We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic trail to walk in sections or ride”

Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Scenic trail to walk in sections or ride”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Each section of this trail has a different feel starting at the coast, through industrial Ventura, up to Foster Park and beyond. There are numerous access points and parking areas along the route. My favorite section is near Oak View through the Ojai Valley Land Conservancy confluence preserve full of sycamores and across the San Antonio bridge with great views of the hills and Ventura River bottom. The paved trail is separated from the horse trail by a wooden or metal fence. Bathroom stops and picnic areas are available at Foster Park, and at various businesses in lower Ojai and Ojai, which is a great place to stop for lunch or a beverage.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    41
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun family ride”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took two kids, 8 and 5. Trail is safe and fun for the family! We would ride again. Loved seeing the horses along the path.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hof40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a Bike Path”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A nice paved path. I use this path to bike to work daily. Please be a considerate biker/jogger and yield to traffic. I am tired of seeing people with their ipods in crossing intersections without paying any attention.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kipukahonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ride for the whole family”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The path is safe and away from traffic. The only part I didn't like was that in two or three places, you have to cross a city street. There are stop lights, so I feel that it is safe. We took the whole family, including pulling a 4 year old behind one of the bikes. When we got to town (Ojai) everyone was ready for an ice cream! Downhill all the way back to Ventura, so that's the easy part.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaroneeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ride in the outdoors.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Even better riding down from Ojai. If its your first time to ride the path go with someone who has rode it before. It makes it more interesting and you may not feel to lost.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank murphyautomuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path also viewed

 

Been to Ventura to Ojai Paved Bike Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing