We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Little Hideaway”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Hideaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Located right on the sand, with unobstructed views of the beach and ocean from a small deck on the upper two floors, Inn on the Beach won't be the fanciest place you'll ever stay. Sure, it's in need of a facelift here and there, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable, continental breakfast is included and you can't beat the location – especially if you're just passing through on your way somewhere else up or down the coast. You absolutely cannot beat the location. Recommended by friends from nearby Santa Paula, who often have taken advantage of its proximity for a special night away from home, it offers a perfect base for anyone interested in strolling along the water's edge in either direction, visiting nearby shops and restaurants in downtown Ventura, or just sitting outside your sliding patio door as the ocean breeze caresses your face. My wife and I loved it, and do look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: If either are available, the two rooms at the north end of the building on floors 3 and 2 are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
31
103
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beach front for under $200. Well don't expect the best room. They are old and dated. Some cleaning issues as well. But the staff there are very nice and a $200.00 view... I didn't complain about any issues. Because I only stayed one night and was out the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to stay right on the beach. There are little shops up and down the street, that are great. Could use a little more for the free breakfast, but what they did serve was good. Rooms are being updated which will be great when they are finished. Each room has its own fireplace, and little patio that looks out to the beach. Bottom floor view does have a sand dune so you only get part of the ocean view, but it is still good.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay, right on the beach. Not a big fancy place, but clean, and room rates for bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked a room here based on the LA Times article. I wish we would have read the reviews on Tripadvisor first. The only good thing to come out of the LA Times article was to book a 2nd or 3rd floor room because of the sand dune. I think the carpet was supposed to be a green floral but it was so dirty it was almost black. The screen door to the porch was badly torn. The free standing sink in the bathroom had a layer of dust-probably hadn't been cleaned in years. The rest of the bathroom had been remodeled and had a nice shower but the ceiling above it was a mess. The continental breakfast was ok-but not what you would expect from a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

the front desk (Dean) was incredibly nice, Room was awesome, View was incredible, would of liked more of a selection for breakfast, Parking is next to non existant if you are not staying there so if you have a guest, good luck... Ton of little shops around great little beach town... However did notice in the bathroom that there was a hole in the ceiling and the controls on the fireplace did not work... otherwise being on the beach for the price cannot be beat... I would go back

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor... 1st floor, no view to the ocean... also no smoking at this hotel, go outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhyanwitanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you desire true beach ambiance and a fantastic location, this is the spot!!! We stayed 2 nights, walked on beach, saw dolphins and seals swim by from our balcony, and a whale spout! The people are warm and accomodating, please dont change a thing. All the less than great reviews on this place is irrelavent, yes its less than perfect clean and smells like the beach/ocean...thats the point.

Room Tip: Make sure to book 2nd or third floor for great viw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konalizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The ocean view is beautiful, but that is the only positive thing that I can say!!! The wallpaper is peeling, the carpet in the hallway is filthy, and the inside of the microwave in the breakfast room has never been cleaned!!! Also, there were ants in our room!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001-3875
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing