We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accommodations”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic Accommodations”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just basic accommodations, furnishings/room tired but clean, typical of what to expect for a highway side facility, it was quiet though due to dual pane windows. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Did not expect much considering the cost compared to other nicer accommodations in the nearby area. When asked by the front desk if I had any comments about my stay, I suggested that their room pricing should be lower. Ok for a 1 or 2 night stay while passing through Ventura or on the way to Santa Barbara. Definitely cheaper than staying in Santa Barbara which was only a 30 minute drive from Ventura. Downtown Ventura had some nice restaurants and bars also with reasonable pricing and a ok nightlife.

Room Tip: Stay above first floor away from the In & Out Burger side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank s2013m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear s2013m,

Thank you for taking the personal time to review our facilities. We appreciate your candid comments regarding various aspects of our operation. We hope you and other readers will be delighted to find that our property is currently in the process of an entire in-room renovation (though we have halted for the months of July and August for our patron's peace of mind) which includes a whole new color scheme, updated lighting, bedding, and furniture to name a few of the changes. It is our sincere desire that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with our own brand of hospitality and that you will notice a favorable difference. Please feel free to contact our facilities directly with any future queries or comments.
Warm Regards,
Comfort Inn Ventura Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    420
    136
    39
    19
See reviews for
366
371
78
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. The clerk who checked us in was amazing. She really went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied with everything. She even called us in our room to make sure we were happy. The road is a little noisy if the window is open but we needed the air conditioner on so the window was closed. It was my first stay at a Comfort Inn and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mombo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear mombo1,

We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the very best customer service, and we are honored to know that we met and exceeded your expectations. We are glad that you found the room comfortable as we have recently renovated many of our rooms. Part of our in-room upgrades, have included sound proof windows to eliminate the outside noises. We also make sure our air conditioners are in outstanding working condition, especially in the summer months to ensure all of our guests are quite comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Comfort Inn Ventura Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We needed a place just for one night in Ventura & after seeing that this was #1 on trip advisor, we reserved a place here. We were really taken aback by the location when we pulled up. It's literally on a plot in the middle of all those things mentioned in the title. However, we were not kept awake by noise at night. Our room was basic but functional and clean. The morning desk attendant was very polite, very efficient; very articulate, kind of old school and someone you'd expect to find as a concierge perhaps at a much more upscale establishment. Comfort Inn is lucky to have her!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewindatourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear thewindatourfeet,

We are very pleased to have received your generous feedback regarding your most recent stay. We apologize for falling shy of a perfect mark as this is something we truly strive for with each and every single guest. While as we're sure you're aware there is not much that we can do about our location, we are satisfied to see that you were able to find value in our clean and well appointed guest rooms with sound proof windows and light proof drapery. Best of all that you had a wonderful interaction with one of our affable and dedicated desk clerks as we view our staff's training and development with very high regard. We hope you will pay us another visit real soon. Happy travels!
Kindest Regards,
Comfort Inn Ventura Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san dimas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Only one entrance to this OUTDATED (smelly) hotel. Carpet old and dirty was well as room. Elevator is scary. You have to go to Dennys down the street for your free breakfast. Based on my experience ChoiceHotels' customer service, it's the worst in the industry. Yes, they have that offer where if you stay 2 nights you get a $50 gift card but they will fight you tooth and nail if they mess up on your points. It took me (literally) MONTHS to get it settled last time they had a promotion. Who the heck has time for that?!? I used this hotel as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Rose H,

We wish to take the brief opportunity to express our gratitude for your time in creating a review for our establishment. We deeply regret that it is not a more favorable review as customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to our whole staff. We are happy to report that our facilities have undergone an entire in-room renovation for about 75% of our property and as most of our patrons have noticed this has greatly added to our value. Even though we give the same care and attention to detail to our not yet renovated rooms we apologize if these were not up to your expectations. The singular exit and entrance to our hotel is employed to increase the security of our valued patrons as often times unmonitored entrances can lead to undesired results. We also wish to extend an apology on behalf of our parent brand Choice Hotels International for making you feel less than absolutely valued with regards to the promotion, regrettably this is beyond our control. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our entire staff in efforts to create a more positive and memorable experience for future patrons. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you should you ever be in Ventura once again. Please feel free to contact us directly at the property if we may be of any further assistance to you.
Kindly,
Comfort Inn Ventura Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed there so I could walk to beach and it is three blocks away. Everything was fine except breakfast is at Denny's and I did not have time to use free voucher. Parking is limited but I found a spot. Right next to In and Out Burgers which is where overflow parking is. Nothing memorable which is usually good for needing a good night's rest. I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mneilcihsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mneilcihsos,

We thank you for your time in writing a review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that you were able to utilize our convenient location to access our beautiful coastline! We find it unfortunate that you were unable to utilize our breakfast option especially now that it's been updated to include a new option of 4 items on the Dennys menu that are also complimentary. Although it is unfortunate that our parking area is limited we do provide our guests with a comfortable room, great customer service and a plethora of amenities at no additional cost, that is considerably better than you can find elsewhere. We are thrilled to know that you found your night comfortable and had a great night's rest. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to creating a memorable experience for you on your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Comfort Inn Ventura Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The customer service was great. Very nice and friendly. As we returned back late in the evening, noticed that another guest left the back of their vehicle open. I informed the desk clerk and he took care of the matter right away. I like the fact that you enter the and have to pass the front desk. Make you feel that the place is secure. Yes no on site morning breakfast but Denny's is right across the street that you use the voucher for 5 bucks! Easy check out. I did need a receipt but the clerk new who I was with out asking. Only complaint I have is that even the room was renovated, the room smelled bad, pickles to me and old wet sock to everyone else and if you opened the windows you can hear the traffic from the freeway. I am hopeful that this will be taken care of soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chich68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Chich68,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive review of our establishment during your most recent visit. As noticed and noted in your review, our staff works diligently to ensure that our guests feel secure and understand that we are truly here to serve. We're are elated to hear that you found our breakfast arrangements with the local Denny's as an added value and that our morning attendant like our evening attendant was able to demonstrate an above average level of personalized customer service! This is truly the essence and everyday goal of our establishment. Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the awkward odor noticed in your room. Rest assured that the matter has been addressed as we greatly value and depend on our patron's opinions. We hope that next time you're in Ventura we will be presented with the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had family in town for the week of the Fourth of July holiday. We were able to get a two bedroom room suite with living room and dining area. All three rooms had an air conditioner unit which was super nice. Breakfast vouchers were given each day to eat at Denny's across the street. The ONLY down fall which didn’t bother our visitors (but would have bothered me) was that there was only one TV in the living room. All in all this was the best place in Ventura for our family and would recommend for anyone. The amenities on the website speaks for itself:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Jamaso40,

We are glad that you and your family spent the 4th of July with us, and that we were able to accommodate you as well as your family. We do everything possible to ensure all of our guests have a remarkable stay, even to go as far as provide each room with an air-conditioner and provide a freshly made breakfast for every guest at no additional charge. We were absolutely thrilled to know that you had such a great experience with us. We thank you for staying with us as will as providing such an outstanding review of our property. Your suggestions and comments will be shared with our entire staff, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
The Comfort Inn Ventura Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing