We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Mission Touring”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
North Highlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“California Mission Touring”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed here on a trip while we were touring the Historical California Missions. The hotel was close to the freeway, so as long as we kept the windows closed there was no noise. This unfortunately did not allow for the lovely cool breeze to come into the room, but I expected to have freeway noise when I made the reservation. We were with in walking distance to some fast food and other places so it make the stay easy. We were also able to walk to the Venture State Beach. The Venture Pier was just a half mile away and downtown Venture was also a short drive. The hotel gives a voucher for a free breakfast at the local Denny's. The breakfast was good, but what you would expect from a Denny's. Expect for a small mishap with the bathroom toilet the stay was very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumpingfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank You for giving us some feedback about your recent visit! We're so glad you were able to enjoy the Ventura area and do some great sightseeing! As you said, our hotel does have a great location being so close to the beach, downtown, food, and the freeway. Everything you need when traveling! We hope to see you again soon in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    420
    136
    39
    19
See reviews for
366
371
78
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Pros:
-Clean
-Good staff
-Good location, a couple minutes from the beach, next to freeway
-Free wi-fi

Cons:
-Old property (I could hear my noisy neighbors when I was trying to rest as sound proofing between rooms is poor)
-Not much parking

Things to know:
-Hotel provides a breakfast voucher for Denny's across the street

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank You for letting us hear what you thought about our property! I'm so glad you thought our staff was friendly and they made you feel welcome. It is our goal to make each guest feel at home during their stay and so you will find us anxious to help! We hope to see you the next time you visit Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was my second stay at this Comfort Inn--and I was just as pleased as I was with my stay in 2010. All of the rooms have been refurbished at this time and that means every room is a quiet one, even though the convenient location is close to a freeway and a busy street.

The rooms are well-appointed and everything is immaculately clean. I felt safe, comfortable and well-cared for throughout my three-night stay. Internet speed was speedy, too.

Management at this Comfort Inn seems to hire the very best employees. Each person I encountered was polite, professional and truly seemed enthused about making my stay a delightful one. This hotel is small (under 50 rooms, I'm guessing) and I think that contributes to the feeling that employees have the time to help you; they seem to see each guest not as an impersonal "credit card with a room number" but as people who are traveling through and could really appreciate some hospitality.

I really like the breakfast "voucher" for Denny's rather than having a "breakfast room" in the hotel. This keeps the lobby area quieter and it doesn't smell like waffles all day! Keep in mind the breakfast is from 6 to 9 am (I believe), so plan your waking accordingly. Also, while you can "see" the Denny's just across the nearby intersection, walking there involves using three crosswalks at the signal--but that's a bit of exercise to burn off the breakfast calories coming back!

Note: This Comfort Inn is within walking distance of the ocean as well as some fun dining opportunities on Seaward on the way walking to the beach (if you head to the beach via Seaward, it's about half a mile).

After staying at hotels/motels in the Ventura area for the past eight years, we've found our "home" in Ventura when we visit our son, who lives there. We'll always stay at this Comfort Inn--the great service, predictably wonderful rooms and value for the dollar will have us coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Thise past Sat was my 7th time staying there I love thise hotel the rooms R nice a clean and ur suites r very beautiful.. Keep up the good jod guys and thank u 4 a great night ill c u guys soon......

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varela1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank You for sharing your opinion and coming back time and time again! It's a real treat when our guests return because we are able to get to know you better and hopefully develop some new friendships! We'll be anxiously awaiting your 8th visit to Comfort Inn Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The hotel is clean and located in a convenient location really close to the freeway. The property is close to the beach and within a short drive of other convenient, range of fast food and other types of restaurants. I travelled with a group of high school students and I recognize the convenience of an In-N-Out Burger next door, a Denny's and McDonald's within walking distance. Gas station nearby, too. We drove 5 to 10 minutes to the Pacific View Mall for dinner where the team ate a Red Robin with other options like the California Pizza Kitchen next to it plus I was curious about Danny's Deli that received positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The next morning we used the breakfast vouchers or $5 credit at Denny's nearby and everything worked out great. Although close to the freeways, the double pane windows greatly reduced the sounds of cars to barely noticeable though I am heavy sleeper. I would recommend this Comfort Inn as a well run facilty.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK-Torrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank You for sharing about your visit to Ventura. I can only imagine how stressful it can be to travel with a group of high school students, I'm glad we were able to help make your trip run smoothly. Our double paned windows really make a difference when you're at a hotel located just off of the freeway, and a good night's sleep is so important when you are traveling! We hope to see you back at Comfort Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Drove straight here after long flight from Australia. We were tired and cranky, it was hell on wheels trying to stay on the wrong (right!) side of the road and the satellite navigation system refused to load my recently updated maps of the US. We had a long road trip to Seattle ahead of us. Enter our angel Paola at Choice Ventura. Paola went above and beyond the call of duty to download and install new maps on the satnav and ensure they all worked. Thank you, Paola and Choice! Added to this, the room was clean, the bed comfy and the shower hot! The breakfast at Denny's supplied as part of the room rate was good value too. I'd highly recommend Comfort Ventura to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walesy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you so much for letting us hear how we were able to help you during your trip! Our front desk understands how stressful it can be to travel and we try to do anything we can to make your stay carefree. It is so nice to hear we were able to cater to your needs and let you relax once you arrived. We hope to see you again in Ventura soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Book your room in advance. They have great rooms that are kept clean. You will notice that they are backed-up against hiway 101 the rooms are very quiet inside. If yo
very limited space available in the parking lot to manuver around in.

This was a great experience for us as I was traveling with my grandaughter and great grandaughter. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siskiyouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We are so glad you were able to enjoy your stay at Comfort Inn Ventura. Even though we are located so close to the highway, our guests will find our rooms are able to keep the noise out due to our double paned windows. That's important when you're on the road and need a good nights sleep! Thank you for taking to the time to leave us some feedback, we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing