We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrate dinner”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #16 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ventura Avenue
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Celebrate dinner”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We love taking out-of-towners here. It's delicious, different and festive - plus you can take your own wine for a modest corkage fee. Everything id good here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbarapaul54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine from the Himalayas in Ventura, CA”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

An unexpected delight in a strip mall in a residential area of Ventura, 2 blocks from the Mission, but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. The food was exceptional and authentic. Highly recommend the peanut masala as appetizer and Pishori naan as dessert (though it is not advertized as such). Good selection of beers to go with your food. We enjoyed the saag tofu entree' - done well and not overcooked into a mush. If you like your food spicy, try momo chili and the chili naan - we liked them both. Serving sizes were substantial, and we brought leftovers home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First time but not the last time”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The last time I had Nepali /Tibetan food was in a small restaurant in Edinburgh just off the Haymarket Station. Walking into the Himalaya restaurant brought back fond memories of my experience in Edinburgh. The aromas wafting from the kitchen were mouthwatering. The Saag Naan appetizer was one of the best I ever had. My wife selected the Indian chicken Tikka Masala and I had Namche Lamb from the Tibetan side of the menu. Both were delicious. The service was relaxed and made us feel at ease. We will certainly be back to explore the other dishes offered.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teamride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a large group - most had lived/travelled in Nepal and we all loved it. Just outstanding food. Memos and chili chicken (done mild) were the highlight for me. Sol planned a family style menu and seated us Nepali style on cushions and low tables and had everything ready to go when we arrived. Can't wait to go back - may do so tomorrow! All I can say is: go - you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wanted something different, so, Indian food. Nice interior, greeted nicely. Ordered, and waited. Nobody asked told us that our order was coming soon or anything. Finally it came and it was wonderful. One of the best Indian restaurants we have eaten at. Service is a bit slow, but, have patience. It's worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YucaipaMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing