We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump on the Beach”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dump on the Beach”
Reviewed October 8, 2006

OK- I've stayed here about 7 times and have watched this place go on a downward spiral. The view and beach access are terrific, but that is where the story ends. Every single thing is broken, the screens, the chairs, the bed, the sink, bare bulbs without shades, no heat and the rooms and property are filthy. The balconies are nice, yet every one has damage and the railings are broken down and dangerous. The breakfast room is a pretty bare, only some danishes and coffee with powder creamers. I really don't know why they still charge $200 a night for no amenities and such terrible upkeep.
Look elsewhere...

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — filthy broken down
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank Bacchus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
31
104
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2006

This place was recommended by Sunset magazine. The writer obviously never stayed there; the first clue was the shabby exterior with broken shutters, dirty curtains fluttering through screenless windows and the sign that read "INN ON THE B ACH". This place was missing more than the letter E. The bathroom did not have a toilet paper holder, tiles were peeling off the fake fireplace, the balcony was rotting and looked unsafe. The whole place smelled awful and if we had not alreade paid for our room in advance, we would have not stayed there.

The vase of plastic flowers was a pathetic touch.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Filty, smelly, broken furniture.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jtynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Some reviewers may like the quirky nature of this hotel...I just thought it was shabby and expensive for what it was. Ground floor room had an excellent view of a mound of sand outside the room and the beds were incrediblly springy - the whole thing wobbled when you moved. That was after we couldn't get into the room without a complicated jiggling of the key in the lock.

Front desk man was surly and couldn't even be bothered to get up from the back room to greet us when we arrived. Breakfast was poor - rubbish pastries and coffee, served in an ugly little room.

As for the antiques quoted in some reviews - there are no antiques, just old and worn out stuff that need replacing. For close on $200, I would go somewhere else.

  • Liked — It is on the beach
  • Disliked — Poor quality of decor and fittings, combined with surly front desk man
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callmedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I have to agree with the other reviewer who said that the location of this hotel is unbeatable...but the rooms are in desperate need of a renovation. The rooms need new carpet, spruced up bathrooms (the showers don't get very hot at all), upgraded decor, etc. I will say that the beds were comfortable and clean which was a relief. Overall I'd say save some $ and stay somewhere nicer inland.

If you do decide to go DO NOT stay in a first floor room. You basically just have a view of a sand pile with a small glimpse of the ocean (if you're over 5' :) ).

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2006

The location can't be beat without a doubt. My family has been coming to this beach for years and it is nice now that we live too far away for a day trip to stay right on it.

However, the place is really run down. Our room was on the second floor and it had a broken screen, holes in the wallpaper, cracks in the marble in the bathroom, busted furnishings, the toilet was loose, ants, need I go on? It's really too bad because it could be an awesome place, and I'm not really that picky. We usually stay in 3 star places, and sometimes 2.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dawnphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

Our visit here was Christmas Day thru mid week. It was very pleasant. This is right on the sand. The view of the Ocean from floor 2 & 3 is not to be wasted. Nice Antiques are everywhere. Steve and Jay are most helpful. A slight minus if you expect perfection in your accommodations, not here. The ocean is tough on everything from painted wood to wallpaper. Just plan not to look too close and enjoy the great location and hospitality. Breakfast and lunch is best at Dukes on Seaward, and a very nice dinner was had at the Aloha about 10 minutes by car.
We would return.

Helpful?
7 Thank eltour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2005

First- this is NOT Malibu, it is Ventura-- and the rates are tremendous for an ocean front-- you will pay 2-3X as much in Malibu or Santa Monica. It has the normal feel of anything that gets the daily blast of sea air- but not unclean, not dingy, just seaside California beach town. The staff is GREAT. No computer here, no online reservations, it s all done by hand---- most of the customers are return customers.

I stay here frequently on business and love it for what it is-- a beach front hotel in a great "funky" California beach area-- you can literally jump off your balcony onto the beach-- and the water's edge is only 150ft or so.

You might get some middle-aged drunks on weekend nights- but that's the same anywhere. I have never had a problem in the 50+ times I have stayed there.

Furniture is an eclectic mixture of pseudo-antiques, but are nicely done and fit the location. Actually it is quite cute and well done.

It is at the beach end of Seward Ave. Seward Ave has great local restaurants within 200ft of hotel. Try the sushi place (some of best in California) while Capilletti's is nice moderate priced Italian, both have great little bar areas where you will be welcomed like a local.

Coffee shop is within 100ft of hotel and is full of locals in morning. Fresh baked goods daily.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,071 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001-3875
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing