have payed much more at other hotels for smaller room. The suite had a spacious separate living room with fireplace, sofa and chair, refrigerator, microwave, and TV. The bedrooms with queen size beds were comfortable and away from adjacent hotel rooms so were very private and quiet. Liked the free parking and WiFi in the room. The free breakfast vouchers to Denny's was okay since the restaurant was within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is pretty basic and does not have a pool, jacuzzi or fitness center. We didn't miss these things since we were busy with activities such as kayaking and hiking at Channel Islands, and we only wanted to relax in our room when we got back. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Ventura.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 544lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response and let us know how we are doing. It's nice to hear that you found our suites to be so accomodating. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Ventura a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing