We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ceviche is amazing!”

Spencer Makenzie's Fish
Ranked #3 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Voted best fish taco in the county.
Restaurant details
Description: Voted best fish taco in the county.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ceviche is amazing!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

small restaurant with incredible ceviche. very fresh,and colorful. you can sit outside or in. also the street tacos are filling, and they offer a lot of different sauces,sweet and spicy was my favorite

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    83
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good chowder”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Always eat here when staying a Vagabond Inn(short walk).
There clam chowder is good.
The fish taco's ok.
The service good and they have outside seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is an incredibly delicious restaurant, know for its fish tacos, sauces, and Cerviche. I don't eat fish of any kind and I LOVE SM's shredded chicken, which I replace in all the salads, tacos, burritos, and anything else they make. Its to die for, don't miss what I call the "secret Spencer Makenzie's menu"! This place is pretty casual, you can eat at the counter, outside on any of several decks, and in the sit-down part of the restaurant as well but get there early as there is always a large crown. Before 12 PM is good, so is right before dinner, its less busy at these times although there are always people there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Premier Fish Taco Shack”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place has the best fish tacos I've had except for the ones prepped by our dive guide on the beach in Cozumel. This is an ooooold Ventura fish 'joint' with very little indoor seating and some on their front patio which is right on the street. Place your order at the 'Order' window (oddly enough) and they'll call your name for pickup. Ceviche is also fantastic and the lemonade is great. you're one short block to the bluff overlooking Ventura Pier. I like good food and I like local and Makenzie's ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Locals choice for fish, in Ventura County”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spencer's is a casual fish restaurant in Ventura for lunch or dinner. Try the Ahi Pockets (amazing). The last time I was there I had the blackened salmon salad which was absolutely delicious, combining all the right flavors. Spencer's is known for their popular, fresh, and healthy fish creations but also has classic menu items, such as fish and chips. If visiting Ventura or just passing through, Spencer Makenzie's will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spencer Makenzie's Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing