We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Wines and Wonderful People”
Review of Four Brix Winery

Four Brix Winery
Ranked #15 of 71 things to do in Ventura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four Brix Winery - an craft winery located in the heart of Ventura - specializes in internationally-inspired wine blends. We produce wines based upon our four favorite grape growing regions: Italy, France, Spain and California. The word "Brix" is a term for measurement of sugar in grapes; therefore Four Brix equals four sweets spots for great wine! With a total production of around 2,500 cases, these wines are very limited and in high demand. It takes strength, creativity and patience to make great wine, kind of like raising children. In fact, our wine is like our children, so we gave them names: Smitten, Zeductive (Zinfandel and Petite Sirah), Temptress, Rhondezvous (Grenache, Mourvedre and Syrah) and Scosso (Sangiovese, Cabernet and Merlot) are a few of our kids. Once you taste the wines, you realize how apropos the names are. When we aren't making wine, we like to hang out with a glass of wine, listening to music and eating great food. Our favorite place to hang out is at the BrixHouse- our tasting room. But we don't like to hang out alone, so we make sure there is always something going on at the BrixHouse. For Club members, affectionately referred to as "BrixHeads", there are exciting Pick Up Parties at least twice annually. Depending on the time of year, you might be able to attend a Concert in the Cellar, Foodie Friday, Dinner in the Tasting Lounge, BBQ Pizza Nights, a Blending Party or maybe just relax in the BrixHouse with a glass of wine, listening to a smooth sax player. Be sure to get on the email list for up-to-date announcements and events. Visit the BrixHouse- it's 1200 square feet with inviting rich, deep colors, high ceilings, couch area and several table and chairs arrangements. We invite guests to relax and stay; enjoy a tasting or maybe a glass or bottle of wine to share with friends. The Barrel & Production rooms are on-site and typically used for special events. But when you stop by, don't be surprised if you are invited to take a tour with one of the owners. Cheers!
Ventura, California
2 reviews
“Top Notch Wines and Wonderful People”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the moment you walk in you will be pleasantly surprised by the beautiful decor and art. The experience even gets better when you begin to taste the delicious wines and meet the owners and winemaker. The wines are some of the best I've tasted. I especially love the Scosso! Red wines, in my opinion, are their speciality! Everyone at Four Brix are kindhearted and generous. Be prepared to take a behind the scene tour and tasting if gary the winemaker has time. You're in for a treat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Owner at Four Brix Winery, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Robin you are to kind. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review. I only hope I can impress the person who reads this review when they come to taste.

Cheers,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Local Winery”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I just love Four Brix. The owners are just good people - very friendly and very enthusiastic. And the wine is quite good. We chuckle at the names they come up with for their various blends. Being members of their wine club, we always look forward to their quarterly shipments. And they keep adding more events to make it more exciting and spirited. We now live in Orange County but we continue to attend their events.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whimsical33093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Owner at Four Brix Winery, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write such a nice review about Four Brix. Of course we love great feedback. Hope to see you soon.

Lots of Love,
Gary
Four Brix Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Visit from Australia”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Living near the Margaret River wine region, I'm spoiled as far as quality wine is concerned. However, the Four Brix Winery exceeded all my expectations. What a wonderful boutique winery that offers many truly unique blends and tastes. My experience at the Four Brix Winery was fantastic, as the owners were warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and welcomed me as if I was family. I just wish they had a cellar door here in Australia.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
2 reviews
“Warm & Informative”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited Nov. 9, 2012 - the owners were enthusiastic about wine and eager to share their experience. Karen provided an interesting and delicious tasting of their wines and tour of their processing room where the grapes were fermenting. We were invited back in the evening to watch their last crush of the season. Karen even called for reservations for us at their favorite restaurant - excellent recommendation! All together a delightful experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Glad we found this hidden gem. Upon entering the wine tasting room you immediately forget it's in an industrial area. The atmosphere is inviting and you just get lost in the moment. The wine tasting is a great way to taste the variety of wines that they have available. Each and every one of their wines are worth stopping in for. They are all available for purchase. The staff is very friendly and are most welcoming. Stop in for an enjoyable visit and have a glass of wine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Owner at Four Brix Winery, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time out of you day to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Brix Winery also viewed

 

Been to Four Brix Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing