We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sushi House

The Sushi House
Ranked #94 of 425 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food. Long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here shortly after a beautiful ocean sunset. I would give them four stars but we had quite a wait. I will make it clear we were told prior to seating the wait for sushi was 30-40 minutes we were not in a hurry and enjoyed a nice evening on the patio area. The food was great. The Jalapeño and Mushroom appetizer was awesome. The Hawaiian roll was also very good but it is very spicy! The seating areas are very small but the food was worth the wait and the tight squeeze.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank krisveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love it here.. They do take a long time to serve you. But it's so worth the wait... The avacado bombs are delicious... Their sushi is really good and fresh... But if you are very hungry, I would suggest probably not coming here as you do have to wait up to 45 minutes for your food... But they do let you know from the get go, how long the wait will be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xo_cyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I love coming here. The food is good, the portions are generous, and the prices are great. The "avocado bomb" is awesome. I always recommend it to first-timers. I haven't had anything here that I didn't like. They have great specials on Tuesdays. The wait staff is very friendly. The one drawback is that they are closed too much (don't open until 12 for lunch, close mid-day before dinner, close for unusual holidays: Halloween, New Year's Eve Day, New Year's Day). It gets frustrating trying to find the exact right time to eat here). Also, their website needs to be updated. It says they are closed on Tuesdays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balinabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long waits, not good for new customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, I never tried the food because the 20 minute wait time was actually 50 minutes. Great for locals not good for new customers and/or hungry customers. Check out other sushi restaurants in the area who are happy to serve new customers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is just a few blocks from our house, so we decided to give it a try. The quality of the fish was good (not top, top grade, but certainly passable), but what stood out for me was that the portions were very generous for a sushi restaurant. I would recommend trying again. We had the sample/box dinners, but I would like to return and try some of the roles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sushi House also viewed

 

Been to The Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing