We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for an Overnight Stay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for an Overnight Stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I were house-hunting in the area. I didn't feel like making the drive back home to Pomona on a Saturday night, given the high probability of bumper-to-bumper traffic which can make the otherwise 2 hour drive a 3+ hour drive. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet even with the freeway right outside the building. The flat screen was a Samsung HDTV with a great picture. Plus, we got breakfast vouchers for the Denny's across the street. Overall, this was a good value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Joe G,
Thank You for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Comfort Inn Ventura. Our staff was glad that were able to provide you and your wife with comfortable accommodations as opposed to a long night in the car. Thank you for making a note of the quality of our rooms. Each member of our team operates at their full potential to ensure that our rooms are spotless and the service you receive is unbeatable. We hope we can be your friendly host again in the future.

Thank You,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    402
    134
    37
    18
See reviews for
342
364
77
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yamhill, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel has the feel of a medium-sized European business hotel located near a business district - and that's all good. Most everything is sized to a Continental versus an American standard. Top marks for the staff - I have rarely encountered a staff so consistently attentive, polite and helpful. Management has obviously invested time and effort in staff training and that is admirable. Lobby is clean, nicely decorated and well appointed. Rooms - likewise. Free wireless greatly appreciated, as is free parking. The well-documented Denny's breakfast (either a selection of four items for free, or $5 off any menu selection) is an excellent value. If you have never had a burger at In-N-Out this is your big chance. Comfort should get extra credit for locating next to this California icon. (Check out the "not-so-secret" tab of the In-N-Out website for menu tips.) Beach is a short 10 minute walk; Ventura Pier a short two hike hike. Only drawback is that, except for the "smoking bench", there is no outside seating/lounging area whatsoever on hotel property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORGinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear ORGinH,
Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff appreciates your recognition of the great service we strive to provide. Each of our team members has made it a personal goal to see that every guest is overly satisfied with their accommodations. It is rewarding to see our travelers enjoying our facilities and the surrounding venues in Ventura. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of a hot breakfast at Denny’s. As you noted, that is one of the many values our hotel provides in addition to free parking and free wireless internet. We look forward to providing your accommodations the next time you are in Ventura!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I have two almost fully grown teenage boys. Just as we out grew visiting quarters with my husbands relatives in Ventura we also outgrew two queen bed hotel rooms. We need a suite now where we stay but didn't want to pay handsomely for it. This Comfort Inn is small compared to other Comfort Inns with not much to do there but stay in your room.That was o.k. with us since it is walking distance to the beach and we only needed a comfy place to sleep. This was the ticket! Great beds and the suites are roomy without paying up the nose! One thing I might suggest here: Don't get a room near the elevators and doors if you're a light sleeper. Heard the door slamming and the elevator going through the night, wah! The rooms are fairly insulated from the traffic noise; better than other hotels nearby that we checked out. It is a busy area around the harbor so noise will be hard to get away from. My boys also loved having the Dennys there. The Comfort Inn offers $5.00 per person vouchers but must get there by 9:00 a.m. with some exception. And yes, the rooms are nice and clean!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdguerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Jdguerrero,
Thank You for kind review regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn Ventura! We are glad that we were able to provide comfortable accommodations for your growing family. As you noted, despite the size, our hotel benefits greatly from its prime location. Our guests have the advantage of enjoying the nearby beach, pier, and several local restaurant and shops. I’d like to take a moment to apologize for the in-house noise you incurred during the night. This is a rare occurrence as it is a regular practice of ours to monitor noise levels in order to maintain a tranquil atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again the next you are visiting your Ventura relatives!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Beaches, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights. We give it a high rating for a hotel in this catagory. The front desk staff service was excellent (Kenya was great). The bed might hve been the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. We ad a room on the top floor. The hotel is a few blocks from the beach and right next to the 101. We had no noise issues and we were in the closest room to the highway. You are given a coupon for breakfast at Denny's across the street instead of the usual breakfast in the lobby. They have fresh coffee in the lobby all day. We had granite in the bath the room and the room was clean and fresh. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and FREE PARKING. The public hallways and elevator vestibule are a little tight so if you plan on hanging out in the hallway this probably is in't for you (haha). We have a student at Brooks and this hotel will be our choice based on price and service. Safe travels!

Room Tip: Top floor gets you above the the businesses in the area. It's quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Toad143,
Thank you for your kind words! It is always rewarding to hear from a happy guest and it encourages our staff to pursue our goal of providing the top service in town. We find pride in offering the numerous valuable amenities you touched on. Thank you for noting the excellent condition of our rooms. A comfortable mattress and a quiet environment are two essentials to a good night’s sleep. In the morning our guests are able to enjoy fresh coffee, followed by a hot breakfast at Denny’s, and their day is ready to begin! We are all very happy to hear that we will be able to serve you and your wife at Comfort Inn Ventura again in the future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I'm really surprised this hotel is ranked #1 on Trip Advisor for Ventura. Based on our experience there in January 2012, we felt the management cut corners and were not upfront in their advertising. For starters, the room was only stocked with one regular coffee packet per day. We'd hoped this was just an oversight on the first day, but learned when we complained later that it was the management's policy. At the front desk, they told us that each packet could be used for more than one cup (although the packaging was clearly marked for single use). We felt this was incredibly chintzy and we have stayed at much cheaper places while traveling that are far more generous. The other major issue was the "free breakfast" at Denny's advertised on the hotel's website. That sounded very good, however, the website for the hotel fails to mention that it's limited to 6-9 am, so if you want to sleep late, you're out of luck. The hotel really should let people know of this limitation on it's website, so you're informed before you book. The room itself was pretty nondescript and dingy, with popcorn ceilings and a hole in the blanket on our bed. It definitely needed a paint job, better lighting and new upholstery on the club chair in the room. Otherwise, the bed itself was relatively comfortable. I certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear CaliforniaRay,
Thank you for sparing the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of the entire Comfort Inn team please accept our sincere apologies. We strive to make our guest’s stay a satisfying one and take their comments and concerns very critically; therefore it is very disappointing to learn that we failed to meet your expectations. Although it is corporate policy to have a certain number of amenities per room, it is our genuine policy to do our utmost to appease every request. Please rest assured that this matter has been addressed. Our breakfast hours are set up to stay in par with our brand and so regrettably we are not at liberty to deviate from normal hotel breakfast hours. We are pleased to inform you that our brand décor is currently under review and will reflect more vibrant tones and upgrade (such as plasma TV’s, accent colors, and more lighting), all of which we are very excited about. We hope you will change your mind and take notice of you will change your mind and take notice of these great improvements.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
805.653.5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had the accessible room, with very comfortable queen beds. It appeared clean, however, the bathroom had a strange smell. The one door entryway is a safe floorplan and one can feel safe, especially for single women. The area surrounding The Comfort Inn, has restuarants and other types of businesses which, are convenient. The hotel has an elevator which, I could hear most of the night, until about 2:00 am. There is a laundry room, ice and vending machines. The items in the vending machine, however, are slim pickings. Hotels location on the Harbor Blvd, was very convenient and a short distance to the location and reason of my business trip to Ventura.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are a bit noisy. Buy any snacks before hand, as vending machine seems low on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztlanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Aztlanqueen,
Thank You for your review. We are very glad you felt safe while staying at our facilities. Being a smaller hotel and having only one entrance allows us to be much more effective in monitoring the happenings of our property. Safety is always an area of concern while traveling and it is not a matter we take lightly, therefore, a front desk agent is available at all hours of the day to ensure our guests are able to enjoy peace of mind. Thank you for expressing your concerns regarding our vending machine and the noise linked with the traveling elevator. We assure you these issues will be addressed as we are continually making improvements. We’d like to invite you back to the Comfort Inn Ventura the next time you are in our area.

Thank you,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Comfort Inn was a fine place to stay for our quick trip to Ventura. The typical rooms were clean and even though we were near the freeway, we were not kept awake by the sound of traffic. The front desk was very friendly and, instead of the continental breakfast in the lobby, we received vouchers for the Denny's across the street. Comfort Inn is next to the state beach and the bike path. We were able to walk to the pier for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear SanJoseFamily_7,
Thank you for the review of your recent visit to Comfort Inn Ventura. Our staff is very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to benefit from several of the services we are proud to offer. Providing a hot breakfast at the restaurant Denny’s is a unique alternative to the usual in house breakfast other facilities offer. We are also very pleased with the efficiency of our new double paned windows in every room, as you noted, our guests are able to enjoy a peaceful night without having to worry about noise from the adjacent freeway. Most importantly, we guarantee that you will experience the friendliest assistance. Our staff is excited to provide the service of hosting you around Ventura and pointing out different attractions and dining options. We look forward to seeing you at Comfort Inn Ventura again!
Thank you,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing