We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but I got sick both times I ate here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
35 W Main St, Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 643-0795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 415 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali, Asian, Vegan, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ventura Avenue
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good but I got sick both times I ate here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We tried this place twice, once for its lunch specials and once for take out. Both times I got very sick after eating there, I think it might be that they use a lot of MSG which gives me migraines. I really wanted to like this place, the food was good but I can't eat at places that use MSG so this place is out for us! Bummer!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small Strip Mall Restaurant - Great Taste and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We decided to stop over at Ventura for lunch on our way back from the Bay Area. A quick yelp search showed us Himalaya. We were skeptical about the small strip mall restaurant. But the skepticism ended there. The food was excellent and the service prompt and good. The butter chicken (makhni) was excellent and so was the paneer masala. The portion sizes were really good. If you crave Indian food in Ventura this is a sure hit.Take it from the brown guy :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian And tibetan food in Ventura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food here is so delicious. It is my and all my friends favorite restaurant. We love the little tables where you can sit on the floor. Of course, there are tables where you don't have to sit on the floor. They bring you a scrumptious soup to start. So healthful and a wonderful way to start a meal. Often we get vegetarian fare, but the chicken tikka masala is so good! Even my children who don't like Indian food like it. There seems to be something for everyone, in other words, not too spicy. I always feel great when I finish eating! Healthy wonderful place, with a warm accommodating staff, will not dissaapoint! They also have a system where you check in and after a certain amount of meals, you get a free meal. Awesome!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirl9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the location deter you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Himalaya may have arguably the worst location in the city, but don't for a second let that deter you from joining them for an amazing meal. The service staff is incredibly friendly and very willing to make suggestions if you are not familiar with Tibetan/Indian cuisine. They will also add the appropriate heat to suit your tastes using what they call the spice-o-meter, which ranges from 1 for kids to 5 for the very brave. I've had a few lunches and dinners there, and everything was thoughtfully prepared and delicious. They also have a little tienda to the side selling trinkets from the region. Don't miss an opportunity to dine in this little gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FindingOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai, california
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fine Tibetan food in surprising location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had lunch there today for the first time. It was a light luncheon, so experience was somewhat limited with their diverse food offerings, but very pleasing. Service was courteous and unhurried.
Off the Avenue in Ventura, one would not expect this family run ethnic restaurant there... but there it is! A nice surprise, at the opposite end of Vons, sharing their ample parking lot.
I expect to go back soon and try a lot more of their specialties!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing