We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Right for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
West Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just Right for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My family stayed at the Comfort Inn as our home base for a few days of visiting Ventura and Santa Barbara and it was just right for the price. The room was small but clean and comfortable. When we checked in, I was horrified to find that the front door of our room was right across from the ice machine and the laundry facility and that our window looked out onto the In-N-Out Burger parking lot and front entrance. Comfort Inn must have taken pains to soundproof because amazingly I never heard any noise from the highway, the In-N-Out or the laundry. The staff was kind and I had no delay getting extra towels or directions to Santa Barbara Zoo when asked. The vouchers to Denny's are a big plus, one can order FOUR items per person from a list that includes eggs, hash browns, oatmeal, toast, fruit, bacon, sausage, pancakes, juice, etc. If you still insist on ordering off the menu instead, the voucher can be used as a $5.00 credit. The hotel isn't a place you can really hang around- there isn't anything there really, but as a launching pad to other attractions in the area, it's one of the most affordable options, particularly for families.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for such kind words regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Ventura. Our staff was glad to hear you experienced a silent night! Although it involves more pleasure than pain, as you mentioned, we do take extra measures to ensure that our guests do not incur noisy interruptions at night. All of our rooms are equipped with double pane windows which are incredibly efficient at blocking outside sound. It is also important to each of our staff members that we are readily able to provide our guests with services such as accurate directions or local information. We are glad that you were able to utilize our knowledge to the benefit of your plans. We hope to see at the Comfort Inn Ventura again soon!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    399
    132
    37
    18
See reviews for
340
362
75
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Tried to make last minute reservations in Santa Barbara and found that everything was booked so we ended up here. The room was quiet, we had convenient access to Ventura and Santa Barbara, and they gave us a voucher for a great breakfast at Denny's. My only complaint is that the bed was hard. Good price for that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Lucky063,
Thank You for the review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide the accommodations you were unable to find elsewhere. As you mentioned, we are in very close proximity to Santa Barbara, which makes Comfort Inn Ventura a great place to stay to access various points along the coastline this summer. We apologize for the firmness of our bed in your room. Our Serta pillow top mattresses are usually a great point of pride, but if this is ever the case in the future we would be more than happy to provide you with extra comforters, sheets, or even pillows to make your stay more pleasant. We would like to invite you back to our hotel the next time you are in our region as we would be honored to be your hosts.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We wanted a reasonably-priced place to stay on the nights before and after our trip to the Channel Islands. This hotel met our goals. The staff was friendly. The room was a bit small, but clean. The vouchers for breakfast at Denny's were a nice alternative to the typical free continental breakfast. There is road noise from the highway, but it didn't interfere with our ability to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB_Traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear KB_Traveler_12,
Thank you for very much for taking the time to share about your recent visit to the Comfort Inn Ventura. We are so happy to hear that we were able to provide the accommodations you desired while experiencing the beautiful Channel Islands. Thank you for noting the unique breakfast arrangements we provide our guests. We are proud to offer breakfast at Denny’s because it provides each of our guests a fresh and hot restaurant meal. We would be honored to be your hosts again the next time you are visiting Ventura!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The location is excellent and it has very helpful, friendly staff and very good service. This time, it seemed that the room cleaning service was not as good as usual. Upon arrival the closet door in one of the bedrooms was stuck. Upon further investigation an empty water bottle was found wedged between night table and closet door- which seems to indicate that a thorough vacuuming was not done. Also 2 requests were left for sheets to be changed. the first time sheets were changed but not pillow cases. The second time nothing was changed until after this was registered with front desk. However prompt attention to this matter was then given. The bathroom area seemed to be cleaned properly. I would still return there because I felt that the concerns were addressed and because this has not been typical of our past experiences with room cleaning. Hopefully house keeping staff will be prompted to ensure that a thorough job is always done as has been in the past as we really like going to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear cmd5960,
Thank You for your kind words. Our front desk staff appreciates your praise and was pleased that you felt satisfied when they were able to quickly resolve issues brought to our attention. It of the utmost importance to each of our staff members that all of our guests receive attentive service to ensure that you feel comfortable and welcomed. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent visit. As you noted, this is not a regular occurrence and we assure you the problem will not arise a second time. We look forward to your continued visits and are anxious to provide you with the same great service you are accustomed to!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Although I can agree with some of the other reviews with certain details of less than perfect hotel properties, I found that my stay was much enlightened by the check in clerk (Leigh), who went out of her way to help us in our many questions of the area, eating establisments, and other travel questions, not to mention her extervert attitude and friendly appearance. I could only think that Leigh will someday be a manager. The hotel rooms, in our opion, were very nice (for the price) and the morning breakfast was at a nearby restaurant (many choices). During our trip of 12 days we stayed mainly at choice hotels (for promotion points), and this was our most pleasant nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyoed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Wyoed1,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We here at the Comfort Inn take great pride in our work and love to hear the positive responses to our exceptional staff! Each of us takes extra care in knowing our great city so that we may better assist our guests and make their Ventura experience an excellent one. Your praise is exactly why we enjoy our jobs so much, guest satisfaction is paramount to all of us! We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed our unique breakfast accommodations. Our arrangement with Denny’s is definitely a plus and the vouchers we provide offer numerous choices so that every guest can start their morning with a hot, full meal. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your vacation, we’re happy to know that your experience was a good one and we hope to see you if you ever find yourself in Ventura again!

Kindly,
Leigh and the rest of the Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is located close to the 101 highway but the noise from the road is not noticed. The room are nice and clean and the staff is very very helpful. In general the hotel is quiet. In one of the evenings the neighboring room were operating their TV loudly. When I called the front desk They took care of it immediately. I think it is a good place to stay of you are not seeking for amenities such as a swimming pool or direct access to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear erezn,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay here at the Comfort Inn. Our staff is happy to hear that we could accommodate you during your stay! We do our best to ensure the satisfaction of each and every one of our guests so that every stay with us is a fantastic one. Thank you for noting our sound-proof windows, we're happy they were successful in blocking out any unwanted noise from the adjacent freeway. Although we don't have a swimming pool on-site, we're a short walking distance from the beach and only a few miles from the downtown area and the Ventura Harbor Village. We hope you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city and should you decide to come back, we would be delighted to have you! We know you have a lot of choices when travelling to Ventura and we'd like to personally thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Ventura Beach!

Kindly,

The entire Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bee, Nebraska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful, friendly, and professional. Hotel is located off the freeway but we did not hear highway noise as we expected. Great location, close to beach, food, and shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Kay C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We greatly value feedback from each of our guests. We strive to exceed your expectations and are delighted to hear that our staff, both housekeeping and at the front desk, were able to do so! We're happy to know that you appreciated our sound-proof windows; they completely reduce the noise from any surrounding traffic. We're also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. Being close to the beach as well as many other attractions in Ventura is an accommodation that we are proud to offer our guests. The staff here at the Comfort Inn looks forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ventura!

Kindly,

The entire Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing