We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool place”
Review of Barrelhouse 101

Barrelhouse 101
Ranked #19 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Calling all beer connoisseurs! Are you on the hunt for a craft beer or micro brew that you just can't seem to find in SoCal? Do you need an outstanding meal to pair with your beer of choice? Then head to Barrelhouse 101 in Ventura! We have over one hundred craft beers and micro brews on our tap wall, an exceptional menu of high quality American cuisine, and some of the friendliest staff in town that are eager to find the perfect beer for your palette. Want to learn more about one of the beers we have on tap? Feel free to ask our bartenders for more information, or head to our website and check out our 'Beer List' tab. We've partnered with TapHunter to provide our guests with the most detailed descriptions of all the beers we offer. Just click on the name of the beer you're interested in to find out more! Barrelhouse 101 is proud of our impressive menu, featuring a wide selection of high quality burgers, wings, sandwiches, and more that are made fresh daily using top notch ingredients. Planning a party and need a place the whole family can enjoy? Book your event at Barrelhouse 101! We have a beautiful banquet room that can comfortably seat up to 40 people -- perfect for any graduation celebration, wedding rehearsal dinner, or birthday party. Whether you're in the mood for some great food, an eclectic craft beer, or a perfect combination of the two, Barrelhouse 101 is the place to be. We're looking forward to serving you!
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Barrelhouse 101 was recommended by others who liked it. Went there on a Friday night and it was packed. We had a party of 8 and got seated relatively quickly in a back room. I would have rather sat in the main room, but I understand their seating couldn't accommodate us there. We had a really good time ordering a variety of heir 101 beers on tap. We ordered burgers, wings, salads, and chicken sandwiches. Everyone was happy with their meals. Service was very good. I recommend it and hope to go there again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    66
    23
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went for dinner and drinks... They let you do beer flights which is kinda fun - 101 beers to pick from. Food was pretty good - not so healthy but pretty tasty - had the Fish sandwich...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrisPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Food service is slow, waitress unfriendly”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It took 50 minutes to get my food when I ordered at 8:30pm on a Wednesday. The three other people at my table had already been served and she didn't even stop to mention anything about my food. After 10 minutes of watching them eat I had to go chase her down because she hadn't even been back by. She told me they misplaced my food and it would be done in 5 minutes. 15 minutes later she finally brought it in. When it finally came, it wasn't even the right burger. She didn't even come back by until we yelled across the room to get our checks. They wouldn't comp it, much less even knock 20% off to make up for the wait. VERY disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good beer. OK food.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Plus - Amazing beer selection! The bartender (female, heavy accent, I think from Brazil), very nice, attentive, was able to find the right beer for some picky friends.
Negative- the food. We have tried several items. All just so-so. The wings are good. They have to much on the menu. I don't think the have an executive chef. They need to cut it down. Burger, wings, french fries, a simple salad. Stop trying to be upscale. It's a bar with great beer. You just need to have great simple food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teewolfe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers, average food and service”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Barrelhouse 101 is a great beer place - they truly have a list of 101 beers they offer and they usually have them all, with a few exceptions. The food we ordered - grilled artichoke appetizer and four different sandwiches - we're a mixed bag. The grilled artichoke with mozzarella and tomato salad and a balsamic reduction was different - good favors but too oily and not grilled enough. My husbands chicken club was not good - tough chicken and a huge slab that made it difficult to eat. The shrimp po boy was good and crunchy spicy and the Argentinan steak sandwich disappeared quickly. The final portabella and veggie sandwich was dull and lacked flavor. Service was spotty at best. If I return it will be for the beer - can't say the food was worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrelhouse 101 also viewed

 

Been to Barrelhouse 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing