We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front view”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
“Beach front view”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We saw a pod of dolphins the moment we opened out balcony doors. For me that was a warming welcome!! We had fun walking the beach and enjoying our view. The bed and pillows were very comfy. We would stay again. Oh, you have to try Dukes. It's walking distance from the hotel. Try their breakfast wrap, so yummy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
33
104
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are willing to overlook dusty furniture, room renovations, and a surly employee then Inn on the Beach, Ventura, CA is the place for you. Inn on the Beach is located right on the beach. You can walk out the door and literally be on the sand. The first thing I noticed when I walked into the lobby was the dust on the furniture and on the fake flowers. The decor looks as though it has not been changed since the '80's. Also, it looked as though the furniture in the lobby hadn't been vaccumed since the '80's as well. At the time of our visit, the hotel was undergoing renovations. The outlets in the bathroom had no covers and the ceiling wasn't painted. As in the lobby, the furniture in our room had a layer of dust on it. We did enjoy the flat screen TV and cable channels. The patio was nice, but not private. Also, the room had a nice gas fireplace. The hotel has only 3 floors.

The location is awesome, right on the beach. There are several top notch eateries within walking distance. The room rates are very reasonable especially when you consider how close it it to the beach. The room rates and the location make Inn on the Beach a great find despite the uncleanliness. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a nice ocean view, choose rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Rooms on the 1st floor have an obstr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Checked in to a room with hvac controls hanging out of the wall broken, no heat and air-con. A/C power recepticals without covers. Holes in the wall in entry, living space and bathroom. This old beach hotel has, is, and was being remodeled at all times. So if you don't mind strong smells you might be okay if the room has been brought up to building and safety codes properly. I had a BAD Experiance - Don't go here!

Room Tip: Go to a major chain where they care about customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewq323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Scarborough, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stumbled on this place and found it charming. Was renovated about 20 years ago but still cute in it's own way. Clean and tidy, very friendly staff. Right on the sand with 4 or 5 little cafes to choose from for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starcrossd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Guy on reception was very friendly. Room was clean however the bathroom was only partially finished all electrical outlets had exposed wiring there was no mirror or hairdryer. Place could be great but need much more attention to detail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank asmHornsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

With a balcony facing the beach...you can't get any closer to the ocean than this old beach bum type hotel...even sand on the carpets in the hall way...(there are public showers for after swimming across the road, rinse off folks)...great atmosphere on that street...don't really need to go far for food/coffee/beer/fun...

We had a great time...and the room cost 75 bucks split 4 ways. Fun time. We were good and kept things quiet...two couples (my wife's brother and his wife) and a woman friend of ours rode her motorcycle up PCH to visit us one day/night...good to see her too.

Room Tip: Of course, look at the ocean...second floor is better...the first floor actually has a parapet to pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mn2Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The beach views from the balcony were wonderful but eveything else was lacking. The room smelled like raw sewage, carpets stained and torn, beds lumpy, sink did not drain, breakfast was minimal. Better off staying at Embassy Suites about 6 miles south for a little more money. This once elegant inn is now little more than a flop house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrAl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001-3875
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing