We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ride, scenery, route with rewards...”

Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Southern California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good ride, scenery, route with rewards...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a wonderful bicycle path. First, you must ride prepared with water and be prepared for climate change. It can get several degrees warmer and you can get wind at the lower end.
You can do the entire path or go you to a point and turn around. I like to start in downtown Ventura and end in the arcade in Ojai. Once at the arcade you can treat yourself to breakfast, ice cream or even a glass of wine.
The path is pretty shaded but it does have a few occasional rough spots or debris, so watch the path, but it is way better than cars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvDZnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Azusa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scenic GREAT Walk”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We walked this trail several times. It is excellent for walking, bike riding or running. If you stop at the campgrounds store and walk around the campgrounds, you can get to the beach which is clean and pleasant public area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice ride, if you do it right.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

First, the ride can be either longer or shorter. Casual riders should probably take the shorter route, esp. If it's the first time. The longer ride is to take the trail starting at the fairgrounds next to the ocean in Ventura. The distance to downtown Ojai is about 15 miles. The shorter route starts at Foster Park and is 9 miles to Ojai. With an altitude of 745 feet downtown, the average increase in elevation to Ojai is about 50 feet per mile.
Start early in the morning, for a couple of reasons. First, in June thru mid-Sept. the temp will be in the 90's, if you're lucky. I rode up there yesterday, June 1st, and it was 97 at 11am. Second, if you head back toward Ventura after 1pm or so you will encounter a headwind that can, at times, make the downhill ride back seem uphill!
Enjoy! It's a pretty ride!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Skip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Morning Ride”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are amateurs and enjoyed this ride. We did not complete the full ride as we didn't realize where it went. We enjoyed the scenery and will be visiting some of the campsites located along the path. The part we did complete (starting at Ventura pier) there were no amenities beyond the pier.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beach to mountain ride. Take your time or push yourself, it is a wonderful way to spend a day

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank We3dkmTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path also viewed

 

Been to Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing