We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Tehachapi, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

The location can't be beat without a doubt. My family has been coming to this beach for years and it is nice now that we live too far away for a day trip to stay right on it.

However, the place is really run down. Our room was on the second floor and it had a broken screen, holes in the wallpaper, cracks in the marble in the bathroom, busted furnishings, the toilet was loose, ants, need I go on? It's really too bad because it could be an awesome place, and I'm not really that picky. We usually stay in 3 star places, and sometimes 2.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dawnphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
31
103
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

Our visit here was Christmas Day thru mid week. It was very pleasant. This is right on the sand. The view of the Ocean from floor 2 & 3 is not to be wasted. Nice Antiques are everywhere. Steve and Jay are most helpful. A slight minus if you expect perfection in your accommodations, not here. The ocean is tough on everything from painted wood to wallpaper. Just plan not to look too close and enjoy the great location and hospitality. Breakfast and lunch is best at Dukes on Seaward, and a very nice dinner was had at the Aloha about 10 minutes by car.
We would return.

Helpful?
7 Thank eltour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2005

First- this is NOT Malibu, it is Ventura-- and the rates are tremendous for an ocean front-- you will pay 2-3X as much in Malibu or Santa Monica. It has the normal feel of anything that gets the daily blast of sea air- but not unclean, not dingy, just seaside California beach town. The staff is GREAT. No computer here, no online reservations, it s all done by hand---- most of the customers are return customers.

I stay here frequently on business and love it for what it is-- a beach front hotel in a great "funky" California beach area-- you can literally jump off your balcony onto the beach-- and the water's edge is only 150ft or so.

You might get some middle-aged drunks on weekend nights- but that's the same anywhere. I have never had a problem in the 50+ times I have stayed there.

Furniture is an eclectic mixture of pseudo-antiques, but are nicely done and fit the location. Actually it is quite cute and well done.

It is at the beach end of Seward Ave. Seward Ave has great local restaurants within 200ft of hotel. Try the sushi place (some of best in California) while Capilletti's is nice moderate priced Italian, both have great little bar areas where you will be welcomed like a local.

Coffee shop is within 100ft of hotel and is full of locals in morning. Fresh baked goods daily.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2005

What a great place!! My fiance and I really needed a break, so we set off to this fine inn for some much needed rest and relaxation.

As soon as we got there in the afternoon, we opened the door to the balcony and then collapsed on the bed. We woke up 2 hours later! We laughed and commented that the wonderful nap alone was worth the $ we spent! The beds are AMAZING and coupled with the fresh air and crashing waves, it was incredible.

That night we turned on the fireplace and kept the door open - sheer bliss. In the morning, we went to the breakfast room and got some coffee and a danish and then retreated back to the balcony to enjoy the morning.

Sure, it's not The Four Seasons or a Hyatt resort, but it's cozy, relaxing and RIGHT ON THE BEACH! So I am giving it a 5 based on what it is, not compared to a luxury hotel.

As far as the person complaining about the sliding screen, they should have just ASKED the innkeeper to fix it instead of running here to complain. Steve was wonderful and was always there if we had questions. I'm sure he would have been happy to address his concerns about the screen.

If you want a lovely and romantic getaway, I HIGHLY recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brachanam9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2005

The reviews here are all positive, which is why we booked a night at this hotel. We wish we could recommend this place -- it's charming and right on the beach front. HOWEVER -- the sliding door had no screen so when we went to bed we had to keep the sliding door closed. There are no windows in the room and no air-conditioning, so our room was stifling. We were on the bottom floor and couldn't just keep the sliding door open because there are no dividers between rooms and other hotel guests could have walked right in! There wasn't even one of those "sliding door locks" they could have gotten for a few bucks at a hardward store! Perhaps the upper rooms don't have this problem (they have private balconies), but that's absolutely no excuse, particularly for the prices this place charges. We have never experienced a hotel that had such a slack attitude to customer comfort and safety. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayFourth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2005

I stayed here just before moving forward to LA. The inn is right on the beach and my room had beach frontage, all tucked away in a quiet 'cul-de-sac' community. It's an older, antique-style hotel with clean, cosy rooms and a spa bath! There's no A/C however, but i didn't need it anyway. And the phone lines are a bit dodgy - playing up at one stage.
The front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and accomodating.
The downtown area is about 2miles away, if you don't have a car that's almost impossible to walk. I got a cab there & walked back along the beach - a long way, but enjoyable.
And make sure you dine at the Italian restaurant right next door, their food is amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank remstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2005

After living in this town for almost 15 years one might think I would have discovered this hotel before now. The truth be told, I did know of it, I just never made any effort to get to know it, and boy, what I have been missing.
A lovely oceanfront hotel, The Inn on the Beach has 3 floors of rooms from which to choose from. We stayed on the 2nd floor in room 208. Decorated in a victorian motif, we were given an end room which had a terrific view of the beach and of our local fairgrounds; the fair was in town the night we stayed so we sat out in the cool, moist air, sipping hot chocolate and watched the nightly firework show put on by the fair. Afterwards, we were a bit chilled from sitting out on the balcony, this is August and here in Ventura we are known for our foggy, cool summer days, so we turned on the fireplace, which also served as the heater for the room. We each took a bath in the jacuzzi tub and then climbed into the 7th heaven bed and watched the flames of the gas fireplace and listened to the surf hit the shore. Bliss...total relaxation!

7th heaven is a perfect name for these beds, I slept very well and awoke to the sound of the surf breaking on the shore right out side our door. We went to the breakfast room and brought back coffee, juice and muffins, opened the sliding door and sat down to eat our complimentary breakfast on the balcony. We also discovered a Ventura County Star newspaper had been delivered complimentary to our door. We read the paper cover to cover. The Inn on the Beach is Ventura's best kept secret!

I continued to relax. After breakfast, we still had time before we checked out so we took a little nap. When it came time to leave we were a bit disappopinted, that is until the clerk pointed out that during the fall and winter months the rates drop fairly low!! I believe I will make reservations now for Valentine's Day 2006!!

Helpful?
11 Thank KitKat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing