We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and the price is right”

Stephen's Market and Grill
Ranked #53 of 431 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and the price is right”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lamb lovers delight, salad is crisp and flavorful, portions are generous. It has become my new favorite place. Everything I have tried there is delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Greek Food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on other reviews we saw. The food was really good and we got our food quickly. The outside patio was not much to talk about but inside was fine. I would like to try more on their menu. They were very friendly. I would recommend this place if you are looking for Greek food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Greek lunch”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here based on others reviews and were we glad to find it. If you like Mediterranean food, you'll be very happy. We had the lamb skewers and the moussaka, both excellent. Large serving, nicely presented and authentic flavors. Someone in the kitchen who cares.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiaBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to the south side of town.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a local person suggest a good place in Ventura. It is pretty far south of the center of town on Main Street. The town is being revitalized but it is still very quiet down in this area. It has not yet caught on as an In place.

Stephen's is a simple place with a somewhat cavernous dining room. You go to the counter and place your order and sit down to be server. The table are very far apart, the ceilings are high and not too much is made of the wall decor. But then again, we were here at lunch time with 3 or 4 other people and we want to eat.

I order the Lamb burger entree and my wife ordered the Spanakopita Side. We figure that was enough for two for lunch. In fact, it was enough for two for both lunch and dinner. The Spanakopita was two large phyllo triangles filled with warm tender spinach with a hint of lemon to it. The dough was flaky and rich and the spinach was bright fresh tasting. The Lamb burger was large (probably 8 oz) cooked to a fine juicy medium on a flavorful slightly chewy chiambatti roll. It had onion, tomato and a slice of feta cheese as well. The mustardy sauce was jarring to me but did not stop me from enjoying the well seasoned and flavorful meat. The fries that came with it were crispy and hot and the salad add a nice note of lightness to a heavy meal.

All in all the flavors were great, the portions were large and the services was friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great quick Greek Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a great place for lunch in Mid-town Ventura. Service is quick, food is delish! and prices reasonable. Nice patio to sit outside when the weather is nice. Love the Spanikopita and dolmas - yumm!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stephen's Market and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stephen's Market and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing